The crushing weight of student debt!

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Tonight I feel like writing about student debt, yeah that lingering amount of money you owe that never really seems to get smaller.

The one that I tend to forget about and then jumps out and smacks me in the face when I look at my bank account.

It really kills me that we live in an era where we have to go into debt in order to learn. Studying is already a tough task but it gets insurmountable when you add financial stress on top of it. Plus, when you finally get a job (which really isn't a garantee, even with the degree's) and you want to start your adult life, your held back because of the enormous amount of money you owe.

Of course, I get that it could be worst and that I should be grateful that I had the chance of attending university, but still all of my gratitude won't pay back what I owe.

I kind of regret not having worked as much as I could of in order to pay more than I borrowed, but then again I don't even know if I would've been able to earn good grades with a full time job on top of my studies.

I guess that's also why I want to share my knowledge with as many people possible, because I don't think it should be something reserved for those who can pay or borrow to acquire it. Information should just be shared with everyone.

I heard my boss say the other day how happy he was that he finally ended up paying his last student loan payment!

At least my boss lived to see the day, not even sure I'll have that luck !

Anyways, thanks for letting me blow off some steam tonight and feel free to chime in and let me know how you've been dealing with student debt!

Sort:  

Yep, this is a big deal. I had $20k in student loans. After two years of being a crazy work person AND some family help, they were payed off. It can be done. However, "Stay positive and work hard" as our parents would say, is probably not the answer. Be angry instead......Be angry at what the situation is.....Be angry at yourself....Rage against the Machine......SLEEP. Wake up and sit down with a pad and paper + coffee or tea, to write down your goals for the next 6 months. Take pictures at the Zoo. PowWow with friends and reconnect with others . Walk a dog at a shelter. Go visit a relative you haven't seen for twenty years. Look back and readjust the list. It will have changed and you will see a new paradigm. Yep, the money you owe is still there. Now, breathe and act on you beliefs.

Wow, I love your response. Funny and inspiring ; ) I try to live the rage when it comes up but I don't fuel it. I let it out and move on. I am definitely all about goals and taking advantage of the littles things now. Yeah now, because when I was younger I'd let financial insecurity take over and ruin me. Not anymore. I realize money isn't all there is and yeah, I've got debt but I'll pay it back in time and during that time I will live my life to the fullest as much as possible with the money I have.

IN that regard, I wouldn't be able to help. My grandmother had set aside funds for my Cegep and High School years, which my mother used. When I had credit card debts, my mom had a seceret stash of mutual funds for all of us, so that helped clear it up. Otherwise, no super huge college fees and no debts. In Canada it's quite different too, because we can go to Cegep and never go to University, which is what I did.

If you get a bit of money that you can invest in Crypto maybe, and let it grow for a bit, then that could help, but you would have to research which crypto would be suitable for something like that on a medium-term.

Good luck! Debts suck, interests are not interesting and taxation is theft. And we live in a system that exploits that.

You're lucky you didn't have to deal with this. I am happy for you. I hope I get to do the same if I have kids later on. My mom helped me the best she could but I also decided to continue studying after cegep so the bill's just kept coming!

It's definitely a good idea to invest in Crypto, but I honestly don't know how yet. I'll start looking into that for sure! Thanks!

Yeah, crypto investments can help. There are a lot of good sources out there, especially on Steemit, where we can find information about investing. I'm sure a bunch of good posts will pop up in the search bar about the topic. I wish you the best of luck.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60842.02
ETH 2699.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44