You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is our generation self-centered and entitled?

in #life8 years ago

I often wondered myself about the younger generation being self- centered. Sometimes it sucks to think that there are those who are practically given everything on a silver platter. I worked hard for everything I own. Some world countries are not so lucky. It makes me sad to see the pictures of world countries, knowing they have it so rough. People really need to teach their kids not to take things for granted, whether be tv, videos, all electronics.

Sort:  

Yeah I had a super poor mother who was neglectful and no father until 12 and then when I met him was horrifically abused by him so I had to work super hard to get ahead but even so, I know that so many people in the world have it much worse and literally cannot escape the abuse or cannot, no matter how hard they work, eat enough. D:

And yeah, many young people I do think take it for granted. I think parents need to teach their kids more of these things, in general. The school system most certainly isn't going to do it. It is up to the parents. I am not a parent though so I don't know anything about how to do that.

I have a teenager who has been taught at an early age, that if you want something you have to work for it. If he wanted a particular toy, he had to do chores to earn money (except for Christmas and b-days). I agree, schools don't teach any of that. But that is the parent's responsibility anyway. I shy away about talking about my upbringing since so many were definitely worse off. My life made me stubborn as heck. I don't know if that makes me self-centered (which I hope not). My escape from reality is online.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56248.57
ETH 2324.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34