THE JOURNEY OF AN ORPHAN STEEMIAN INTO ADULTHOOD- THE BLOCKCHAIN SIDE OF THE STORY

in #life7 years ago

Image Source

"The most empty promises are the ones made by the Graveside at a burial..."

Before technological evolution there was live, and beyond the Blockchain Technology we had survived. Though how some of us had survived remained a mystery up till date, hope was lost and many things that made life meaningful were taken away from some individual. This is my own side of the story, imprinted onto the Blockchain.

Surviving back then, before our eyes were opened to so many things was a little primitive and maybe somewhat harder, if there had been Steemit while i was growing up (With all my childhood creativity), maybe i would have score a PhD at a very tender age or be a professor in Engineering by now, because i would have had enough funds at my disposal to get the best of educations for myself. Unfortunately, i am not a practicing Electronics and Telecommunications engineer anymore.

Growing up as a little fatherless boy, with my dear mama doubling as Mom and a Dad; because she never remarried after her husband passed, she remain married to us her three boys!

Quote Source

The only father figures i had were my two elder brothers @peman and immediate brother who we are still trying to get his ass on steemit. "Kid Daddies" as i make fun of them now, this guys filled up that roll to take care of me when mama was on a trip or at work, when she was still alive hustling to take care of her three musketeers.

We got nobody, no help from family members nor friends, although thousands of promises were made at the graveside when my dad was been covered with sand and gravels in his freshly dug Grave. Empty promises are best made at burials, one thing i have grew up to learn from stories and personal experiences.

Image Source

I was a toddler when my dad passed away; two days to my 3rd Birthday, and now am a little above 30 years and that has hindered me from celebrating my birthdays- something i will still blog about.

It's was long dark days, where my mama cried and needed shoulders to cry on when life become so extremely harsh on us. But all she got was the Trio- The Bother Bears- Band of Tiny Little Brothers; you could call us a more befitting name when you come up with one!

My mama had a Philosophy; which was, she would rather not buy cloths for herself nor use jewelries than for her boys to go homeless unkempt and uncared for, one of the major reason she decided not to get another husband, sacrificing her love life and Romance for her beloved boys.

So she became our dad and the same time carrying out mama duties; part of the reason i have one of the Toughest mothers for myself both alive and beyond.

Feeding, bills payment, education, clothing (even though i had few cloths when i was younger) were the burdens on her shoulder, and she carried these loads even if requiring loans from people and firms; she did on several occasions just to give us a life different from the ones she had seen on Televisions and heard in news.

At some point in time, i was a little older than 8 years. Things got so worse that for a huge chunk of time the boys were not feeding well because mama never got paid for almost 6 months at a stretch, no money for the boys school fees, no money for food. We had to improvise in our feeding routine, a balance diet was like winning a lottery.

Clothing is something i wouldn't want to talk about because only someone who had good meals will think of changing raiment!

It was a very agonizing Childhood as mama had to decide between feeding well and getting us clothings, we all know kids will always love new sets of cloths and toys, but as smart kids we never gave mama additional headache with all that.

Mama was a teacher, so home schooling saved the boys intellectual prowess to some extent, no money for text-books and educational materials but mama always figure a way out of it all.

On several occasions, the boys tried so much to help mama out in our own little ways by doing some chores, but still doesn't make differences. We never complained about whatever we get, because that was our only little way of appreciating and motivating mama's efforts.

A verse from the Holy Bible:

Because i rescued the poor who cried for help, and the fatherless who had none to assist them....Job 29:12

This scriptural verse quoted above proves more of the supernatural on many occasions when all hopes had been lost, because helps always spring forth from nowhere in almost all our dire moments.

There was a time we had nothing to eat at home, we been without food for almost two days and i recall my mom doing some spring cleaning, clearing out an old cabinet. She had cleared almost all the books and magazines when a 100 Naira Bill fell out of the last pile of books she lifted out of the cabinet.

The boys ran to the room when we heard her shrieked, getting to her we saw her weeping and smiling the same time. This was over 22 years ago, many might be wondering what that little amount could have done. But believe me sincerely the economy of my country was not as dead like now so that currency bill bought us food and we got our meals for more than a week.

Miracle huh? or just a saving-trick?...we never found out up till now!

Many religion laid great emphasis on the Orphan, fatherless and the widows on many occasions; and till date this set of peculiar people me inclusive are in multitude and remains very important/delicate part of our modern world.

Shedding more light on those darker days bring tears to my eyes and am very sure to my brother @peman when he read this; reason been that, this is not a happy ending story as my dear mom left us to the great beyond a couple of years back after ushering us into Adulthood.

My dear Felicia never saw her Grandchildren, the deep scar inside of me that won't heal!

PS- If this post i made as a memorial unto the Blockchain makes a considerable amount, it will be used to put marbles and a monument on her Grave!



UPVOTE, RESTEEM, FOLLOW AND MAYBE DROP A COMMENT.....It's your friendly Neighbor @oluwoleolaide for Steem-Lagos-Nigeria-Africa-World!


Sort:  

Great writeup. Really love it. Resteemed.

Thanks @evelyniroh...i appreciate

My mama had a Philosophy; which was, she would rather not buy cloths for herself nor use jewelries than for her boys to go homeless unkempt and uncared for

You just defined my mom in a sentence. I know you will miss her and your dad a lot. I know how it feels bro, thank God you found your path here. God be with you my good friend and regards to @peman

This means a lot to me dear brother, bless you bro...

Your mom left a huge legacy in you and your siblings. I'm so excited that with crypto and the Steemit platform, financial stability is available to all who choose to participate. I hope you get enough upvotes to get a special monument. <3

I adore you @karencarrens , this means a lot to me......

Oh @oluwoleolaide, you just made me tear up... my eyes are leaking.

Upvoted and Resteemed by xx-votesplus, the dropAhead curation team!

Do you want more earnings?

By doing things above you will give us more STEEM POWER (SP) to give you more earnings.

Keep up the good work!


Most recent post: It is official, WE are witnesses!

Hmmm... Sorry bro,.. I partly know how it feels ... May their souls continue to rest on....

Amen and Amen bro,i appreciate this immense love...

May her soul rest in peace. I know what it's like to lose a mother not to talk of losing both parents. Well i think your parents will be proud when reading this post from the great beyond ( if that's ever possible). Stay blessed and strong bro.

Bless you my bro, i deeply appreciate this....One love

Wow! very emotional writeup. i would never fully comprehend, i still have both parents and i know i do not appreciate them enough. I was hoping for an happy ending, story about how mama is basking in luxury but life is bitter-sweet. The good part is every experience thus far has prepared you for this moment, for the life you are living. I know mama is proud of y'all.

So sweet of you @icontola, am lucky to have you here😊

Bless her soul and the boys she left behind...

Amen my dear friend...

What a good mum you had

You are not doing bad, and you will do more better than what you are doing good currently.

I adore you courage to write this.

Don't let me get emotional future than this bro.

God be with you

Amen dear @honourmaus , this means a whole lot to me!

Great writeup, you have talent!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 61016.36
ETH 3388.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56