You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Being an Introvert Creates Challenges, But Inspires Creativity

in #life8 years ago

I'm a natural introvert, too. I always preferred a small number of close friends and would always feel awkward around new people.

I saw this as a condition to be cured in my early 20s, so I decided to set myself a goal. For an entire year, I decided to accept any invitation anyone extended to me. Birthday parties, coffee shops, night clubs or something wilder -- if someone asked, I had to go, comfortable or not.

It worked, and really did cure me of my shyness. It also led me down a path that involved much drinking and decadence that, retrospectively, I now feel was not true to my own nature.

So now I've come full circle. I'm no longer shy, but I prefer to spend most of my time behind my computer creating things that may change the world, or just bring a smile to a few people's faces. Ideally, I'd buy an island and live there with one or two other people and a laptop.

So, I can relate to the article, because I, too, am beginning to feel the draw of nature and a simpler life.

Sort:  

Wow, you sound so much like me! I went through the whole drinking, partying, and bar scene in my early 20's. Like you said, I felt I needed to purge my shyness away and become socially outgoing. Looking back, that did absolutely nothing for me. Having just a few close friends is much better than having dozens of friends who may not be fully honest and sincere.

Thanks for your response! Now following.

Maybe it's something people need to go through to arrive back at themselves.

I just can't help thinking how much stuff I could have done if I hadn't though. I guess in a way that fuels me now, because I feel like I need to make up for lost time.

Cheers, looking forward to your future articles.

All the money blown on bar tabs and other needless expenses could have been a nice chunk of money put into a retirement account! Now I think like an old-timer!

I don't worry too much about the money, but man, the time... what I could have done with that time!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60826.76
ETH 2393.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62