Listening to Hear

in #life6 years ago (edited)


Image Source


While enduring the torment of my most recent public humiliation life lesson doled out by the universe, I had ample time to contemplate some ideas that had been swimming in and out of my consciousness recently. One of those ideas was a restaurant that sells variations of creations from the skin of fried chicken. I must admit that not all of the ideas that meander through my head should be considered for any length of time. Another of the ideas was about how we, as a society, have become increasingly guilty of listening to others in order to prepare our response as opposed to listening to others to hear what they have to say.

When I think back to the life-altering conversations I've had in the past, the ones that where the foundations of relationship breakthroughs, each and every one of them involved both parties intently "hearing" what the other had to communicate and then expressing themselves back in an open, honest way without fear of judgement and confident the other party was truly "hearing" them as well.

Image Source Pixabay

Most people familiar with the blueprint for effective communication will attest that the art of communication has a set structure and that following that structure is more likely to result in the desired results being reached. To say that communication is a two-way street is a monumental understatement. Communication is comprised of multiple steps and attributes that would be impossible to cover in just one post. The goal of this particular piece is to impart the information that listening and speaking are integral parts of communication. One party must formulate an idea that they want to transmit to the other party. Then they must effectively communicate that idea through the use of words and body language. Most people consider this to be the pattern for communication, but to ensure that your communicating effectively, it is imperative that the message reaches the other party and that they receive and process the message properly to ensure the idea was not lost in their translation of the idea. One way the transmitting party can confirm this is by asking, "Do you understand my point of view?" and then waiting for their response and clues, verbally and non-verbally, that they have received the message. The party receiving the message can confirm the proper reception by saying,"If I understand you correctly, you are saying.........." and then repeat your understanding of their idea. If both sides are seeing clearly, eureka, we have hit communication gold! If there are still misunderstandings, then the process can begin again.

Image Source Pixabay

This is were listening to hear becomes so crucial. In order for the message to be formed, sent, and received properly, it is of the utmost importance that the person receiving the message engage in active listening and sincerely concentrate on listening to hear the message that is being attempted as opposed to listening to form a response. Far too often, we allow our pride and ego to enter the equation by fighting to make sure what we want to be heard overpowers the courtesy of truly listening to the other party express their ideas and feelings. If you are so bent on making sure you get your say, you are likely missing out on the messages being sent my the other party. At this point, you are in a futile tug-of-war with the other party for message dominance. There can be no resolution to conflict until active listening is being practice by all parties involved. Have the respect and self-assurance to really hear what is being communicated to you. You never know, you may be closer to a resolution than you may think.

Throughout my career, I have been to dozens upon dozens of classes on communication and speaking. I didn't fully understand the practice of the theories until I opened myself up to hearing what my wife was saying about the importance of communication and that messages were transmitted and received properly between people working on an issue. Truly hearing her wisdom on the practical use of the communication theories was a game changing revelation to all areas of my relationships, business, social, and personal. We may not always agree on a subject or path to take, but we very rarely have issues with our relationship because of differing opinions. Communication is the key to successful relationships and listening to hear is pivotal in effective communication. Thanks for reading and keep steeming!


All photos and videos are my own creation unless otherwise noted.

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

MAN CAVE_FINAL.jpg


All That Is Gold Does Not Glitter,
Not All Those Who Wander Are Lost
-Tolkien

Sort:  

This is great @papacrusher! Also, very helpful. Interpersonal communication is definitely not my strong suit and this post has given me more motivation to do something about it.

Thanks for the feedback @paulboeck, it is so great to see you here! Can't wait to read some of your content!

Great post there are many that are good talkers but so few that are good listeners

I'm sorry, what were you saying? lol

I agree. I really try to be an active listener and to work towards hearing the messages being sent, but there are definitely times all I can think about is what a great comeback I'm going to have when they quit blabbing.....I'm a work in progress!

@papacrusher LOL I to am a work in Progress, and am the same as you often I have a reply in my heard just waiting for a break, and often they can be what I call witty Others my think differently hence the couple or Shirts about Sarcasm I got one Xmas LOL

Sarcasm is a dying art, my friend. If it could be measured I'm sure I would have a masters and working on a phd!

@papacrusher LOl the same for me and would be the only masters I have LOL

There is definitely an art to listening carefully. Your suggestions, though (such as rephrasing with, "I understand you correctly...") are great ideas! Thanks for sharing this with #steemitbloggers 😊

Thanks for coming by and for the compliment. It is very much appreciated!

Indeed, currently, more people listen only to respond. I think one of the factors that contributed to that upbringing is the practice of debates. While debate in itself is not bad, since it is supposed to be for intelligent discussions of pros and cons of certain scenarios, but sometimes, in our desire for one side to win, we develop this habit of hearing only to think up a response that is in favor of our idea.

Excellent observation. Debate competitions strive fir one side winning as opposed to the exchange of information. Thanks for coming by.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64555.14
ETH 3086.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85