What My Father Told Me #4 : Laziness Is Suicidal

in #life6 years ago (edited)

images (17).jpeg

(Disclaimer : Not Original Picture)

Chief Friday Onyema is my dad.
The very first chief in my community and a reknown leader. He served his people right, resolving their boundary issues with neighbouring villages, overseeing peace keeping missions and ensured peaceful coexistence in my hometown.

"The day you took the decision to come to earth, that was the day you took the decision not to be lazy", my dad will always say. To my dad, it's a crime to sleep and or rest more than 8hours a day. He believes the remaining 18hours is designed for work.

I wonder what will keep you on bed till 6AM in my dads house. It's either you're sick or nothing. My dad believes life is journey full of struggle and huzzle. Laziness is suicidal. Quiting is death.

Dad told me, "if you must succeed, you must learn to put in more work and hold on just when it gets painful." Behind every pain is success. Pain is not the problem, pain doesn't mean we need to quit, it only advices us to adjust.

Laziness is suicidal, so we must avoid being lazy. We must do our job when we need to do it without considering how we feel about it.

unnamed.gif

What My Father Told Me! is a brand new series on my blog. I just hope you like it...

Do You Like This Post, Then Checkout Previous Episodes

  1. What My Father Told Me #1

  2. What My Father Told Me #2

  3. What My Father Told Me #3

Have you ever received some level of financial freedom on steemit?

Do you belief the steem blockchain can wipe away poverty in the world?

Then join me as I wage a steem war against poverty

Join the tag "steemwaragainstpoverty"

Join our Discord Channel : Steem War Against Poverty

DQmWpisRXDF56mV3DgzzPUxb3R2ozseR48YVr2YKtwtrBcV (1).gif

Sort:  

Behind every pain is success. Pain is not the problem, pain doesn't mean we need to quit, it only advices us to adjust.

I screamed in my head when I read this. Workaholism is a common factor among nigerian parents sha. I dont disagree wig ur dad or ur post, just feel like in our generation you can get more done and with less stress and more sleep if u want...

Thanks. I still belief working that he meant isn't necessarily mean utilizing our physical strength.

Mental work is equally needed...

He was absolutely right.. As no pain no gain...

Exactly. You just have to pay the price

Thank God for great dads like yours who'll always set you on track for a better future. you will succeed.

@uyobong thanks to you for reading this article. I pray it helps you as well...

Yeah it did. Stuffs like this pose a challenge to me to become an "ideal" father. Thank you for sharing it @onyemacourage

Laziness is suicidal. The day you took a decision to come to this world you took a decision not to be lazy. This means we don't even have a choice but to work hard. Funny truth is that laziness has zero positive impact in our life but we engage in its activity the most. It really a wake up call for those of us lazying around.
Awesome post

The wisdom of the African father cannot be neglected lest we lose the true meaning of the AFRICAN MAN. nice post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58211.02
ETH 2483.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37