Google knows more about you than you remember yourself - part 1

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Facebook was and still is in the news because they do things with your data which you don't like but actually agree on. At least to a certain point and more than you hoped when agreeing only to be able to make use of their services.

Mark Zuckerberg 'will testify to Congress', but not Parliament

This because of the latest scandal I wrote about here (don't waste your upvotes on that post anymore as it is too old).

But what about Google?

In this post, I want to show you some links to lookup what Google knows about you.
A small warning - it's scary ... but we need to give some to get such a great service, don't we?
BTW: I'll give you some interesting Facebook links, too.


pic source

So let's start.

Most of you will have turn on the positioning. So where have you been the last years? Yes, I'm talking about years - not days or weeks. And of course, you can finetune the data per date.
Take a look - perhaps you will not remember yourself. Google does: where have I been
Here an example of mine and I can tell you it's years ago that I've been to Barcelona, Spain.


Click picture for full view

If I e.g. click on "London Luton Airport" (the red dot above London, GB) Google tells me exactly the whole trip that day. How much hours and kilometers I was flying, driving and walking.

Click picture for full view

Ok, if you think that's creepy ... Google can top that.

Do you know the movie "I know what you did last summer"?

Well, Google does better than only last summer. Take a look here
And take the time to go into the details. If your partner says "But you did this or that" you now know to find the proof you did not ... or forgot about it. Google will not forget!


Click picture for full view

You can go into details again of course and even use filters which is quite comfortable because of the masses of data stored.

Now the part Google is getting paid for: personalized advertising

Yes, you can do adjustments to this. But your can't turn it off. The only thing that you can change is if you receive personalized advertising or just advertising.
Google creates an advertisement profile bases on several things like: interests, carrier, hobbies, age, gender, location, etc.
Check you settings here

Do you use 3rd party apps that have access to your Google account?

Perhaps you don't even know ... check it here
This way they know who you are interacting with on Facebook and even when you go to sleep.

Forgot what you searched, looked or commented on Youtube? No problem at all!

Here we go
Google knows if you are pregnant, suicide or depressed by this - at least they think so.

This was part 1 - more to come soon. Also with some interesting links to your Facebook profile you might not have thought about yet.

Steem on!

Sort:  

Great article, people need to be aware that everything they do on social networks will be analyzed with big data and extract behavor patterns, tendancies and based on that they will try to influence you on your purchase, your politic alignement and even more.

If you can thumbs up the fact that I did comment and upvoted you on Qurator PostPromotion chat channel that would be appreciated.

Have a great day!

Congratulations! Your submission earned you 0.037 SBD from this bounty. You have received 0.024 SBD from the creator of the bounty and 0.013 SBD from the community!

I know what you have done and I know what you will do :)

Congratulations! Your submission earned you 0.029 SBD from this bounty. You have received 0.024 SBD from the creator of the bounty and 0.005 SBD from the community!

I know what you did last summer
7253649.jpg

Recommend using alternatives like the Firefox Browser and the duckduckgo search engine/app.

Congratulations! Your submission earned you 0.024 SBD from this bounty. You have received 0.024 SBD from the creator of the bounty and 0.000 SBD from the community!

Good suggestion @novacadian - but it's mainly the android phone with all the Google (and other) apps that is the big security gap we create when using ...

Orbot and duckduckgo app will at least throw you to the result links encrypted. It would provide annonymity; and with recommended Tor Browser settings; pretty secure for most surfing.

That's my Galaxy in a nutshell. Have a link for a howto to install some flavor of Linux on it, which being a 5 it may be time to consider some experimenting . 😎

A bounty of 0.100 SBD has been set on this post by @pundito!

You can actually adjust the google settings so it doesn't build up a log of all the things you like. To do a more thorough analysis, you can get google to send you a copy of all the data they have on you – which you can run through.

To stop google making money off you, simply use an adblock – you'll see no ads, and give away no money.

Correct @missioncontrol, thanks a lot for your comment!
You can indeed disable a lot if you know how and where.
On the other hand, I e.g. disabled the voice recording (hopefully I find the time to post part 2 today with the information) but suddenly it was on again.
Also the "sending a copy of our data" will be addressed in my part 2 of this post. Can be some GB to download actually.
I'm pretty sure many people do not even know about the links and where to do the settings and download collected their data. This I wanted to show here ...

Steem on!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by pundito from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

This is precisely the reason I keep a lot of my location data services off unless I absolutely need them, and for the most part I do not broadcast my locations when I am posting to social media sites. Nothing is fool proof of course. I did not know about the “My Activity” section at all, this is news to me! The more and more I see about people being manipulated or spied on by their social media accounts, the more I choose not to use them. I quit Facebook a few months ago and I could not be happier. Thank you for the informative posting @pundito !

A good beginning @libertylemon and you're very welcome.
You might want to check the audio part in my second post also. I hope it's not too scary for you.

wow your article was enlightening but scary, lol. thanks for reminding us that there's still more too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57824.98
ETH 3133.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42