Snap out of the FUNK!

in #life8 years ago

I think we've all been there: tired, uninspired, meh. What can you do about it?



I'm writing this on Monday, which is also known as the worst day ever. It's rainy and cold and I had this feeling of lack of vigor all day. To be honest, I had it all week too. I did try to fight it though and that's what inspired me to write this little self-help post - which is really not my style. That being said, this is not really advice in the sense of do this OR! It's more an open discussion in which I hope you'll participate as well :)

I will share a few of my own strategies that work about 50% of the time. That seems like a pretty good success rate to me. I'm sure you have some as well and I'm looking forward to hear them and apply them.
But if you only read this far, I want you to take away just this point: a bad day does not need to be a series of bad days but it can happen IF you let it. Don't.

I think the most important is to recognize and acknowledge the state of mind. That's how you can take control over it and start to steer it into the right direction. Denial is simply not an option and will only prolong the FUNK!
One thing that I like to do is re-state my feeling in a detached matter. Here's an example:

Let's say I am angry. This gives it power over me and makes ME angry: I AM ANGRY.
So I re-say it - aloud sometimes - in a different matter. I AM WITH ANGER.
What did I do here? I detached and accepted the feeling as something that is with me but not part of who I am. And by doing that, I can leave it behind if I so chose to.

You can do that for every state - fear, boredom, etc. I think it's a powerful way to remind yourself that it's all temporary and you'll get back to be in better mood, better state of mind...that is also temporary :D

But the solution is not always with the mind, it can be with the body. The body and the mind are in a constant feedback dance. Who controls who?
I think sometimes one takes controls, sometimes the other. But when the mind is in disarray, it's time for the body to take the reigns.
I usually go for a walk but the most effective cure for me is an all - out gym session followed by a cold shower. That's how I tell those serotonins that it's time to come out and play.
You do you: dance, run, walk, yoga. If it gets you sweating, it works ;)

Another thing I do, is actually DO.
Write, scribble, comment. My idea here is that I am very aware of RESISTANCE. This is the most powerful idea of your creative life and if you haven't read about it, I must recommend getting and reading the "war of art" book. Steven Pressfield talks about how resistance can be any obstacle in the face of your artistic ambitious.
I am not in the mood. |I am not feeling on. I have a thing to do. I am cold. I am hungry.
All these can be expressions of Resistance. It is a very sneaky thing.
The book kind of trains you to have a mindset that detects bullshit. Yes, you can bullshit yourself! Yes, you are a con artist of the first degree and you need to be on constant lookout for not getting scammed by yourself.
So, when I feel uninspired, I do try t write or hit my daily word goal. Who knows?
Maybe I'm just running this elaborate smoke and mirrors con on myself. I want to see if there's something real about it. So I try to write something, with no clear focus on what will be. Sometimes the words start to flow and I can show the finger to Resistance. Other times....

...I just gave up!

WHOA! WHAT? NO! NEVER GIVE UP! <---- the initial response.

Well, what's so bad about jut saying "FUCK IT!", read a book, watch a tv show maybe drink some good wiskey?
I know the guilt associated with this. There seems to be an unnerving feeling lingering in the air when you laze around: the feeling that you probably should do something, that you are a leech. I know it all too well!
But I think you can do that in a healthy, "controlled" way, recharge and come back stronger than ever!

So for the last week, that's what I did. Fought the lack of inspiration, said "fuck it!" and generally just accepted that all this is part of the creative game. I'll jump back on the horse soon enough.

...or did I already? :)

R.

Sort:  

Damn that funk, I hate feeling like that. Yes, whisky does help but like you I sometimes go to the gym and sulk there till I feel better. And fuck'ing it all off works a treat too!!!! :o)

that good scotch....mmmm

When you have enough from it, try this out...

Hehe, lol. a fine looking thing!

haha. looks pretty good.

I have a horrible personal experience with this stuff. Luckily, that experience got me 'cured'. no vodka ever-since :)

"Well, what's so bad about jut saying "FUCK IT!", read a book, watch a tv show maybe drink some good wiskey?" ...... that should be regular therapy {smile}
I enjoyed the read, and certainly identified with the 'funk' part although I call it "the long dark teatime of the soul" (Douglas Adams - Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy) ....

heh! you know what's annoying?
That almost anything you can write, has been better said by Douglas Adams! Humbling...

Amen !! The man definitely lived inside my head. "And nothing continued to happen"

I liked your article. Helps you like mine ♥ @siams

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.4. Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise.

Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97