What My Father Told Me #14: If You Can't Help Him Don't Spoil Him

in #life6 years ago

download (17).jpeg

Chief Friday Onyema is my dad.
The very first chief in my community and a reknown leader. He served his people right, resolving their boundary issues with neighbouring villages, overseeing peace keeping missions and ensured peaceful coexistence in my hometown.


On one of the evenings with my dad, he kept repeating these words, "If You Can't Help Him, Don't Spoil Him".

I totally didn't understand where that was coming from and the message he was trying to pass across. At some point, I asked him what he meant and then he explained...

He said, " When Someone is doing something wrong, reporting him isn't bad. But Claiming you're being loyal to him and trying to cover his ass and thus encourage him to do more is running him down and that is bad. But the worst is, If you can't help the person or involve someone to do so, yet you keep talking about him behind his back, sharing his weaknesses wighoht others who has no intention or power to help him"

My Dad totally discouraged us from gossip. He said, "Gossip is evil, it depicts hatred, all it ever does is further killing the personality of someone and not helping them rise again".

My dad said, "if you don't have the power go walk up to him to caution him and pull him back to the right path nor do you wish to report him to the right authorities who can do so without tarnishing his image and person, YOU HAVR NO RIGHT TO TALK ABOUT HIM".

These were the words of my father. Be Wise and Put them to Use. This has made me a better man to myself first, and then to the community at large


Be Wise

DQmfZoXUDraUghMkEQVJGXejkmqG8xx96QVuotaXYC3ka3v (1).gif


Do You Like This Post, Then Checkout Previous Episodes


Have you ever received some level of financial freedom on steemit?

Do you belief the steem blockchain can wipe away poverty in the world?

Then join me as I wage a steem war against poverty

Click the Image To Read More Articles on this

IMG_20180518_084759_966.jpg

Join the tag "steemwaragainstpoverty"

Follow Our Community Account @steem-army

Join our Discord Channel : Steem War Against Poverty

DQmWpisRXDF56mV3DgzzPUxb3R2ozseR48YVr2YKtwtrBcV (1).gif

Sort:  

"Instead of talking behind his back why not just say it to his face."

Alot will say 'its not my business' but i will say one way or another it is. If that person leads someone else astray it still seem not your business but this new bad fellow might end up leading yoir brother or sister astray. Now it has become your business (might take longer time) but if you have stopped him earlier it wont get that close. Now you stand the risk of getting your other siblings going astray too.

What a wise man you dad is. 💪 to all to wise dads out there wise enough to get their kids even wiser my dad too :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64448.82
ETH 2646.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77