What My Father Told Me #3

in #life6 years ago

images (15).jpeg

(Disclaimer : Not Original Picture)

Chief Friday Onyema is my dad.
The very first chief in my community and a reknown leader. He served his people right, resolving their boundary issues with neighbouring villages, overseeing peace keeping missions and ensured peaceful coexistence in my hometown.

There was a teacher in my school named Mr. Tommy. He was living in my compound as our tenant. Whenever we are to drive away from school due to school fees, my dad always inform him to plead with the school authority on his behalf for an extension.

Whenever Mr. Tommy confrots the school authority pleading on my fathers behalf, they will not drive me away from due to inability to pay fees.

One day, I was about writing my English test when the school cashier stepped into my class, called out my name among the debtors and asked me to leave the school. I was so disappointed and sad. I went to Mr. Tommy's office only to find out he traveled.

I just didn't want to miss the test, so I went to the cashier and told her my dad will pay my fees next week because my dad told me he'll pay next week. But she wasn't convinced, so I lied to her that my dad told Mr. Tommy to convey the message but it's unfortunate he's not around.

On hearing this, the cashier gave me a note to return back to my class. I was so happy and I went back to continue with my test.

On getting home, Mr. Tommy has reported this case and the allegation that he was informed by my dad to take an excuse for him. My dad was pissed and upset. He punished me lying and he said.

"...even though you did what you did to save yourself from mess, you did it the wrong way. Lying is equivalent to stealing, it is as a matter of fact, the author and finisher of theft. It propagates ,nurtured the mindset and go as long as shielding it from the sun."

My dad told me to be honest irrespective of what might happen when I tell the truth. He said, the truth might get you hurt, in trouble temporarily but lies puts you on eternal damage.

He said, you can only hold a lie for as long as nature wants you to. It will definitely be unveiled one day.

Stand With The TRUTH and it shall set you FREE

BE WISE


N/B: You can always take the decision to argue and not accept these concepts and ideologies. But please do that in kind and well articulated words.

unnamed.gif

What My Father Told Me! is a brand new series on my blog. I just hope you like it...

Do You Like This Post, Then Checkout Previous Episodes

  1. What My Father Told Me #1

  2. What My Father Told Me #2

Have you ever received some level of financial freedom on steemit?

Do you belief the steem blockchain can wipe away poverty in the world?

Then join me as I wage a steem war against poverty

Join the tag "steemwaragainstpoverty"

Join our Discord Channel : Steem War Against Poverty

DQmWpisRXDF56mV3DgzzPUxb3R2ozseR48YVr2YKtwtrBcV (1).gif

Sort:  

It takes strength to be honest especially when it will put you in trouble. Honestly, its not for faint in heart

Exactly. But we need to be honest at all times no matter what it might cost us @abeludotu

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60693.34
ETH 3032.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81