My Top 10 List of Guilty Pleasures / 我内疚的快乐前十名

in #life8 years ago (edited)

We all have our deep dark secret loves in life that only we know about and nobody else. Once through the front door and into the safety and comfort of our cosy living rooms, we can reveal the true nature of who we are without the judgemental eyes of society to cast its aspersions upon us. The stripped down, core version of ourselves can then be let loose and set free!  

But wouldn’t it be fun to find out some of these most embarrassing of personal tastes about someone else? Maybe discover that we actually aren’t all that different after all? Well, I’ve chosen myself as the experimental guinea pig for you all and will disclose my top 10 extremely guilty pleasures!  


10. 

“My Love of Junk Food” 

Let me start off by admitting I know it’s bad for us. I mean, the clue is in the title, right? I always promise myself just that one more burger, just that one final chip and I’ll be good from that moment onwards. But once we’re totally satisfied and our taste buds have been sufficiently appeased, the battle between your “heart” and your “mind” is now well and truly over. Now, “mind” can operate at full capacity again and the feeling of guilt for pigging out on what is essentially rubbish kicks in with a vengeance! 

Recently, I’ve been having a serious craving for KFC as the Colonel still won’t let his secret recipe out and until then, I’ll be forced to go and purchase probably what is considered the tastiest chicken you can get your hands on.  

I tell myself to cut down and fully intend to, but for now, this is firmly nestled within my top ten list. 


9. 

“Shopping Knowing That my Credit Card is Almost Maxxed Out”
 

The feeling of roaming through a mall for hours on end and spending money on items of luxury is something only us women can really relate to. Sorry guys, we know it drives you up the wall, but we can’t go against our DNA. It’s a primal instinct that runs deep within us.  

The credit card can be a girl’s best ally and worst enemy all in one, small, plastic strip. Running up bills of thousands is not unheard of and for us, it’s more like a “have fun now, worry about it later” type deal we have with ourselves. 

But there’s just something about knowing your card is reaching its limit. The sensation of living on the edge and seeing what happens next if you turn that dial just one more notch. The thrill of that moment can only be matched be the devastation of seeing your statement the following month. A guilty pleasure and a dangerous one to boot! 


8. 

“Reading OK Magazine”
 

Gossip, lies, affairs, rumours, body shaming, scandal, jealousy, incest and that’s only the tip of the “OK Magazine” iceberg. Celebrities are people too. They have the same feelings as us and the same emotions as us. They feel pain the same as we do, and are probably the most miserable people we could ever hope to meet. It’s bad enough having crazed fans stalking your every move, but their biggest adversary has to be the paparazzi. 

Chasing them everywhere they go to capture those award winning money shots can be a celebrity’s worse nightmare and then to plaster them all over the covers of the latest magazines. And the worst thing of all? I love to read them! It’s the excitement of getting a glimpse into the secretive “other” world of theirs. The world of the rich and famous. They try so hard to keep it private and we find it all the more irresistible to pry into. 

I do know it’s wrong and I’m just feeding a group of mud-slinging, corporate peeping toms who care more about the dollar sign than life itself. But I recognise this fact and hence add it to my list of guilt. 


7. 

“Listening to Cheesy 80s Music”
 

I think we can all look back to the era of the 80s and have a good chuckle. It was a strange transition from the extreme fashion statements of the 70s to the big shift in the 90s. Everyone seemed so happy and free. Gangster rap didn’t exist and dance music was simple and synthesized. 

I personally love 80s music, even though most of it is very corny. From A-ha – Take On Me to Gary Numan – Cars, I love the sounds and atmosphere of that period of time. When the house is empty, I can blast out these classics and not worry about “social” things like coolness or attitude. Just get lost in a time of purely having fun! 

Make no mistake, if I did the same thing out on the street, the looks I’d be getting make me cringe even thinking about it. No, this is a totally “closed environment” sort of entertainment and a big entry to my list. 


6. 

“Loving Reality TV”
 

I believe one of the first big shows to push Reality TV to the dizzying heights it has reached was The Osbournes. Crazy rocker’s family and the mental madness that dwelled within their walls, it was an instant hit. And really, Reality TV has never looked back since.  

Starting with American Pop Idol back in 2002, it’s been almost 15 years and still going strong. But really speaking, what are we watching? I mean it was bad enough we bought into the magazines as I mentioned above, but now we were buying to their television shows too! Celebrities living out their lives for the camera (most of it exaggerated and staged for the purpose of ratings) and we lap it up like little puppy dogs, begging for more. 

How can watching something so wrong be so enjoyable! Especially when we now live in a world where the cat is out of the bag and we all know it’s just regurgitating the same old thing over and over again trying to milk the cow completely dry! Again, another shameful guilty pleasure. 


5. 

“Singing in The Shower”
 

This I reckon is something many people can relate to. It feels great having a nice, warm shower at the end of a tiring day so what better way to express your jubilation than a burst of song! Well, preferably when nobody is in the house and all the windows are closed. 

We all have differing levels of vocal ability but there are few things in this world that can crank up that cringe-o-meter all the way up to a 10 than being discovered singing in the shower. The sheer embarrassment of getting found out, especially if your friends hear you, is a serious downside to this guilty pleasure. 


4.

“Listening to Boybands”
 

Boybands are a thing of sheer bliss for screaming teenage girls. Choosing your favourite member of the group, pinning up that handsome lad to the wall and reflecting on all his gorgeousness with your BFF’s. Not so cool though, if you still love listening to them later in life. 

I’ve got many tracks from The Backstreet Boys, Westlife and even Take That that I love to fill every corner of the house with notably when I’m doing the chores. All those heart-breaking love songs, cheese-filled ballads and catchy lyrics are all ingrained into my memory forever more. 

So, I’m sure I’ll still be snapping my fingers along to them even when I’m old and retired. But still maybe even then, only when the house is free of people and I can enjoy as guilt free an experience as possible. 


3. 

“Practicing Dance Moves to “Dance” Movies” 

Dance movies such as Honey, Step Up and Footloose are fun to watch, even if they themselves are a little mushy and cutesy with their romance subplots and all. But I believe I’m admitting a big thing here. I love to practice the dance moves when no one is around. I think they look really cool in the movie and sometimes I even picture myself in the lead role. Come on, we’ve all done that, right? Lol, well, I hope so! 

The moves I’ve tried to pull off in the past have caused the house to shake and stuff to fall off shelves. I’m just lucky no mirrors have broken with all the shoes that have been flung across the room! The sad reality is that I’m sure if someone captured me doing those same dance moves, I’m more likely to be the next victim of “You’ve Been Framed” rather than the next star of the latest dance movie!  


2. 

“Pokemon Go”
 

Now we’re really talking as we reach the penultimate entry. When I first saw Pokemon Go being played, I laughed at how anyone could be so sad as to run around (sometimes in herds) and catch invisible monsters to be stored in their smart phone. Until, that is, I visited Holland Park in London where I live. 

Big groups of people of all ages were intertwined with each other in a quest to catch the rarest and strongest of all the Pokemon. So, puzzled as to what all the fuss was actually about, I installed it on my phone and the rest is history. 

I joined that herd and we must have covered almost half of the park, running this way and that, following some randomly designated leader of the pack to certain areas which I’m sure were out of bounds for the public. When I glanced down at the time and saw it was 10pm, I knew I was in trouble. 

Now, unfortunately, I have several hundred Pokemon in my phone and have even placed a few of my most precious ones in a gym. If I was still awake some nights, I have actually left the house in the early hours just to pick up a few more Pokeballs so I’d be properly stocked up for the next day. Very sad and very guilty. But perhaps even this can’t top the number one spot… 


1. 

“Fifty Shades of Grey”
 

Few subjects cause as much shame and embarrassment as a woman admitting she likes to read 50 Shades of Grey. Yes, I’ve read it more than once. Yes, I’ve read the whole trilogy. Yes, I’ve seen the movie. And no, I didn’t like the main actor like so many other countless 50 Shade readers have mentioned in the past.

 

I mean, surely being one of the top selling books of all time for the Kindle and the fastest selling paperback ever in the UK means something. People are still apparently buying and reading this book, right? But everybody I speak to about it absolutely and intensely hates it! I mean, is it really that bad? 

On a trip recently to Spain, whilst lying on the beach, I took a look around me and noticed all the women were reading nothing but the 50 Shades series. For once, I felt a strong sense of comradeship with them and not the usual “hide away in humiliation by wrapping the cover of another book on top of it” feel!    

This, by far, is my number one guilty pleasure and brings my list to an end. 

So that’s me laid bare and exposed for all to see. Maybe you’ll be thinking she’s a little bit of a weirdo, maybe you’ll be thinking I can relate to a lot of what she says. But as long as you had fun reading it, that’s my goal accomplished.  

So what guilty pleasures do you have and would you “dare to bare” your secrets on Steemit?

(Source: 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10)    


我们每个人都有内心深处不为人知的小秘密。一旦走进家门进入那舒适的客厅,我们可以在没有外界的审判眼光下,做回真正的自己。剥掉外壳,让自己彻底地放松。 

但如果能知道一些私人的尴尬秘密,那也应该挺有趣吧!又或者发现,其实我们并无不同!好吧,我就拿自己做个实验,在此公布我的前十名内疚的快乐! 

10. 

“我对垃圾食品的钟爱” 

我知道这对身体不好,我总是告诉自己只是再多一个汉堡,只是最后一块儿薯条。但我们都很清楚知道垃圾食品到底是什么。一旦我们的味蕾得到了满足,心灵和意志的斗争才结束。这时候,意志完全占上风,满满都是吃了没营养的垃圾食物而带来的内疚感。 

我最近对肯德基有强烈的欲望,由于它的炸鸡秘方不外传,我只能外出购买这被称为最美味的炸鸡! 我常常告诉自己要戒掉垃圾食物,但现在来说,它仍处于我的前十名之内。

 9. 

“明知信用卡透支仍然购物” 

在商场里闲逛几个小时和采购皮包鞋子等奢侈品的感觉也只有我们女人才能真切体会。对不起男士们,我们知道这样会让你抓狂,但我们不能违背自己的DNA。这是在我们内心深处的本能。 

信用卡这小小的塑料片既是女孩最好的盟友,也是她们最大的敌人。购物刷卡上千镑的这儿也不少见。在我们看来,信用卡更像是我们“先享乐后担忧”的处事态度。 

还有就是一种明知信用卡刷爆了还刷的刺激感,那一刻的快感也只有在你下个月看到银行账单时的绝望可以匹配。这种内疚的快感同时也是危险的。    

8. 

“阅读OK杂志” 

绯闻,谎言,偷情,谣言,丑闻,嫉妒,乱伦和这仅仅是“OK杂志”冰山的一角。名人也是人。他们和我们有同样的感受,同样的情绪。他们也和我们一样会感到痛苦,可能是我们觉得最可怜的人。有疯狂粉丝跟踪你的一举一动这已经够糟糕的了,但他们最大的对手还是狗仔队。 

被狗仔队跟踪拍照可以说是所有名人的噩梦,这些价格不菲的照片会刊登在最新杂志的封面。最糟糕的是,我喜欢阅读它们!可以窥见这些富人和名人的私生活是多么兴奋的事 啊。他们越努力保持秘密,我们就越觉得这有不可抗拒的魅力。 

我知道这是错的,就相当于支持一群为赚钱而不顾道德的狗仔队。我意识到这个事实,所以把它列在了我的内疚名单里。 

7.  

“倾听80年代的音乐” 

当我们回头看80年代,那确实是一个很难忘的时期,这是从70年代的极端时尚到90年代的大过渡。80年代每个人都显得那么的快乐和自由。说唱风格并不存在,舞曲也是很简单。 

我个人喜欢八十年代的音乐,虽然大部分都很老土。从Take On Me 到to Gary Numan – Cars , 我爱那那段时期的音乐和气息。当没有人在家的时候,我可以大声唱出这些经典歌曲而不必担心别人会说我不够酷。我只想迷失在纯粹的音乐空间里! 

毫无疑问,如果我在街上干这事儿,都不敢想象会遭到旁人如何的眼光。这绝对是一个完全“封闭环境”下的自娱自乐。 

6. 

“爱看真人秀” 

我记得最早推动电视真人秀节目的是Osbournes。这个疯狂的摇滚乐家庭可谓是一炮打响。至此,真人秀节目就一波接一波没停过。 

从2002年的美国流行偶像节目开始,它已经将近15年,却依然势头强劲。上文提到的我们买杂志看明星新闻已经够糟糕的,现在我们还买他们的节目。名人们在摄像头面前生活,而其中很大部分都夸大其词为夺取高收视率而已。我们则像小狗一样,摇头晃尾,乞求更多。 

明明知道这不应该却还看得这么过瘾!正如我们清楚知道真人秀其实就是同样一个模式不同人重复的上演!同样,这是我的另一个内疚的快乐。 

5.  

“洗澡时唱歌” 

我觉得这个可能是最多人可以理解的。结束了劳累的一天,在温暖的浴室里,有什么比唱歌更好的方式来表达你的情绪呢?最好是家里没人而且门窗紧闭的时候。 我们每个人都有不同的歌唱能力水平,如果被朋友或邻里听到,还是挺尴尬的事情。  

4.  

“听男孩乐队”

男孩乐队纯属十几岁尖叫少女的专利。选择你最喜欢乐队的成员,把那个帅气的小伙子贴在墙上。但如果你过了这个青春时期还喜欢听他们的歌,那可就不酷咯。 

我收集了很多男孩乐队的歌,从后街男孩,西城男孩甚至Take That。当我做家务的时候,我喜欢放大音量,让整个房子的每一个角落都填满了音乐。所有这些伤感情歌,通俗易唱的歌词都根深蒂固藏在我的记忆中。 

所以,我敢肯定当我老了退休了,我还会边听边唱这些老歌,呵呵。但只有在没人的时候,我才会这么放肆地享受这种内疚的快乐。 

3. 

“跟着电影练跳舞”

舞蹈电影如Honey, Step Up 和 Footloose,虽然片里的恋爱情节有点肉麻,但片子看完都让人感觉浑身是劲,蠢蠢欲动。在这里我得坦诚一件事,就是我喜欢在周围没人的时候练习跳舞。我觉得那些电影里的舞蹈动作都很酷,有时我甚至想象自己是电影里的主角。我相信我并不是唯一有这样嗜好的人吧, 呵呵! 以前我跳舞的时候经常造成房子摇晃,东西从架子上掉下,我很庆幸至今没有打破镜子的记录!残酷的现实是,如果别人看到我的舞姿,我更可能是节目“You’ve Been Framed”的下一个受害者,而不是舞蹈电影的明日之星! 

2. 

抓怪兽 

现在终于到了我们的倒数第二项了。当我第一次看到有人抓怪兽,我就狂笑怎么会有人这么无聊跑来跑去追隐形怪兽并存储在机子的智能手机里。直到我去了离家不远的荷兰公园。 一群群年龄不一的人,为了捕捉最稀有和最强大的怪兽,在公园里寻寻觅觅。很困惑的我想知道为什么这个游戏有如此大的魅力,所以我就在手机里安装了这个游戏,剩下的我就不用多说了。 

我加入了那群人的队伍,领头的人拿着导航我们跟着。我们应该走了近一半的公园面积,一会儿跑这条路上一会儿跑那儿,我敢肯定有些地方并不是向公众开放的。当我低头看表的时候,已是晚上10点了! 现在很不幸的是,我已逮到几百个怪兽在我手机里,还留了几个最强大的在gym里作战。有时候晚上我会去附近的加球站收集多几个球(Pokeballs)以备第二天用,太内疚了! 

1. 

“五十道阴影 ”

 没有多少女人愿意顶着羞愧与尴尬承认自己喜欢看五十道阴影。是的,我读了这本书不知一次。是的,我读过了整个三部曲。是的,我也看过电影。然而我并不像许多读者那样喜欢电影里的男主角。 

我相信,作为英国有史以来Kindle最畅销的书籍和卖得最快的平装书之一,五十道阴影绝对有过人之处。现在仍然有人购买阅读这本书,说明它受欢迎吧?可是凡和我聊起的人都表示强烈的讨厌和反感!这真有这么糟糕么? 

在最近的西班牙之旅,我躺在沙滩上,环顾四周,发现所有的女人都在读五十道阴影这系列书。这一次,我与她们有强烈的共识,而不是通常在伦敦地铁里用另一本书的封面盖住这本书。   这一点,到目前为止,是我头号的内疚的快乐,并为我的名单带上了句号。 

这就是我把自己的秘密暴露给大家看。也许你会觉得我有点儿怪,又也许你会有很多地方与我有同感。只要大家读完感觉开心,我的目标就实现了。 

那么,你有什么内疚的快乐吗?你敢把你的秘密裸露在我们这个Steemit的平台上么?  

Sort:  

I'm afraid I share a least a few of those but I'm not going to say which ones since I don't want to incriminate myself ;)

Lol, thank you for making me feel a little more "normal" than I felt before I posted this! Isn't it funny how as we grow up into adults, we build these barriers to the inhibitions we once had as children. Yet usually, people look back at their childhood as some of the most enjoyable and best times of our lives!

Maybe we should all break down a few of those barriers and recapture what the essence of being young actually was. Pure, unfiltered fun!

Looks like you are enjoying life and getting to do all your favorite things. Live life to the fullest.

Never a truer word spoken, @positivesteem. Live life to the fullest and have no regrets later on. :)

Lol, what a fun, interesting read! I sadly can relate to alot of the above but am not quite ready to unleash my inner most secrets to the world just yet!

Thanks for a very enjoyable and care free article!

Thank you, @ezzy.

It takes a brave soul to admit these little snippets of our private lives, but all in the name of fun, right? :)

KFC-do the one you go have Portuguese egg tarts?
Singing in the shower? Maybe you should join Steemit OpenMic,
Pokemon go! I'm level 25. Which level are you?
:-)

Wow, they definitely don't have those at the KFC's here. But the chicken is just SOOO tasty, it should come with a warning, lol.

I'm almost level 21. Only a true Pokemon player knows how essential an external battery pack is, lol!

If you do come to Singapore, I must buy you some. They are quite decent.
Yes, balls enough battery not enough.
Battery enough balls not enough.
Balls and battery enough - where's the pokemons?
Seriously, there's an Open Mic thing going I search for it again, here:
https://steemit.com/openmic/@luzcypher/openmic-night-record-your-musical-performance-using-just-a-phone-and-win-steem-dollars
Bring you phone to shower. :-)

Lol, thank you, @ace108. Singapore sounds great! I still can't believe I've never been.

Yes, the pokemon. I'm still hooked attempting to catch them. Also trying to save a lucky egg so as to evolve as many as I can. Lol, us pokemon players speak another language to each other!

Not sure about Open Mic night yet, lol. As you say, the shower would be the missing ingredient!

At first I was all like Nooooooo @rea! Not that!

But then I can understand, lol

Lol, which one warranted such a response!! :)

OK! magazine, reality TV, and boybands. :-P

Lol, touché!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57849.42
ETH 3122.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43