Do you love strawberries?

in #life6 years ago

Hello all fruit friends.

After I have already started to report about apples and old apple varieties, I would like to tell you in the meantime about another fruit which is very popular in the world - the strawberry. Of course, I will continue my series on apples very shortly.

erd0.png
source editing @oneofsteem

The article starts with a historical and current background, of course, but here, too, as in the first two parts about the old apple varieties, I would like to discuss rare and particularly tasty German varieties.

Strawberries are a genus in the Rosoideae subfamily within the rose family (Rosaceae). It has been proven that the strawberry has been known since the Stone Age and that during the Middle Ages already the woodland strawberry was planted. But it was not until the 17th and 18th centuries that two strawberry varieties arrived in Europe. On the one hand the Virginia Strawberry also called Scarlet Strawberry, and on the other hand, the Chile Strawberry also called Beach Strawberry. These two varieties were more fruity than the woodland strawberry known in Europe.

Around 1750, the original form of today's garden strawberry was bred in Brittany, from which most varieties still originate today.

erd1.png
source editing @oneofsteem

The love and fascination of strawberry started about 20 years ago when my parents started planting strawberries in their garden. From the beginning, my parents didn't plant the common strawberry varieties, but they were interested in the old and original varieties. It was and still is a small celebration every time @anutu and I visit my parents and admire the beds with the strawberries.

It is a feast for all the senses and it is such a great pleasure to pick the fruits together, to nibble on them and then process them. We make strawberry juice, jam, bake pies and cakes and much more. But the strawberries taste best fresh, a little sugared and then with fresh whipped cream.

The cream in Germany has a fat content between 30% and 35% and is very good, but in the strawberry season, we always bring fresh cream from Malta, because it has 40% fat content - a culinary delight.

Hey, hope you like it and if you have time please, read my articles about old apple varieties! @oneofsteem

@oneofsteem@anutu
46da3bae-315d-4445-be29-3c1a0984bcbd.png
Sort:  

I didn't know there was so much to learn about strawberries. And to think you have posts about apples too. I'll be sure to check them out. I love all fruit and strawberries are my favourite by far.

Dear @juliamulcahy, very soon I'll try to continue with the stories about the apples and strawberries.

Good Night

Oh, look at that ... seems like we two have a lot of fun here :)
MHHHHHHHHH Strawberries ... I LIKE!

Liebster, es ist bald wieder Februar...

For everybody to know what we two are talking about: It's about strawberries and that we gonna have strawberries here already in February ... how cool is this!!!!

Yes, we're living in a paradise...

Erdbeer Februar, so gut, dass wir Erdbeeren hier schon so frueh bekommen :)

Congratulations @oneofsteem! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Steem Power, Followers and Following added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

WOW - that's great!!!

Strawberry grow it properly
Red and white are lovely
Those who eat will be happy
Your teeth white your body healthy

Nyum..nyum...

Hello, @pehteem thank you so much for your reply and this wonderful, cute poem...
And you're right there is a special variety of white strawberries but they are very rare.

Uhmm.. funny that sometimes I can find the online seller sell that white kind 😊 but I never bought for sure😅 there is no way I can grow strawberry, even grass is dead in my hand😆.. but I never found the white one at the super market too.

That's right, in Germany you'll never find them in a supermarket, because the problem is, that there are rare and it's very difficult to transport them...

Interesting article. Now you got me craving for strawberries and everything is closed already. 😂

PS: I have found your post because @audreybits featured you in her entry for the Pay It Forward Contest

Hello @trincowski, thanks so much for your reply.
Do you still have strawberries?
Here on Malta the strawberry season starts in February; our most famous place for strawberries is called Mgarr and they are medium sized and quite sweet.

Their season is coming to an end. They are becoming harder and harder to find. 🤨

Yes, too bad, we have to wait...

See you

Oh yum- you've got me begging for a bowl of strawberries with a dollow of extra-fatty cream from Malta ;)

I think the reduction in fruit varieties available to shoppers is so very sad- these old varieties are so full of flavour and offer so so much more than the over-bred homogenised common varieties the supermarkets stock these days.

Fabulous post.

E x

Hello Darling, thanks so much for your reply.

From February on there will be the first strawberries on Malta again - you are invited...
In the next parts of the story, I will tell you something about the tasty varieties and why they are not available everywhere.
And I still have to squeeze out our Maltese friends which varieties are especially worth mentioning here in Malta.

Ooh I look forward to the next part- and thanks for the invite :) My dad's obsessed with old apple varieties so I'll have to point him at your other posts - he'd love to check them out! E x

This sounds very interesting and I will write part 3 very soon...

image

Hmmmmmmm.... i am joining in too!!

Very well said @oneofsteem! You had just make an strawberry walk through for us.. hahahaha this is great! You know we dont have much strawberry around here but I have seen our plantation way up in the north and I had enjoyed picking them up. I love how you can serve it sooooo fresh and juicy.

I am nit really an strawberry kind of person, i only love to eat it when its fresh or made into ice cream or smoothies or shake or jams.. hahaha i am not a fan on strawberry cakes either..

Cheers to our drinks! 😍

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello Dear @maquemali, thank you for your reply.

Thanks to the suggestion of @audreybits I will post my favourite recipes here in the future and hope to inspire you also for strawberry cake.

Nobody here knows yet that I come from the north German city of Lübeck.
Our city Lübeck is THE capital for the world famous marzipan...

Fancy a strawberry marzipan cake?????

hmmmm... i have never ever tasted strawbeery marzipan cake??!!!! I am soooooooooooo sure I would love to take a piece of it. I could just imagone how dreemie it would be!!! Ahhhhhhhhhhrg! Now I am hungry!!!! Did you know im on a diet already! hahahahahaha oh gosh! You are a tempting me...

6df2ea53-b447-4338-bfd5-8253daa7479c-0102d06e-6045-4154-921a-48ca52915f78-v1.png

You can be curious. A report about marzipan is in progress.

Hmmmm... im just drooling imagining it..

Posted using Partiko Android

Let me have one strawberry smoothie please, i want the the scarlet strawberry kind! Hehehe

This is a good post @oneofsteem now I know a little background behind the fruit strawberry!

And let me just say i love both of your Bitmojis!! Yohoo @anutu you should put your bitmojis together i think it will be cute!!!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hello, thank you so much for your answer and it makes me happy that you enjoyed strawberries too.
I wish I could delight you all with fresh strawberries, smoothies, cakes and shakes. Let's see, at some point the time will come...

We will need all these cakes for the long-awaited day when we have our WW meetup! hahahahaha

i will pass on the cake though - i can't have the gluten. I'll just take extra strawberries and cream please! :)

Hahahahhahah, he surprised me with that ... still in the meeting ... he ran in and out and I had to answer while all the people were around me ... imagine ... you are in a business meeting and talk about bitmojies and strawberries .... lololololol ... that was so funny @twodorks

hahhahahaha well he told us... he is the Prince! LOLOL

so of course - this is his birthright! hahahahahaha i love it! hehehehehehehe

Yes, he is indeed ... hihihihi!

Congratulations @oneofsteem! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Resteem and Resteemed added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Thanks again and again...

Very exquisitely supported post - both by words and images. I guess, this makes me one of your devoted followers. Happy to have you among us!

Oh, no, now I'm blushing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98