FINALLY, THE SOLUTION THAT I'VE BEEN LOOKING FOR!

in #life6 years ago

IMG_2518.JPG

Sometimes when you have a project in mind, you've just got to wait for the right idea to fully manifest itself.


This was a fun one that I've been brainstorming on for a while. It took some time, but eventually the right solution came to me, and it looks like it is really going to work. Check it out!

"MY SOLUTION" VIDEO

THE BACK-STORY AND SOLUTION!

Last year, we finally grew our first birdhouse gourds ever! We had wanted to for years and finally got around to it. In my typical style, I wanted to find a natural way to hang these dried gourds to use as birdhouses. I did not want to use wire or manufactured string, so I had to think outside the box.

My first thought was to make some homemade cordage out of some sort of plant fiber, like Stinging Nettle as I demonstrate above. However, plant fibers can deteriorate rather quickly when they are exposed to the elements. While I am not sure how long the birdhouse gourd itself would last outside in the elements, I'm guessing that within two years my homemade nettle cordage would break. Ultimately, I was hoping for a longer lasting option.

Thankfully, we've been shearing sheep lately and saving their fiber. A friend is planning on teaching the @little-peppers how to spin their own wool, so we are looking forward to that. While we were waiting, I had an idea. Wool cordage! I could make my own cordage out of wool, which would last longer than if I made it out of plant fiber!

IMG_2509.JPG

Sure enough, I was soon cranking out some wool cordage. This stuff is raw too, as I did not wash, clean, or do anything else to the wool. I just used the same process that I demonstrated above with the stinging nettle but substituted the sheep wool.

IMG_2514.JPG

Now we have an attractive, yet raw and natural, way to hang our birdhouse gourds! In the future I may begin to woodburn designs in them too, but for now we are going "all-natural!" So, what do you think? They are simple, functional, and homemade at least, which was technically what I was going for.

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:

IMG_2504.JPG
proof-of-solution

Until next time…

GIF provided by @anzirpasai


FOR MORE PAPA-PEPPER CONTENT, CHECK ME OUT ON SOLA


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

Good idea. It's looks natural and brilliant.

Thanks, I like to keep it simple, but make it worthwhile.

That was incredibly smart Papa. Couldn't watch tbe threading video, but managed to watch the gourding one. It's always nice to think outside the box. Whatever solution we seek, it is always closer to us than we think, if we are open, and wouldn't get worried or weighed down by it. Nice one Papa.
Nice Camou jacket.

Over and out.

Thanks @olawalium! I appreciate your encouragement!

Wow that's pretty cool. I could see those gourd birdhouses selling well at craft fairs. Add the cordage like that and they're doubly cool looking.

I may have to offer some up at craft fairs or similar venues! Thanks!

They're "as gourd as gold!" lol

pretty cool what you can do when you put your mind to it @papa-pepper.

Did you think about using horse hair? I hear that is really strong and robust just an idea. :)

Horse hair may be a good idea... but I don't have any horses... although I do have 16 sheep!

I think that birdhouse is a great idea, and in harmony with nature, the birds will be like in their own nest

It does look in harmony, doesn't it? Thanks @salomonca!

Its so cool how you are able to build all these things. I have no DIY skills what so ever. :)

At least you can enjoy mine then Brother! Thanks man!

papa this will work weldon for the research you are a mentor to me thank GOD i finally meet you

I think it is pretty good. That is a nice idea

Thanks, it looks like it will work out!

Great idea, but the birds will be happy about this new home!

I hope that they will be happy about them!

Great solutions come to those who wait. 😉 Nice work once again!! Now let’s see some birds enjoying those luxury homes you have made.

We will see if they enjoy them! Thanks man!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60526.80
ETH 2335.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53