Why? Tell me why do I need to have a opinion about everything?

in #life8 years ago (edited)

I am tired!
Politics, policy, public transport, health care, the situation in the world, good or bad parents.
Everybody needs to have an opinion other wise they will look at you very weird and maybe even deem you unfit!
I am one of those people who holds no opinion over many things! Does this make me a lesser person? Does this make me dumb? 

Trump or Clinton?
What do you think about them? Who would you vote for? Questions I have heard many times the last few weeks and my answer is always the same. I don't know and I really don't care! I am so not in to politics and I am totally okay with that! Others however are not! There is a lot going on in the world of politics and yes, I am BLIND for it! Why? Because I simply do not believe in politics. 99% of what they promise to do never gets done and no one can do shit about it! Do I vote? Yes I do, I have to and I don't want my vote to go to waste but do I care? No. Do I have a opinion? No.
Does this make me dumb? Does this make me weird? I don't know. When someone wants to talk politics with me, I kindly tell them that I am not interested in a talk like that. And that is the point where most talks go into a down spiral and people form a opinion about me and others like me! 

Petitions.
I do get a lot of them, inbox wise and sometimes people point me at them. I sign some and others I just push away. It's not that I don't care about the world we live in and I do believe that we need people in the world who are willing to make a change. But there are so many voices, so many different reasons and it's making me tired. 

Why do I write this?
Because I rather don't have an opinion! People have so many opinions and I read and hear a lot of them. They think they can say anything and everything when someone thinks different or speaks different than they would. They call that freedom of speech! BUT.... If you take a closer look at that you might notice the same as I did a while ago. We all speak about freedom of speech and we scream that really loud until someone feels or says something we don't like. When they have a other opinion things change and most of the time a normal conversation is out of the question. Instead of accepting what the other thinks or feels the debate turns into a war field of who is right or wrong. 

I rather don't have an opinion!
And most of the time, when I do have an opinion, I keep my mouth shut because I am in no mood to defend why I feel or think that way!
Do you want to know my opinion?

I love rice pudding!
I really deeply love rice pudding! I eat it warm with brown sugar and some butter! I eat rice pudding not as a dessert but as dinner and also as breakfast! Rice pudding should rule the world! I love how creamy it can be, so sweet and melting on my tongue. But most of all I love rice pudding because it brings me joy. memories from when I was a little snake, a happy child. The scent fills my whole house with warmth and love. But this is my opinion and you are free to not feel the same way or think the same way! 

Image credit : Lekkertafelen.



Sort:  

Is rice pudding gluten-free? What is your opinion on gluten?
Just joking around with you.
I am like you in that I never had strong opinions on a lot of hot topics. Unfortunately, voicing your opinion in politics is a good way to ruin friendships and families. I have seen it happening with my family in regards to this Trump/Clinton election.

I try to keep what opinions I do have to myself, unless I hear about a friend or family member who is about to make a poor choice that could have bad consequences. At that point, I will speak up. But keeping silent in heated debates is a good way to stay at peace. The way I see it is that God controls everything. All will work out as HE sees fit.

Thanks for the post. I enjoy reading your content.

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

And maybe not having an opinion, an opinion on whether A or B is the better choice in a vigorous and high-profiled debate, is the first step in realising that C, or even V, is the way to go. So more power to you! Well written!

Thank you very much! It's nice to hear that something is well written!

You may not be interested in politics, but politics is interested in YOU.
It's ok NOT to have an opinion, or an interest, in things which do not affect you.
HOWEVER...if you ignore clear and present danger...
....how smart is that?

It might be not that smart! But... If I would face every danger clear and present it would be a new day job with everything going on. I stopped watching the news and it made me a lot happier. I live in the here and now and some might call that a bubble but it's my bubble and it makes me happy. :D
Thank you for your input, its really appreciated!

I really feel like this is the BEST quote in the whole world, or prayer I should say! Thank you for posting it here! Made me smile!

you have just as much right to not have an opinion or not to express the ones you do have, as you do to have one.
Personally, I love rice pudding, especially when my dad has made it, yum!

Yes! I totally agree! I just wish more people would accept that! When you say something like that in a talk some really look at you like you come from the planet lostinspace!
Gosh, I love it when my mom makes me rice pudding! I make it myself as well but it never taste as good as when she makes it! It's the love she puts in it I am sure!

Because if you don't stand for something, then you'll fall for anything?

I don't fall for anything! I don't mind standing up for something.

Sorry it was a joke. It's the name of an old country song. I keep forgetting not everyone has the same cultural, generational experiences I do.

It's a song about advice a father gives to his son. He's basically saying that you can't let evil stand. Thus you've got to stand for something, or you'll fall for anything. But it also means to just weigh what's important in the context of your moral framework.

Also keep in mind that if you want your opinion to matter, you must first have an opinion. If you don't then you can't really complain when things go against your better interests in the matter.

AAhhh Now I get it! Yes, sorry, I am not English and some things I need to read or hear twice or five times. I did not know that song but I am going to search for it on youtube and listen to it! Thank you! :D


There ya go, I saved you the search.

Thank you! Listening to it now. :D

It must be difficult / disappointing / upsetting one of the remaining candidate to choose from. maybe the best to put the head into the ground and hope for the best
with the choose

I just want a happy life on a farm with a few chickens and do my own thing. :D

sounds great, life should just be easy

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57382.38
ETH 3075.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39