My Last Day at Condé Nast and Looking Forward

in #life7 years ago

Five years ago I came back to NYC from California to begin a new career, with the full intention of returning west at the end of those years. Today is the end of the two week notice I put in with my current company and before the month is out, I will have completed that five mission and be headed back west.

I'll be following up with more details about what comes next for ole @prufarchy but for this post I wanted to share some images of my time working in Lower Manhattan in NYC.

Sky Lobby (64th Floor)

This is the side facing New Jersey and the western side of the island

This is the side facing Brooklyn

I wanted both bridge and Statue of Liberty together

A close up shot of Lady Liberty

What Comes Next?

Over the next couple of weeks there's a lot to get done, from shipping items to spending time with loved ones. Even with so much to get done, I fully plan to enjoy NYC in these last days as a resident, and that means taking Steemit with me on those adventures.

My hope is to get some time in with friends like @andrarchy and the @sndbox guys @hansikhouse and @voronoi maybe for some going away drinks and of course Steemit talk.

As for what I'll be doing in the west, you'll just have to come along to find out!

Trusting Your Gut

There's no lack of people telling me that I'm crazy to do this, and sometimes I even agree with them. But I knew that if I were to continue living in America after having seen the outside world, it would have to be in the west. The time I spent here in the eastern United States has been a life-changing experience that has shaped who I am as a person at this point in my life.

The east is competitive and seasonal and full of as many wonderful people as the west, if in a different flavor. But even as I decided that I needed to come back to NYC for this opportunity (5 years ago), I also knew in my heart that my destiny was ultimately outside of NYC and that my time in the city would be limited.

And now, at exactly 5 years, I stand on the precipice of yet another major change. It's as liberating as it is terrifying, but I feel ready.

buildings-2569493_1280.jpg

image sourced from pixabay.com

There's a lot of change on the horizon and soon I'll be leaving NYC. But until then I hope you'll all follow along as I explore what the city has to offer! And yeah, eventually I'll share where I'm moving to ;)


@prufarchy

Sort:  

NYC will miss you :]

I look forward to your adventures! 😊

🍻 to freedom.

When I saw this post it was on the exact day that I couldn't vote anymore, so I've been waiting for the next one to comment...but there hasn't been a next one, lol.

A part of me is super sad, I was really hoping you would go the Rochester route. I know that you would have fit right in with my brother and his amazing group of friends, and of course it's a selfish desire, since I would be able to see you a lot!

But of course if this is what you want to do, and if you're excited about it, then I am excited for you. I am sorry that I tend to miss your posts, when it comes to people who let a lot of time lapse that happens. I'm thinking of using steemvoter again for this reason actually. That way when I do come to your page, I can enjoy your incredible poems and everything else you have to offer guilt free, because my vote will have already been assigned.

I have never been the the west coast. All up and down the east coast and through the middle of the country, but going west is a goal of mine. And I suppose I can look at it like I will have another incredible person to visit in my travels. Even though we haven't spent a lot of time together, my connection to you was an instant one. If ever you want someone to chat with, I am always here.

As a military veteran, you have been added to the @chairborne aka the Veterans Project following list. Our goal is to support military veterans and serving members on Steemit. You can learn more about the project here.

This is not an automated message and we are sharing it with you for your awareness. Please let @guiltyparties know if you wish to be removed from the list or if we added you in error. You can find us on Steemit.chat.

Congratulations @prufarchy! You have received a personal award!

SteemFest 1 Attendee SteemFest 1 Attendee
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63578.99
ETH 2611.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85