From Hermit Life to Social Butterfly #1 - Confessions of a Hermit

in #life7 years ago

Hello Steemit Friends!

Since the day I first joined Steemit, I have been having a lot of fun making posts about all of my drawings, random projects, and weirdness, despite being a little nervous about putting my life in the spotlight. 

Right now, I am sitting in Barnes and Noble drinking a small black coffee and taking selfies of myself in public. (I'm still trying to get used to taking pictures of myself with people around.)

Lately, I have been having SO many ideas and projects flooding my mind and I wanted to share them all with you! I'm super excited. Sometimes when I'm alone at home, if an exciting idea comes to mind, I gasp and jump to my feet to start walking around my house, like one of those scientists you see in movies. When I'm in public, I work on keeping my composure which typically consists of me laughing to myself like a creep. (I try to pretend like I'm coughing so I can hide my smile with my hand/arm.)

Alright! So, if you haven't already guessed, I'm a weird introverted person, but when I'm excited about something, I become bubbly. It doesn't take long for me to become embarrassed enough to crawl back into my shell, which happens often when I'm writing posts for Steemit. I tend to make excuses about why I shouldn't post:

"My content isn't good enough."

"My camera still takes fuzzy pictures, sometimes."

"I'm socially awkward."

It's a war zone in my mind. Eventually, I convince myself to post again and I am grateful when I do, because then I get to engage in conversations with all of you and make new Steemit friends! 

About my Hermit Life:

I don't look like a hermit, but sometimes, I sure do act like one. It is a little embarrassing to say (what isn't embarrassing for me?), but when I was younger, I spent most of my time in a closet. I wasn't forced to be in a closet. Rather, I chose to sleep, eat, and live in my closet because I wanted my own personal space, being that, I was the only girl living with my brother and my dad. At that time, we lived on the second floor in a house that had only one bedroom.

I was a strange child, especially since I wasn't really taught manners and did not have much interaction with people; I had little to no sense about what was and wasn't proper to do in public. It may have been okay when I was a child, but this also carried into my preteen and teenage years. 

I stared at people, observing their clothing to the smallest detail, texture, color, and style. I listened in on their conversations, watched them speak, and took note of their little quirks. I made no facial expressions other than my effortless blank stare. 

(Left to right: my brother, my cousin, and me.)

At the store, when I was about six or seven, people often looked down at me and smiled. I would blankly stare back as I walked past with my arms crossed, and turning to my dad, I would ask, "Why are people smiling at me?"

To this, he would reply, "Because you're cute."

"Tch, no."

Unfortunately, the only times I was taught how to interact with people was when I was mocked. I remember one day answering the phone, "What do you want?"

When my brother heard this, he laughed and said, "Sabrina, normal people say 'Hello' when they answer the phone."

I said 'Hello' from then on.

Where am I going with all of this? Well, it's my short explanation about why I'm on the weird side and why I'm sometimes too shy to post on Steemit, but also, because I wanted to share how it all changed.

I'm still an introvert; I "recharge" when I spend time alone. However, about seven years ago I was invited to do bible studies and go to church. I said no, at first, but eventually I went and decided to become a Christian. My first time attending a church service with about 120 people was like having culture shock, except, in my case, it was more like social shock. I didn't know what to do with myself, so, you know what I did? I sat myself down somewhere away from the crowd, and wrote in a journal. Everyone is walking around and talking, and there I was, writing and trying to drown out my surroundings.

It took a while, but now, seven years later, I am doing much better with holding conversations. I attend many social gathereings: Halloween parties, dance parties (I am still awkward here since I don't know how to dance. I just try to blend in with the wall), hangouts with friends (I have friends now), weddings, church services (I don't hide in the bathroom anymore), and I'm living in reality (I don't spend the day travelling to places in my head). As you can see in my blog, I don't sit in the dark in my closet anymore. 

(This is a picture we took at a wedding.)

(There were about 1000 people at this conference) 

(I'm at the top left holding a stick. I injured myself, so someone found a stick to help me walk.)

Future Projects: 

There are tons of other awkward things I still do, but I am working on it! But now, onto the exciting projects! 

First, of course, I would like to post more on Steemit, despite how anxious it makes me feel. Second, my goal is to work on being more comfortable talking to strangers and taking pictures in public. To do this, I will be interviewing strangers and taking pictures with them to make a post about it on Steemit. It will also expose me to different kinds of lifestyles and cultures (which I know very little about).

Third, I will continue to work on my drawing and panda comics, but, I am also planning on adding a Steemit Scrapbook for each year! I had a lot of fun making scrapbook page for my lovely friend Sylvie, so I wanted to start making a scrapbook page for each post I make on Steemit. Especially my crazy posts.

I know this post was kind of long, but I wanted to be honest and open about where I'm at in life because that's how we can become Steemit friends! (At least, that's how I think we can be friends.) 

ʕ •ᴥ•ʔThanks for joining me!ʕ •ᴥ•ʔ

~Sabrina~ 

Sort:  

This is such a great post Sabrina! Thanks for your honesty and openness. I get it. I am also an introvert who has learned to interact well with the world ;) It's a good life we have.

Yes, I think another lesson gathered from @omega-not is that people, regardless of their upbringing, can learn to be social, and learn to love all sorts of people. In fact, in a healthy church, this desire will be instilled in every member it time.

Yeah, definitely! I always share about the ways that my life has been changed to other people who are introverted like I am.

Thanks Denise, it is a good life! It might be strange to say, but I'm really glad to be out of my comfort zone and interacting with many kinds of people and doing many kinds of things. I've definitely learned a lot from other people.

It is great to see and read how much you have grown over the years. God is transforming you from a talented person to a talented person with impact! It is inspiring to hear about your journey, both in the mind and in the actions of daily life.

Thanks Joe ^-^

Awesome. You're really living your life!
All the best, we're all listening and reading~
PS: I prefer your 'What do you want?' over the boring 'hello' hahaha!

Aye! I am and it's been really great! I can't even begin to list all of the new things I've learned by just pushing myself to go outside of my comfort zone.
Lol, of course you would!!! I was a crazy kid.

Haha.
You know you could write another article on that itself - how pushing yourself out of the comfort zone helped you!
Motivation motivation motivation!
P:

That's true! Maybe in the future lol. I've been hanging out in the steemit market place lately, buying and selling steem for profit. O.O I was thinking about writing an article about that and how video games taught me how to play around in markets.

Wow, didn't see that coming!
How's the trade going so far?

I only did it for one day. It went okay. The problem is, I don't have enough Steem/SBD to play around with to make a larger profit.

That's how it all starts right - you start slow, learn the techniques and boom! Suddenly you're earning billions lol
(pssst, if you happen to hit a lottery, invest that prize money in this P:)

Trading is fun when you're winning, I had used my dad's demat account to do some real life stock market trade thingy and did earn around $40 hehe. Happy days.

Lol, I'm not sure about billions, but I'm excited to enter the markets again soon after some more payouts. This seriously reminds me of all the video games I played in highschool, Runescape, Maplestory, and Diablo 2. I think I started playing Diablo 2 when I was 11.

Where are your new posts on your blog?! :p

This is great post and professional life...
Thanks @omega-not your posting,
vote and resteem.

Thanks @goldcoin, I really appreciate the comment and the support.

Thanks for letting us into your life. I hope steemit keep helping you . Continue putting yourself out there.
Thanks for this post.

Thanks @catagossier, I will definitely persevere and continue to work on it. :)

Congratulations @omega-not! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

It is hard to open up at first. What will people think? Will they like what I post? Just be yourself and speak from the heart, like you did here!

It is! You forgot the post-questions, "Should I have posted that? Was that post weird? Is there any way to delete it now?" Lol, I will continue working on it. I'm grateful for your support :)

Humorous writing.upvoted...by the way u look really cute in ua childhood picture!!! Do check out my new post too....

Thanks @caffienecoated ^-^ I'll have to since you have caffiene (caffeine I'm guessing?) in your name. I love coffee. Its 4:30p now and I'm going to go get a nice iced coffee since I'm suffocating in this heat!

I love coffee too..... I kw its a late reply bt yeah.....😂😂😂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 60212.78
ETH 2902.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42