You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: WHY I ATE NOTHING BUT MEAT FOR A YEAR - and why I’m now eating plants again

in #life8 years ago

I'm currently on a ketogenic diet, though I made a mistake in the beginning by eating lots of protein instead of fat and fell out of the diet early on (being hungry and snacking), and had to restart it when I figured out the right foods. Now I can eat 5 small meat/cheese/paleo-crackers (200 calories) and that is a lunch! I even got the "keto flu" which forcing myself to eat more made me feel better. The funny thing too is, the food I buy is more expensive (healthy, organic) but I eat a lot less food overall which makes up for it.

But I've lost 7 pounds so far and feel comfortable in old clothes.

Sort:  

Ah yes, keto flu - the worst part of going Zero Carb. Despite the name, it's not necessarily a ketogenic diet, as just eating meat is often higher in protein (as you would know). But many in the community I was in were following it in a ketogenic way by using fatty cuts of meat or adding extra fats. Many people came from a ketogenic diet with low carb veg, and were surprised that they had to adapt again when cutting out the last of the plants. Glad to hear it's working well for you, and I hope that continues.

I too am on what I've tried to call a Keto diet since last Spring. I say try to call it that because that was my intention but it was VERY difficult for me to stay in Ketosis. I think its just more of a low carb, high fat diet. I think my problems have been controlling my protein intake. I'm currently at 265lbs and 6'5" tall. I've lost 35 lbs on this diet. Prior to that I was on a similar diet. I plan to post something on this journey soon so I won't get into it. But I've determined that no matter what diet you go on you can lose weight. Some are easier than others. The hardest part is KEEPING it off!

You're so right! I've followed you and look forward to hearing your story.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61911.99
ETH 2585.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56