Kickin off the Season!

in #life6 years ago (edited)

I love the holiday season, always have.

I celebrate Christmas, but not for the religious ties. For me, the season is more of a celebration of the solstice. I love that this time is condusive to introspection. To winding down the year and closing it out and celebrating the rebirth of the sun as it begins it's climb to longer days and the beginnings of new things. I also love that, for the most part, this time of the year is celebrated universally by many different cultures and for many different reasons. I feel like this time of the year has always been special for our species and ancestors and that it continues to be through the ages is something meaningful to me that I feel grateful to be a part of.


File Dec 03, 5 20 48 PM.jpeg

My Tree :)

For me, in this place and time, it means weeks of enjoying good food (and eggnogg!), good company, good spirits, Christmas movies/music and generally seeing the best come out in people. It means being thankful and sharing and coming back in after enjoying the warmth and adventures that summer tends to offer. It's the warm coziness of fires while storms blow outside and the process of slowing down to enjoy what matters.

I have a lot to be grateful for this year. We had an amazing summer up here in the pacific northwest and the holiday season has been great so far as well. To kick things off we had a little snow storm come through and blanket us for a couple days in early November which never happens around here. That same weekend @coruscate and I headed up for a weekend get away to Whistler B.C. and with the snow on the ground the place was magical. I do love that about snow, it always adds something special. She wrote up a post about it if you want to check it out.

It was supposed to be just a normal weekend getaway, but the snow turned it into a kick off the season weekend and we had a blast.


Whistler Village courtesy of @coruscate

The rest of November was a blur as the days got shorter. Had a great Thanksgiving and then spent Black Friday getting my shopping done. I love getting it all done as soon as possible so I can enjoy December without worrying about having to get gifts.

I did more than shop on Black Friday, we also had another special seasonal event this year. We headed down to the Paramount Theater in Seattle to see Tori Amos. I've never seen Tori, but have always been a fan. The concert was amazing and my only complaint was that it was a little short at under an hour and a half total. She is amazingly talented though and a pleasure to see. Highlight of the night for me was her performance of Precious Things which was incredible. I really wish she had played Winter and Crucify but it was a great show none the less.

File Dec 03, 5 16 21 PM.jpeg

File Dec 03, 5 16 56 PM.jpeg

The One and Only Ms. Amos

So, we're already rockin the season and then on Friday we went and saw A Charlie Brown Christmas at our local theater. It was a great production. The music was all live and was the highlight of the show for me. They also spent the last half hour or so singing Christmas carols, which was awesome.

File Dec 03, 5 18 00 PM.jpeg

Today, I watched A Christmas Prince with @corsucate. I love Christmas movies and luckily she does too. We pretty much spend all our spare time between the day after Thanksgiving and Christmas watching Christmas movies. After that I then spent the day pulling out the decorations and getting my place decked out.

I've got a small place, so I don't set up a big tree, but I love my little decorations and lights and it makes me happy to have it all up now.

File Dec 03, 5 22 09 PM.jpeg

File Dec 03, 5 26 07 PM.jpeg

File Dec 03, 5 27 54 PM.jpeg

File Dec 03, 5 36 58 PM.jpeg

I'm now happily enjoying my holiday ready home and am looking forward to the rest of the season. If you feel like sharing, let me know some of your favorite Holiday traditions!

Also, don't forget to head over to the Share the Love! Challenge and do some giving!

Sending Warm Wishes As We Kick Off the Season!



Some of my other recent posts:


Take it Outside - My Solo Packrafting Trip Through the Bob Marshall Wilderness
Share the Love! Challenge for December 2017 - 20 Steem or More for our Winner
Get to Know Me - I Was a Whitewater Rafting Guide

forestfooter.gif


Images from: Freepik

Sort:  

We pretty much spend all our spare time between the day after Thanksgiving and Christmas watching Christmas movies.

This is 100% accurate. hahah

Seriously though, this post made my whole heart happy. We’ve had a great start to the holiday season this year! Now we just need to get another snowstorm!

Wow what beautiful pics! I would love someday to celebrate Christmas somewhere where snow falls. Although here in the tropics we did not have anything bad hahahaha. Regards!

Yeah, the tropics are never bad :) ...I do enjoy the winter weather over the holidays though. Maybe a month or so is good, then I'm ready for better weather again!

This is friend. I agree with you. Regards!

Whoa you got to see Tori Amos!!! Nice!! <3 <3 <3

I love all the shots of your Merry Home!! xoxo :) :) Beautiful displays, and tree. <3 <3

I did! and she was amazing.

She'd play the keyboard then move to the piano and sometimes both at the same time. I've always thought she was incredible but seeing her live was something else. If you ever get the chance, definitely go :)

I will for sure if we ever get the chance. I love when you go see a band and they're better live than on the albums...it's RARE!

She is definitely one such performer. When she was playing precious things I was just in awe at the level of talent on display. You just recognize that you're in one of those moments that are rare to experience in life.

I've got goosebumps just hearing you describe it!!!

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Qurator's exclusive support bot is now live. For more info click HERE or send some SBD and your link to @qustodian to get even more support.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68101.41
ETH 3762.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69