Falling between Atheism and Christianity!

in #life6 years ago (edited)

PicsArt_03-26-04.39.58.jpg

Hi, Steemians!

Welcome to my blog.

Today is Sunday and I went to church. I was born into a Christian family, raised in Anglican Communion and I joined the Pentecostal movement as a teen. I have tried my best to live a good Christian life for very long despite all the challenges that come my way.

Unfortunately, these days, my heart has been battling between atheism and Christianity. So many things want to convince me there could be no God existing somewhere. However, I have had several encounters that make me believe there is a Supreme being and he answers prayers. I'll share some of my experiences.

Three years ago, I had a financial challenge and I had no money me. My business wasn't moving well and I was in debts. One day, I cried bitterly and prayed. That night, I had a dream, in that dream, I saw an old man visit me, he asked: "what do you need"? I told him I needed money. He asked how much I wanted, I told him and he gave it to me.

When I woke up in the morning, I told myself that God has deposited money in my account and that I'm going to withdraw it. I took my ATM card and started going to the bank, but on my way, I met a friend and he gave me half of the money the old man gave me in my dream. Still on my way to the bank, I met my cousin and he gave me half the amount of the money again. That was when I decided not to reach the bank again because I had gotten the exact amount of money the old man gave me in my dream. Please note, I did not ask any of them for money before they gave it to me.

Yes, in the Christian world, we call that miracle! I have had several similar encounters. In my introductory post, I stated that I believe in God and miracles and that I'll be sharing some of my stories with you.

However, I am beginning to feel even those who don't believe in God do have supernatural encounters. I have come to realize that most people who claim the tag *Christians do not even believe in the existence of God. Yeah, they do things contrary to what the Bible says and feel no remorse or repentance for it. And guess what? They get more out of life. Yeah, I perfectly understand the argument that "our reward is not here but in heaven". But what about the scripture that says we are going to be rewarded both here and in heaven? Oh! Someone wants to tell me that some faithful Christians are living fine here! That is also a joke to some extent because most of those so-called *Christians are just perfect pretenders. They cut all corners and do things contrary to the Word to get to where they are. Am I judging them? No, and Yes!

Like I have always said, I am just one imperfect human trying to be better than who I was yesterday. In order words, I don't think anything I know is absolutely true, neither do I close my heart from learning each day. My doubts about the Christian faith is as a result of practically following the Bible and finding no results more often! If I am wrong, I would like to have you correct me.

Is life all about following some natural principles and getting results out of it? Or is there really a Christian God that does answer us when we pray?

U5drtL8GpRaqxynzkDVxqYW15VeUdMs_1680x8400.jpeg

@elyaque made this beautiful badge for me.

DQmYdJ2iux7aTuv6MmGFceZmeJMPA2zPEJr6xwgU9qPcUCC.gif

Sort:  

My dear, I believe God exists but like you said so many things can make one start to believe he is not because of the way things are going especially in this country Nigeria. Bad wants to overshadow good but good will definitely overcome
Don't lose faith in God these are signs of the end-time the Bible talked about.i pray God will keep revealing himself to you.

I think the answer lies somewhere in the middle. I believe in the near future Christianity and Science will merge into a full understanding of everything. The answers are just waiting to be found. I would look to science to answer questions about the natural world but trust god to answer those questions that lay within.

I hope to see clearer picture too someday. Thanks for your comment here @whitey420

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Well ogoo i will just hit the point due to time. Nothing like christian God. God is God and supreme. The same way @ned delegates power and some use it in good or evil ways, the same way God do delegate powers. No where Jesus called His people christians and it is very bad for pagans to give a name to a group and they keep answering it. Thats actually what hapened at anthioc. What we fail to understand is that every being has a guider, in english called a guidian angel, in igbo onye i rolu uwa. (im not that good in igbo) and those people will never allow us suffer cos power have been delegated to them to guide us, but many atimes we failed to envoke them, christian use prayers, traditionally in igbo u use early morning incantations. And no matter the means you use, only the same person will come to help. No one will use utopian SP to go and help esteem community. Finnaly there exist a being kwa being, a supreme creator ans have already issue delegates with orders for our own success. Morning dear

@drigweeu
What are you driving at!
I don't understand your comment

even i yet to understand my comment. Reason, its too spiritual. But all i can say is, no religion, culture or organization is the best but the being

even i yet to understand my comment.

Haha..I laughed out loudly.

Your posts are always so truthful and relevant.

I'll send you a quote when I get back home. It highlights the facts that belief is based on doubt or uncertainty.

I consider the universe to be Godly or Divine. I don't have to believe in something that might or might not exist. Whether we think something exist or not isn't relevant it's how we act according to what we know and don't know that matters.

This is deep!

Thank you TS.

most times people believe in God when there is enough proof. Would you believe in God if you haven't had any miracle? Nothing beautiful has happened in your life, in fact it's going down? Well, the answer is, weather good happenings or not, our hearts were inherently made to believe and love him. Thus, God do exist, you can see him thruough the Holy Spirit who has shown obvious signs of his works on earth.

Ogochuckwu, you look so pretty. Sunday's are really lit.

AI believe there is a supreme God who sees us and loves all and I think you should continue believing in Him. Please don't use those Christians as a yardstick to decide if you should hold on to your faith. They are human and like every human on earth, they are flawed.

Even the strongest of Christians will make mistakes that in the eyes of a man, will make him less worthy of being a Christian, but what matters is how God sees him.

We are saved by grace and remain Christians by faith. Even our best act of righteousness is like a filthy rag before God, but his grace continue to make us worthy.

Please keep your faith. You have seen first hand how much He loves and hears when you cry.

The world will tell you otherwise as they want you to follow their religion. Atheism is just so confused, as far as I'm oncerned.

I am caught in the same dilemma. I hope I get clearer answer..

@eurogee

Or is there really a Christian God that does answer us when we pray?

There is a God that answers prayer. The Christian God clause is something i dont understand.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58404.34
ETH 2367.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45