You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Bike delivery is over (for me)

in #life7 years ago

The two jobs I have enjoyed the most have both been physical - gardener & mover. There is a lot to be said for using your body to acheive an outcome. Its actually really satisfying, whether trimming a hedge or stacking a truck full of furniture.

You make some good points about the appeal of this sort of labour - you can let your mind wander and be in a position where despite providing a service for someone, they have no real authority over you, and have to respect you, because they cant do this work themselves (& even if they could, probably not half as well!)

For me, gardening was a very solitary occupation, as I was self-emplooyed. Sometimes I missed social interaction, but often I enjoyed the peace and quiet and to be at one with nature. Moving, on the other hand, was very social. You meet new customers every day, and work as part of team, so a lot of jokes, in a very 'macho' environment!

Righteous post - really enjoyed hearing someone's thoughts who has been in a similar position.

Sort:  

Thank you so much. I love this comment.
In many ways you expressed better than I did parts of what I wanted to say. I think i'd be a very bad gardner to be honest :) and mover is very hard. Those guys deserve respect( and trong backs! )

" you can let your mind wander and be in a position where despite providing a service for someone, they have no real authority over you, "

Great comment. I'll follow. [ oh, i already do! nice! ]

Cheers - All the best with whatever you find yourself doing next!

I totally agree that doing something physical is very satisfying. The only issues is that it benefits one specific place and point in time so it's not as scaleable as other means of work (audio, visual, writing etc.). I loved working as a gardener when I was younger!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58639.60
ETH 3167.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43