What My Father Told Me #5: Be Open To Learn

in #life7 years ago (edited)

images (21).jpeg

(Disclaimer : Not Original Picture)

Chief Friday Onyema is my dad.
The very first chief in my community and a reknown leader. He served his people right, resolving their boundary issues with neighbouring villages, overseeing peace keeping missions and ensured peaceful coexistence in my hometown.

Growing up for me was a different story as compared to many of us. I was fathered by a man who had military exoerince and fought in the Nigerian-Biafran War. A man who believed so much in discipline and use much of it to shape my life.

Bht despite how tough my dad was, he was always open to learn. He stopped in standard six, though was brilliant and good knowing maths yet he didn't have the privilege to further his education.

So he somehow believed we the kids had something to teach him. He always pay attention when we are discussing things he has little or no knowledge about.

My dad told me that a teacher is not an elder person, or a richer person, but someone who has a better knowledge about a particular topic.

Dad said, "anybody can change your life. You gotto pay attention to every single thing happening around you, you just could be passing through a school".

He went on to say, that what defines us is not what we know but what we do.

So Be Wise and Get Into Action

unnamed.gif

What My Father Told Me! is a brand new series on my blog. I just hope you like it...

Do You Like This Post, Then Checkout Previous Episodes

What My Father Told Me #1

What My Father Told Me #2

What My Father Told Me #3

What My Father Told Me #4 : Laziness Is Suicidal


Have you ever received some level of financial freedom on steemit?

Do you belief the steem blockchain can wipe away poverty in the world?

Then join me as I wage a steem war against poverty

Join the tag "steemwaragainstpoverty"

Join our Discord Channel : Steem War Against Poverty

DQmWpisRXDF56mV3DgzzPUxb3R2ozseR48YVr2YKtwtrBcV (1).gif

Sort:  

Your dad is a very wise man!
So coincided that I posted a drawing of my mom in my blog.
Parents are our teachers who should be trusted!

Exactly. Thanks for your kind words...

Thank you for your post...

Congratulations!,@onyemacourage Your post has been upvoted by @reachout via the nigeria tag


Our goal is to support Minnows on Steemit. Join our discord group https://discord.gg/NWAkKfn
Proudly sponsored via SP donation from @eturnerx , @rufans & @solomon158
Upvotes Benefactor : @bleepcoin & the rest of us
###### Join Our Trail here: https://steemauto.com/dash.php?i=15&id=1&user=reachout
Curator On Duty: Richie, the Manual Bot (BETA)

## Also,We'd like invite you to the @eoscafe discord community https://discord.gg/wdUnCdE , be part of something great

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66852.45
ETH 2597.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66