If the enemies of the ocean can dine together, why can't we all get along here on Steemit?

in #life7 years ago

Nature provides many things including answers and solutions! 


All we have to do is watch and learn! 

If two of the biggest enemies of the Ocean can share a meal of herring together why can't we put away our differences here on Steemit?

The Orcas and Humpbacks are not know to being friends yet they share a meal every year at the coast of the very north of Norway. If they can have a nice dinner together without tearing each other apart, I am sure we should be able to get along without blaming, finger pointing and shouting at each other as well! 



Image credit: Google search.

For a while now, I have been quiet about all the things happening here on Steemit! While being in the shadows is a place I feel at my best, sometimes I also feel the need to throw in my two cents. 

Instead of building things up together, it seems to happen more and more that flag wars start because of opinions! 



Image credits: Google search self love.

Self-voting, good or bad?

I know there are a lot of different opinions about this and honestly it makes me sad!  Maybe I am blind for some things but this is the way I look at it! 

When you write a post you get the option ( an option offered by Steemit!!) to upvote your own post! Now, if you ask me, if Steemit offers this how can it be wrong or against any rules?
Is it really that selfish to give yourself ( In my case 0.33 ) on a post you work on for a long time? I like to think that when you write a post and put your heart and soul into it, it does not hurt anyone by opvoting your own post! After all, you are working hard for it!

Now, I do understand that when you post spam and or play it in such a way to make yourself rich by selfvoting etc, that is bad. 

BUT, I do upvote my own posts and I do give myself those 0.33 cents! I never upvote my own coments because that is not the way I roll. Does this seriously still make me selfish? Does this really mean I don't care about the posts made by others? I like to think NOT!
Because I do care about reading the posts made by others and when I can I do vote and leave an reply! I like to resteem work of others and help them find their way on Steemit! I like to connect on chats and be of help when ever I can! I promote others, free of charge.....

Selfish? Just because I upvote my own work? Maybe..... Just maybe I am just proud of my own hard work. And yes, my posts might not be liked by every soul but I still put my heart into it! 



Image credits: Google search red flag

Flagging good or bad.

It makes me so damn sad to see all the flagging go around. BUT, again, it's an option given by Steemit. I know, we all think different on this. I have never flagged, nor will I ever use the option but that is my choice. Seeing people getting flagged for using the options given by Steemit, honestly breaks my heart!
And I will say it again, I might not like it and I can scream all I want, it won't change the fact that the flag now is part of our lives!
You want to use the flag? Use the flag! You don't want to use the flag? Then don't!

I also see the good side of flagging. When there is abuse or plagiarism or even something that really causes pain! I honestly think that the flag is NOT a BAD thing unless it's being used in the wrong way! 



Image credit: Vector funny robots.

BOTS, BOTS and more bots! 

This is something that keeps throwing up problems. I see posts about it, hear stories about it and again it's a subject with two sides. One side loves them and the other side hates them with a passion! I can, of course, only speak for myself but I am in the middle.
I use them and for now I see no harm in them at all.
For some the vote bot can really be the push they need to get their posts the eyes they seek.
If you want to use them and pay for a vote, you should be able to do that without being judged because.... There is no rule that states they are forbidden! So how can using them be wrong or good? There is no written rule to make things good or bad in this case! 

Some might like to use the promoted section to get eyes for their posts but, in all honesty, you will have to pay over 100.00 SDB to even get on top. A cheaper option to get more eyes is to BOOST your post up by using a vote bot. 

Good or wrong? I don't know if there is a good or wrong in this case. 

Fact stays that the higher the pay is on a post the more people will want to open and read! 


Final words.

Steemit is still in Beta. And Beta means it's still trying to find the best way! This also means things need to be tested and to have things tested there need to be new things added to test! 

Instead of pointing fingers and screaming at each other  about what is good or bad, we should test all these things together and build the platform TOGETHER instead of burning it down.
Some options you won't like and others you will love. Not everyone will love or like the same BUT..... Accepting a choice made by a person is always better than starting a war! 

Feeling different about something does not mean you are right or wrong! It simply means there has to be found a way in the middle! 

After all, if we reach hands instead of biting the hand we get way further to have a marvelous platform we all can love! 


If the biggest enemies of the Ocean can dine together I am sure we can all find a wonderful way in the middle! 



Sort:  

Finally, someone has posted what was on my mind! Way to go, @poeticsnake !

Congratulations @poeticsnake! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Very good thoughts @poeticnake . I really loved your writing and views on different aspects.
upvoted and looking foreward for more such posts.
have wonderful time

@katteasis hmm @poeticnake move forward in the future..

A really great post babe.
I agree with you up voting your own post is ok, opinion flagging is bad. Flagging shouldn't be allowed for opinion only for dealing with abusers of the platform.
If you do t like something you just don't upvote no need to downvote. Sadly I've seen this happening by senior members employed by Steemit which in my opinion is just plain wrong and sends out the wrong message.
Buying votes doesn't bother me either providing people aren't getting ripped off. If people want to pay for exposure that their right.
Thanks for a great job done babe ❤️

hello i am following you.
If you follow me you will be happy.

dear friend @poeticsnake, very impressive and useful assesment you done, uou also point out different matters in steemit community like flagging, bot and a beta version steemit thats is in testing mode now etc thoroghly. i support your every word because you shows the facts to other and i hope that your desire become true to work all steemians together with love. my best wishes for you and all.

nothing To say..
bcz Its Very Wonderful..

crray on :)

Me resteem Your post :)

I wish more posts like this on steemit

hmm @faces You r Right :)

I really agree with your point.. I think this platform is still not perfect, I think many will give up on this before it reach it's perfect form..

by the way.. filming those Orcas and Humpbacks gives me the chills.. I had experience filming Whalesharks in the Philippines, and they are known for being gentle giants, but still they scare me with their size.. @_@

Hello, I remember you @poeticsnake !
You donated to our common noble cause for the first time exactly 2 days ago. Have a great and prosperous day along with my up-vote! You fed me with 4 STEEM already but you can always make me stronger, if you want to. It will enable me to help you and your friends more often.

I will now also call in my friend @OriginalWorks who will check the originality of your post and upvote as well!

Yours, Spinny

I like very much when everyone who feeds me also reads my friend’s posts, so please visit @fibra59 and read what he has to say! Your name will also appear here. :-) Join my Discord server if you want to meet others: https://discord.gg/Mz2EZP3

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @poeticsnake to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57930.87
ETH 2362.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36