BEHOLD – OUR STEEM-POWERED SHIPPING CONTAINER

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Purchased with SBD!


Now, this wasn’t a direct trade, but I did cash out some SBD and convert it to USD which I used to purchase this shipping container. Since we have had a storage unit for almost two years and since we wanted on site storage anyway, we thought this was the way to go.

In our struggle to fight against recurring bills, getting rid of the storage unit is a must. These shipping containers can come in handy, and they can always be sold later if they outgrow their use.

FINALLY!

We had been wanting one of these for a while now. If we would have bought it even a few months back, it could have saved us hundreds of dollars on our storage unit rent. After shopping around, the guy we went with was about $500 less than anyone else we could find. Many are selling for $3000 or more in our area.

However, there was a slight waiting game, since the guy we got ours from had sent most of his trucks to Texas to help out with Hurricane Harvey… and then to Florida to help out with Hurricane Irma. When I got the call Monday saying that they should be able to get one to me on Wednesday, I was excited. Then, when I got the call on Tuesday saying they could get me one in a few hours, I was busy, but certainly willing to accommodate.

IT’S NEVER EASY!

Here you can see the shipping container being dropped in a spot that is not where I wanted it. Actually, this isn’t even on my property!

You see, the guys loaded it on the trailer backwards. They even specifically asked which way I needed it facing when they dropped it, but still put it on the other way.

Since they were only trying to drop one for me, only a driver came. Normally they have a crew for things like loading a container. If you’re wondering why I’m in the driver’s seat of the guy’s truck and why my helpful neighbor (who’s also the father of @jaguarlife) is on top of the trailer with the controls, it’s because we had to make up the missing manpower needed to drop and reload the container.

HOME SWEET HOME

Eventually, we got it facing the correct direction and reloaded. The 20 second video above is one that I made as we were finally moving it to the land.

After all the work that I put in, it was great to have the shipping container finally on site. @Grandpa-pepper had helped cut down trees in this area, the @little-peppers had picked rocks, and @bluerthangreen helped me level off a site for it.

In fact, @bluerthangreen even came over to help me make some minor adjustments. I guess moving the shipping container a few feet this way or that way may not seem very minor, but now I know how to operate a front end loader with a backhoe attachment, remember?

Yup, I was in good company and hard at work with the necessary tools to get the job done. It’s such a blessing to have such friends and equipment available!

A FAMILY AFFAIR

Always being ones to observe and learn, the @little-peppers lined up some chair nearby so that they could watch the action. These are the memories that will stick with them in the years to come.

Not only did the @little-peppers make their way down, the lovely @mama-pepper did too! In fact, she took a lot of the backhoe photos. Soon, @papa-pepper and her will be sorting through a lot of our older possessions and seeing what makes its way into the container.

My family wasn’t the only people watching, check out @bluerthangreen. That guy can supervise like a boss! LOL! Actually, he’s the one with the know-how on a lot of stuff; I’m just another tool that he uses to get the job done.

THE LIFE-CHANGING REALITY OF STEEMIT

Not all that long ago, @papa-pepper had no clue about social media, the internet, blogging, or cryptocurrency. I set out to learn more and apply what I learned, and, thanks to steemit, now things like this are possible.

Personally, I highly favor selling SBD to convert to fiat because there is less potential of exponential growth in value than there is with STEEM.

What you have just seen above is a huge difference made in our lives because of the opportunity that steemit offers us.

Before I give you my short, "If I can do it, you could too" speech, I will mention that it has taken me an incredible amount of effort and a lot of time invested in steemit to be able to receive the kind of rewards that made this purchase possible. However, as you can clearly see, dreams have become a reality to thanks to steemit!

Anyway, yesterday was obviously a busy and eventful day for us. In the end, it was a huge step forward. We’ll keep you posted as we continue to progress.

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-shipping-container



Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


GIF provided by @malos10


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

So, I was right with my guess yesterday.

I had been surprised that you had not received it before, but now I understand why hurricanes Harvey and Irma delayed the delivery.

Yeah, the original guy that I was going to get it from fell through, then we found this guy, and then we had to wait. To save $500, it was worth it.

Great Guess! You know me pretty well!

@papa-pepper.

Whenever i find myself in a new environment, i. Recoil into my emotional intelligence shield to evaluate successful people altitude and actions in the arena. When I came across your Monika, @papa-pepper, my instinct told me , stop this is one of them. Then I started following you and i should say you are a star. I am like the wise men from the East in the Judeo-Christian Bible, I know you will lead me to the light. Smiles. continue shining for us the newbies

This is wonderful, and I see how it is a great family affair. The little-peppers being put to work makes my heart sing as every hand needs to be used to make it work in a task like this. Makes me wish we had the land to be able to use a shipping container. Though, you mentioned once it outlives it's usefulness.

I have looked into many alternative options for shipping containers, and one of the most interesting ones I have found, is a year round hydroponics growing container, which could be powered by solar panels on the roof. The possibilities for these are endless, and I don't think you will run out of use for this puppy!

Yeah, personally, I think that we will always be able to use it!

Storage Fees Bye Bye
sun divider.png
Such a great idea to get a container if you have the need and space for it. Renting storage at a storage facility is useful in the short term but if you go past a year the benefits quickly diminish because you are basically paying to keep stuff that you don't need. Great to see the little peppers watching their papa operate the heavy machinery!

teamwork always works better.
Glad to know all pepper family work to get this done.

Sometimes it takes a lot of hands to get the job done, thankfully, we have a lot of hands.

i am also wish to buy and hold some steem.

Slap some solar panels on that thing and then set up some mining rigs :P best storage ever

Lots of space, 40 x 10 = 400 sq. ft minimum.

40 x 10 x 12 = 4800 Cubic ft.

thanks 4 sharing

Loving the little peppers watching you work!

Yeah, they get to take it all in!

wonderful update and great narrative on how you used your sbd to acquire this huge container at a good price i should say... all turns out for good to those who work hard and you deserve the best and many more coming your way...my first time seeing the beautiful @mama-pepper carrying the youngest of the @little-peppers
nice one dear... keep it up

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61440.52
ETH 3447.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52