A heart attack at 33 - damn it is scary how fast your life can change forever

in #life6 years ago

Recently I went on a  wonderful holiday to the South Pacific on the cruise ship Explorer of the Seas.  It was a wonderful trip full of sun and swimming (and the occasional drink or 7 :) ). A time where I finally felt like I was losing some of my stress from the last few years and actually thinking about and looking forward to the future, my future. 

After returning home and settling back into post cruise life. I feel ill with what I thought was your typical virus.  Little did I know, it was about to escalate. At first I thought I was getting better then suddenly I went downhill, on top of that I got a sinus infection.  Damn I felt like hell. 

So off to the doctors I went and antibiotics all round to fight of the infection and let my body get back to concentrating on the virus. When I thought i was over the worst of it and had returned to work, I went for a walk with some workmates to celebrate Christmas with a nice lunch at a local pub. Well damned if that wasn't the hardest walk of my life, I felt like I was walking through mud and it took me 30 minutes to recover from it. 

Weird I thought must just be the virus and the sinus infection burning my energy up. So I waited to see if I felt better after a nights sleep to recharge. Little did I know the virus had been doing a number on me and had actually inflamed my heart, triggering what I now know was a heart attack. 

What a kick in the pants it was. The next thing I know after an ECG and some blood tests, is that I have to go to the hospital immediately. Damn now it was getting scary. How could this actually be happening to me. 

So I spent a few days by myself in the hospital, trapped in my own head, worrying about whether my next breath was going to be my last. All the while listening to the lady in the next room (how was tripping bad on the sleeping pills they kept giving her) screaming out  'can you please help me, please can you help me' over and over again, like some creepy ghostly voice from a horror movie. 

Finally after the weekend of anxiety about what is happening, I was taken for an angiogram to investigate.  It was found that I had blocked artery, that had been that way for a bit and my heart had rewired with more blood vessels to make up for the deficit, so no stent for me as yet.  Well damn, my life just changed forever.

Now I find myself still in the midst of a recovery phase and barely able to walk more then a block, at least till I am healed enough to regain my strength.

I would love to hear from anyone that is going through a similar journey or has been through it and feels like they  have some wisdom to give on the subject.

I will try to post more about my journey back to health as it progress. I hope that you will join me in this as the support of the community would help me greatly. 

Thanks for taking the time to read my post. 


Sort:  

Man that will be scary. We wont expect something like that at the age of 33. It is good you got it early and did not get worst. I hope you will have a fast recovery

thank you for your thoughts. It has definitely been a rough few weeks especially being Christmas time. I feel very very mortal and humbled by the experience.

Wow, that brings me back to 5 years ago when I went to work with my father jiste and him alone on a Saturday, and by 11am I was rushing him to the hospital myself as he lay in the van passenger seat having a heart attack beside me. Everything worked out and he got his stents put in, but damn was that a scary trip! In the snow even.

That must have been scary. It was scary enough for me. They didn't give me a stent, going to try to manage it with medicine and lifestyle changes at the moment. Time will tell if I require more. I'm not looking forward to having another angiogram that is for sure. My wrist still hurts from where they cut me.

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious?
The @resteembot's introduction post
Get more from @resteembot with the #resteembotsentme initiative
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

All the best mate... wishes for a speedy recovery

Thanks for taking the time to read my post. I appreciate the well wishes. :)

Two wisdom nuggets:

  1. Give your life to Jesus Christ, he is a miracle working God, he can heal you completely and make you whole (Luke 17: 12-18).
  2. Add vegetables and fruits to your diet, they help a lot, just research on which fruits or veggies will have most beneficial effects for you.

I support you with my resteem service


Your post has been resteemed to my 3300 followers

Resteem a post for free here

Power Resteem Service - The powerhouse for free resteems, paid resteems, random resteems

I am not a bot. Upvote this comment if you like this service

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @paddygsound to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Wow scary
Glad that you are okay and hope you path to good health is successful!

thank you for your thoughts

Wow. I remembered when i saw my beloved grandmother suffered from this and i can see in her eyes the pain she is going through. Now all the pain was gone and she is now in heaven. We should all value life and second chances. God Bless to you and everyone.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.11
ETH 3576.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.78