Bike delivery is over (for me)

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Starting today, my days as a bike delivery boy are over. It's been about 7 months that were full of incredible things, some challenges and a lot of personal lessons.
I'm writing this post as a reminder/raport for myself. I'm posting it to share with you my take on all this, as some of you have been around since I've started posting about this "gig" of mine. You can check my history to see more of my bike-related posts..this one is more introspective.
As I said my good-byes, after my last delivery route was completed, biking home I realized I felt..well, a bit sad. I guess any ending is sad, especially if you're ending something that you enjoyed. Still I want to take a few moments to really look back at all this from start to finish and see what was good, what was bad and what could have been better and really put it to rest, going forward.
I hope you - the reader - will get something out of it as well.

19427526_10155145994895081_39942175_n.jpg

First and last selfie on the bike

I started this in January after I randomly seen that this little food-place was looking for someone to bike deliver their menu. It felt like serendipity as I, too, have gotten the bike bug and I wanted to bike more...still, I had a big problem, I had nowhere to go!! Match made in heaven, right?

I jumped on my bike ( and this opportunity) and in one week I was hired and ready to start. It was a nice and fast process and made me feel a bit proud of my skills ( later it was revealed to me that I was the only one who applied for this job, January being cold as stones and all that. still a win, right?!?!? ).

My thinking was that doing something in the "service" business would be good for me. It's one thing to talk with people from a position of say "copywriter" or "ad-man" or "Steemit whales:P" and other when people see you just as a delivery guy. It's very interesting to see how people act with people that have no power over them and generally might perceive them as "inferior". I was curious to see what would transpire if I were in that position.

The second reason was that I wanted to do something physical, push my limits a bit, try to see if I can handle this + the weather. Bike delivery is young man's game as they say and at 30, no one would really think it's the right time to jump in this "career" but this is how things synced and I can not turn time back. So I took the challenge, took the ride and voila! Still alive :)

The third reason was that I wanted to do something with more meaning and social-aspect.
In December last year, my main income as from being a pro poker player and another part from copywriting. I have a big problem with how much it matters what I do.
In fact, one of the reasons I love STEEMIT is because it seemed, at times, that some of my posts matter. In fact, a lot of my posts try to bring some positive change or help some people to understand some stuff that I do and that I think it's important to. I crave meaning in my work...so I thought. HEY! Delivering FOOD to hungry people is useful in itself. I don't have to derive meaning by some mental gymnastics. It is meaningful in its own because it has a direct utility.
There's no need for ANOTHER poker pro, but look, they need someone to deliver the food!

Money was never a reason in this case and of course, I was not payed much anyway. But I did love the tips...those again, had some meaning :) I am yet unsure to understand what no tip means, sometimes a heinous person, sometimes a frugal personal, sometimes something else completely. This is one of the big lessons. Tipping is curtesy, at least in my country. I had clients tip me 20% for a 10 minute bike ride. I had clients send me numerous messages with various requests and tipping nothing. I try not to judge but that's pretty hard not to...

The social-aspect refers to the fact that most of my "work" happens from home.
I do not get many chances to interact with new people and I don't really meet a lot of people by default. I felt the need to be more surrounded by people and I thought this could be a chance right here. Mostly with the people cooking the food, which I knew about and liked from the little i did know about.


That was my thought process 7 months ago.
Today, I had to face how I really did. I'll start with the positive part.

I remember the first day, I was on my first shift, had 3 orders in 3 locations that I did not know exactly how to get to. I had my phone with me but ran out of battery in the middle of the shift. I could not call, nor gps my way to these orders. I panicked!
.
.
.
Then I took a deep cold breath and said to myself.
|

I can do this!

And you know, I did it. It was difficult and stressful and I got home mentally terminated. Yet, the next day was easier and so on so forth.
The way I biked in the first weeks vs how I bike now is incredibly different. I was such a noob and did not know the tricks of the trade. I used to make about 30 minutes from home to work, which today was down to maybe 20. I am not really faster, just smarter.
It does get easier with time no matter how unlikely this seems at the start.

I had to move over fears. Fear of not hearing when talking people on the phone ( true, but I worked around it). Fear of people laughing at me for doing this at 30+. Fear of people not liking me at work. Fear of getting hit by a car. Fear of the unexpected. Fear of fking a order up. Fear of being yelled at by customers. Fear of saying, doing or acting stupidly in the kitchen ( I also helped a bit there ). My life is a sum of fears but I had to face them day in day out on the bike and they retreated a bit.
Not forever and not for long but they did.
Next time it will be easier.

I have a lot to be proud of:

  • I delivered over 700 orders and never had a bad delivery. I think that;s a nice record do have.
  • I biked over 2000km.
  • I lost about 2kg ( could have been more but I got a LOT of food from work, a lot of dessert and you know how tempting that is :)
  • I took no days off, always there no matter if it rained, snowed or was hot as hell.

Riding a bike or really, any physical job, has a very interesting effect on the mind. I had a lot of great ideas while riding, going from A to B, almost on autopilot. It was calming and refreshing...simple. I loved that it took no effort, no decision to make, nothing. I felt serene. I only had to go from A to B.
In the best of conditions, this was a fun ride. In the worst: a slow, punishing trudge through molasses. But always, at its core, simple. Go to B. My mind was working at 20% and I always got home mentally recharged. That was unexpected.
If I was angry or tired or depressed, there was a quick fix: ride faster. Go harder. Sweat. Deliver. Get home. Beat your time.
I end up feeling cheery by the time I got back home.
It's something I'd recommend anyone who feels stressed and always ON -for example, if you have a crypto obsession!. Do something physical with abandon.

But lastly, the bad parts.
I think I missed on my social part. I am not sure why, but I can not say I got to know these people all that well. I might have not made enough effort. I could have tried to ask more questions, maybe see them in a different setting. I am not sure, it is difficult, kitchens are fast crazy environments. There's not time to chitchat!
Also, my hearing is partly to blame. It is very hard to hear in all those kitchen sounds. I usually got there when food was almost cooked, we had to pack the food in bags in leave fast. It was only time for a joke or two, everyone was fast and stressed, eager to finish.
After work, I could have maybe stayed more, tried to bond a bit. But again, same thing...there was always something going on in the kitchen.
Ultimately, is about chemistry too. It might have just not been there and we did not have enough time to discover it.

My hearing loss is a wall against me displaying my "real" personality as fast as I want to. It takes longer to get to know me, recognize me so to say, "get me". I know that...I need a bit of time to warm up to new people too so that's a factor in itself.
No matter the reasons, in the end, I was an outsider and remained one till the end. When I left, they did not lost anything I think.
I doubt I'll be missed.
It's weird but this is making me sad. I should not care but it bugs me. Maybe I'm wrong.

I'll end this on a good note though. I am incredibly happy to have gone through all this and I knew from the start that it had a time constraint on it from the beginning. We must go forward and embrace new opportunities as they appear and leave behind things that fitted our life in the past. It's the way life works.

I am ready for the next step.
I got this!

Thank you for reading if you made it this far.
r

Sort:  

How did you manage to be a delivery boy, poker player, a super and great Steemian member, what else? o yes, a trader! People can easily look down to you when you are on a ​bike and deliver pizza, but those people don't understand the value of a person!
You got this Razvane! Nice reading man!

holy shit! Dude, I must say...this is really touching to me. The answer is: I didn't do all those that well maybe? :)
But there was a very interesting power to know what you are worth - not what you do but what you THINK and who you help and how much some people appreciate you maybe - and people look down on you like meh, you deliver food at 30, that's pretty bad career cjoice bro :) It's interesting but it gave me strength to always smile and say thank you after I rode for 30 minutes in rain for a 120lei order and they gave me 2 lei tip :)
Thank you!
Same time tomorrow?:)
--
Anyway, thanks again, it means a lot!

How long you find the strength to always smile back, it doesn't need all to be well done. I have to admit that I don't know how many people could stay 30 minutes in rain and keep the smile on their face! You are really an impressive person man!
Same time tomorrow!
Cheers man!

The two jobs I have enjoyed the most have both been physical - gardener & mover. There is a lot to be said for using your body to acheive an outcome. Its actually really satisfying, whether trimming a hedge or stacking a truck full of furniture.

You make some good points about the appeal of this sort of labour - you can let your mind wander and be in a position where despite providing a service for someone, they have no real authority over you, and have to respect you, because they cant do this work themselves (& even if they could, probably not half as well!)

For me, gardening was a very solitary occupation, as I was self-emplooyed. Sometimes I missed social interaction, but often I enjoyed the peace and quiet and to be at one with nature. Moving, on the other hand, was very social. You meet new customers every day, and work as part of team, so a lot of jokes, in a very 'macho' environment!

Righteous post - really enjoyed hearing someone's thoughts who has been in a similar position.

Thank you so much. I love this comment.
In many ways you expressed better than I did parts of what I wanted to say. I think i'd be a very bad gardner to be honest :) and mover is very hard. Those guys deserve respect( and trong backs! )

" you can let your mind wander and be in a position where despite providing a service for someone, they have no real authority over you, "

Great comment. I'll follow. [ oh, i already do! nice! ]

Cheers - All the best with whatever you find yourself doing next!

I totally agree that doing something physical is very satisfying. The only issues is that it benefits one specific place and point in time so it's not as scaleable as other means of work (audio, visual, writing etc.). I loved working as a gardener when I was younger!

Congrats! It seems like a useful experience. As for not being missed, I'm sure you're exaggerating. Everybody is missed :)

thank you for reading!
Maybe I am, it's still a bit raw. I might reconsider this and might -in fact-not be fair to them either :)

Yes you can :D

I wish you all the best, it takes true courage to claim what you are worth! Upvoted!

Great story...great inspiration. Thank you for sharing and good luck on your future here on Steemit and where ever else life takes you.

Way to go bro! Wish you all the best for the future!

Thanks man. I hope the best is yet to come - SF2 anyone!?!?? :D

You can tell a lot about a person by how they treat someone in the service industry.

Congratulations! I know it is bittersweet, but there is always something better ahead. Steem on!

Thanks! Cool nick b t way :))

Hey Nick, wonderful meeting you! How's retirement? ;)

Steemit full time?

No. I hve a full time job and I have no time for this anymore..
Thanks for reading

What full time job is higher paying, or more fulfilling, than your last month on steemit? I'm genuinely curious.

It's not everything about money.
As I said, for me meaning is also important. I want to do a lot..the more I do the more I can bring to my steemit posts too,right?
I can not talk at large about what i'll do but it's pretty cool hard and rewarding job with a start up. Building something is exciting! [ and frustrating ]
thank you for reading

Well now I'm even more curious, but I understand and can relate. Looking forward to maybe finding out more i the future. Best of luck!

Props to you sir!

twas a good experience now you know what bike delivery boys go through and you can talk about it from your own experience.

interesting story! obviously it was a good experience for you, keep sharing your stories

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58132.39
ETH 3138.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44