You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is our generation self-centered and entitled?

in #life8 years ago

Yeah I had a super poor mother who was neglectful and no father until 12 and then when I met him was horrifically abused by him so I had to work super hard to get ahead but even so, I know that so many people in the world have it much worse and literally cannot escape the abuse or cannot, no matter how hard they work, eat enough. D:

And yeah, many young people I do think take it for granted. I think parents need to teach their kids more of these things, in general. The school system most certainly isn't going to do it. It is up to the parents. I am not a parent though so I don't know anything about how to do that.

Sort:  

I have a teenager who has been taught at an early age, that if you want something you have to work for it. If he wanted a particular toy, he had to do chores to earn money (except for Christmas and b-days). I agree, schools don't teach any of that. But that is the parent's responsibility anyway. I shy away about talking about my upbringing since so many were definitely worse off. My life made me stubborn as heck. I don't know if that makes me self-centered (which I hope not). My escape from reality is online.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62226.04
ETH 2440.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63