TIL : TODAY I LEARNED HOW TO OPERATE A BACKHOE

in #til7 years ago

I've got to tell you guys, I'm kind of loving this!


Once again, amazing neighbors with heavy equipment are allowing me to get done what I need to get done, for free. A very kind, generous, knowledgeable, and busy neighbor, the father of @jaguarlife, showed me how to operate this backhoe today.

I'm sure if he had the time he would even offer to do all the work for me, but it makes more sense just to teach me and let me go, so I'll be set up for my future and he can get back to his business.

TIME TO LEARN PAPA!

Since I did spend some years operating a forklift, I have a bit of understanding about some machines, but all of this equipment (the skidsteer, tractor, stump grinder, and backhoe) is all brand new to me. Since we decided to go with a septic system, I'm uprooting all the trees in the area that I am preparing for it.

Sometimes, the backhoe can just be ran into the trees and knock them over. However, for the sinewy hickory trees and the large oaks, I have to use the backhoe to dig around the trunks and rip out the roots first. It takes some learning, but I am getting the hang of it.

BLESSED BEYOND BELIEF

To be able to "happen" to purchase some land right where I have so many loving, caring, generous, and helpful neighbors is a HUGE blessing. I can't even imagine how much renting all of this equipment would cost.

Yet, somehow here I am. Attempting to move forward with my life and this property, and yet without a clue about a lot of it. However, I am learning and it is paying off.

Today was a huge step forward, not just because I now have a backhoe that I can use and the training to properly operate it, but we had something else happen on our property. I'll post about that tomorrow, so stay tuned.

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-backhoe

Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


GIF provided by @malos10


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

Well, it is that time of year again.

I am guessing that you finally received your shipping container.

You shall wait to see my next post! (and you are very good at guessing too!)

I had to give this a FULL UP Vote because the closest I have ever come to what you did by operating a Back Hoe is playing with my TONKA Trucks in the backyard when I was like 7 or 8 years old. Great job playing with the Adult TONKA'S @papa-pepper......

Yeah, it was a lot of fun. Reminds of the scoop in the sandbox at some parks.

You bring up sad memories for me of the year I asked Santa for a backhoe, but instead got a front-end loader.

I dream of driving around in Tonka trucks. Sigh....I work a desk job(for now!)
Once again I find myself a little Jealous of @pappa-pepper!

Cheers! @rebele93

Don't forget that using grey water and humanure can give you so much more than a septic system ever could.

My kids asked the other day why cow, horse, and rabbit manure was good compost but human manure was not...

I explained that cows, horses, and rabbits didn't take pharmaceutical drugs and so their manure was good within a year or so while ours tends to take two years to get rid of the toxins that we willingly ingest. Another reason for this is that we humans often eat meats that are full of hormones that we were cannot process properly.

I guess what I'm trying to say is that you should seriously consider using your own waste to produce food rather than spending energy on a series of tunnels in the ground that will ultimately do little for you.

Of course, we have a septic system for my wife's peace of mind... and so have multiple acres to mow that could be better put to good use producing fruits and vegetables.

Like in The Martian? 😀 😃 😄 😁

Right, those are important things that can be done as well.

Haaaa @papa-pepper i don't like suspense especially from you. Now i will be hooked on steemit all day today waiting for the update what happened 😋 a good wait though as i Love your posts... Good job learning the backhoe....such a huge equipment but as you said different from your forklift experience.. i did mention you on my new post of today ...hope you don't mind! Thanks for sharing always

ahh..just coming online but still will rush and calm my curiosity... thanks...

Wow, I am extending my garden in my little village in the countryside in France, but I only use a shovel to get all the stones out of the ground before I can plant anything. There are many stones in the ground here in France. You are doing quite something else. That's way beyond my knowledge. I wish you luck and success!!

Why are there so many stones in the ground there? 😀 😃 😄 😁

Well, it's rocky over here, so when you dig in the ground you find all kinds of stones, big ones, and small ones. We made a pile of the big ones in our backyard.

Cool what colour are they? 😀 😃 😄 😁 😆

wow thats great new keep it up bro

Those things are so much fun! I've only had the pleasure twice in my life to operate it. I did horrible but it was still great having that much power in my hands.

So far so good on my end. Hopefully I'll stay safe!

hahah awesome! I think my brother would love this, as a kid he had a yellow toy one he always carried :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66785.29
ETH 3229.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30