Secret to Avoid Burn-Out !steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

What is Burn-Out, Really???

You probably consider burn-out lack of motivation or being extremely tired physically and/or mentally. It is that but much more. It is a natural way your body is telling you that the results are less than your expectations. It is your mind telling you that you are either pursuing the wrong goals or that you are just not progressing on them fast enough. When we work harder and we are really just spinning our wheels it is NO FUN.

Emotions are Road Signs

So often, we consider some emotions either positive or negative. In reality, they can be simply used as street signs that we need to evaluate. Caution. Stop, Go, Beware


Pic courteousy of Dreamstime.com

How to Beat Burn-Out

We are getting burned out not because of the energy we expend but because we are losing focus on our why we created our goals. We know we are not being rewarded for our efforts so we need to re-calculate and evaluate. Pay attention next time you are getting burned out and find out if you receive energy the moment you get a reward from your past actions.

What if you are not getting re-energized from the rewards? Then you need to sit down again with your goals and put why beside each goal. Truly answer why you are achieving the goal. Is this your desire or another persons? Are you feeling guilty because you are not living up to your own standards or are you in the trap of comparison and should-be's?

Become Over-Rewarded (Quick Fix)

The simplest path to avoid burn out is to do a simple task with an immediate gratification. Be selfishly greedy here and do something that you want. What task can you do for 15 minutes that you can accomplish and feel good about it?

Mini Example 1 (Frustrated with Paperwork)

For me, I may dust and organize my bookshelves. I may file away past closings. I may do something that while it does not pay the bills it removes clutter from my life and is visually appealing.

Mini Example 2 (Not Appreciated)

If I feel under appreciated then I will do something that is appreciated. My son loves riding bikes with me. We put cones out on the street and I ride my bike while he follows on his tricycle or motorized car. By spending time with my son it helps me remember why I am working hard (provide for him) and it lets me clear my head and re-focus.

Sort:  

@originalworks testing out the bot. Hoping I did this correctly.

@OriginalWorks Mention Bot activated by @realestatecoach. The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @realestatecoach to be original material and upvoted it!

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @OriginalWorks in your message!

For more information, Click Here!

This article was created from a response of an article written by @soldier. If you like this one you may like the following:
https://steemit.com/life/@soldier/how-to-trick-your-mind-chapter-10

Congratulations @realestatecoach! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments
Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97