Journal Entry (3); Blockchain Memory Project- "RELOCATION,A HARD PILL TO SWALLOW"

in #life6 years ago

image.png

Pixabay Image

This is my third entry into this project, if you are yet to key in then I must say you are missing out. To participate, click on this link; Blockchain Memory Project - Journal Entry (4) - Those We've Left Behind to read the rules and enjoy sharing your past memories both good, bad and ugly unto the Blockchain.

Am sad not to have pictures of my childhood anymore, still trying hard to track the few surviving albums from relatives

After losing my dad in 1988, things went sour for us as my momma was in a constant breakdown, of course, I get to know all about it much later when I was a bit more of a grown up. For hours in our teenage years, I keep asking about the proceedings after my dad's death and what happened afterward. Thankfully, my two brothers possess a very strong memory of any events that happened just like me, till date I still remember the faces of my bullies and the ones that are kind to me while growing up.

In early 1989, we had to relocate from Lagos to another city; the Ancient city of Ibadan. The reasons were in multiples, but I remember some of them and they are;

  • My momma was traumatized.
  • So she needed a change of environment
  • My Grandma of Blessed memory was a midwife in Ibadan City, and she wants to support her emotionally.
  • My Uncle Kenny and his twin sis would be a lovely companion and support for momma.
  • Things were cheaper in Ibadan e.g. House Rent, School Fees, food etc.
  • And momma wants to study more.

GIF from GIPHY

Breaking the news to the boys was hard, as the parking proceed some of my momma's friends and colleagues had to take the boys in, it was hard living that environment you were born and grew up but we had no idea the psychological implication of changing our base while momma was parking. A SMART way to get the boys prepare for life out of the neighbourhood and outside the city. Finally, after a week plus, momma had to come take the boys to our new home in the new city and I must admit, as young as I was things really suck. The boys all got sick few days to the New City, momma was scared because she didn't want anything to happen to her boys in the wake of her husband passing.

Prayer works, at least to those who still have some little faith left in them. My Grandma and my Momma were fervent Christians, so I remember how they keep taking us to church for prayers and intercessions and by my count, Prayer did work for the boys, we stop getting sick from environmental change and adapted to the new city so fast that I don't remember falling sick all through those years of relocation and with my brothers.

GETTING LOST

So after the relocation, and after the boys got familiar with our new location- at least getting lost a few times could be overlooked. My two brothers always come to pick me up after school at my new school and boy i must confess, after two terms (school semesters) we all still get lost on our way back home on several occasions. Not that we were dumb or not smart but due to some certain circumstances beyond our control as boys...Grinning!

FORAGERS AND THE SAVAGE DOGS WITH HERD OF CATTLE PROBLEM

So i want to be honest about why we always get lost, first is a Orchard that’s on my way home. In the morning while my uncle Kenny takes me to school on his way to work, i must have spotted some ripe fruits and once my brothers comes to pick me up after school, we divert from our true route home to go pluck this fruits. Guavas, Cashews, Plums, Oranges and so much more fruits in this huge compound that we always forage on my way back from school. My big brother is the climber, while I am on the lookout and my immediate brother picks the fruits plucked my bros, on several occasion the old woman who owns the orchard chase us with big sticks(Because we don't skip a day without robbing her of her fruits).

Now just few blocks from school, there is this two crazy dogs, It seems they could sniff my brothers presence and mine as we pass by the story building. From the topmost floor of the building, these savage dogs would race us down miles away all in different direction, i keep wondering if the owners purposely leave them unleashed so we could pay for our crimes of foraging on the fruits from the old woman's backyard(The Orchard).

By the time we are done foraging, that exact path that leads to my street is a grazing ground for a herd of cow. Trust me, my two brothers always forgets me behind on the several occasions we have cow problems. A particular Bull has taken pleasure in making our little lives miserable by chasing us down a few yards off the gracing field, this is how we get lost finding our way home not once not five times but more. Maybe we are just paying for our little crimes my dear momma use to say later when we were grown-ups and we telling her stories!

Thanks for this opportunities to share some part of my childhood through the Blockcahin Memory Project!



How's your week starting friends?, Greetings to you all. Check out some of my latest amateur writing below. I appreciate all the support I have gotten from you all!

GOD ON EARTH- JESUS CHRIST!...(AN ORIGINAL GOSPEL POEM)

IS BLOCKCHAIN BLOGGING DEAD?

THAT AWKWARD MOMENT #30 - "TO BE FAMOUS"

THE ISLE OF WHISTLE BLOWING; DONALD MARSHALL A CLONE GONE ROUGE!

$600 Million Pincoin, iFan ICO Scam- Be Vigilant, not every ICO have happy endings!

SYNTHETIC CELEBRITIES AND HUMAN CLONES; MIMICKING THE WORKS OF THE MAKER!



FOLLOW-UPVOTE-RESTEEM AND MAYBE DROP A SUPPORTING OR CONTRARY COMMENT.....It's your friendly Neighbor @oluwoleolaide for Steem-Lagos-Nigeria-Africa-World!


Badge courtesy of @jodi.pamungka Animated Footer by @rituparnaghos.

Sort:  

Relocation is a very difficult task to carryout especially in Nigeria. First you will need to battle with the difficulty in getting a new home.
Secondly, moving properties could be very stressful as shown in the Gift above that's if you don't get a few important things damaged in the process.
The experience of loosing parents at early age can be very painful and disheartening but one thing for sure is that God still gives the heart to bear such painful looses.

Amen brother, thanks for reading. It would be nice if you try out #BlockchainMemoryProject too.

I will do just that, thanks too

This is really a thrilling, yet touching story. It is nice reading these great memories. May God continue to keep your Momma alive to reap the fruit of her labour.

Regards.

She's in the City of the Saint brother...Thanks for reading.

Oh sorry to hear that bro. It is well.

Relocation is always hard especially when you are young. So sorry you had to go thru all that. Also, losing parents is very difficult no matter what age! Thanks for sharing...great post!

Thanks and bless you for reading part of my memories, i deeply appreciate your kind words.

Wow! This is quite a brilliant explanation of the concept, theory and science behind the airbags. No doubt it has been a great tech and science revolution in the automobile industry. Never really paid much attention to the science behind it. Thanks for sharing

Thanks for sharing your story from your life with us.
It helps show no matter where we are from, children are children.
Great story!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65915.92
ETH 3486.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67