Top 10 Boardgames

in #life7 years ago

Having collected and played hundreds of different board games, I have accumulated a top 10 list for overall best games I've ever played. This list is made of my own personal best games, and I make no claim to have played all games out there (not even close).

I also want to clarify that I enjoy playing all of these games and cannot rank them against each other for various reasons, this is why I will use bullet points and list alphabetically. They are simply the best games I've ever played - you cannot go wrong purchasing these games.

Requirements for this list: FUN, SIMPLE, ENGAGING, HIGH REPLAYABILITY, STRATEGY IS REQUIRED, and TIME TO PLAY IS 10 MIN-1 HR

Yes, I know that "Go" and "Chess" are not on this list. Simply put, I believe there are better games available now that have displaced Chess and Go.

My Top 10 Boardgames of All-Time

  • Acquire (Everything Monopoly should have been)
  • Bang! the Dice Game (Take-That/Party game)
  • Crokinole (Only dexterity game on the list, finger flicking fun)
  • Hive (Think Chess, but without a board)
  • Imhotep (Every decision is important)
  • Pandemic (Still the best cooperative game out there)
  • Quantum (Unique combination of luck mixed with abstract strategy)
  • Santorini (Just an amazingly simple and fun game with unlimited "god" combos)
  • Splendor (Always a new game, luck, lots of options, decisions are important)
  • Tzaar (Always a new game, another abstract game that's better than chess)

...
OK, so that was really tough... here's my runners up to make a list of "top 20 games":

  • Age of War
  • Good Cop Bad Cop
  • Love Letter
  • Onitama
  • Patchwork
  • Quarto
  • Smallworld
  • Star Realms
  • Unearth
  • Yinsh

Every gaming group is different. I enjoy 2 player abstract strategy games the most -- there is a tendency toward those games here. No big games that take hours with miniatures, etc. Not to say those games are not good -- only that they're not in my top 10.

Hope that helps you identify some great new games you haven't played. If you have any questions or would like specific category recommendations, please comment or message me.

Stormnexus on Boardgame Geek or Hop over to my boardgame website.

Sort:  

Great list, pls consider joining @steemiteducation

Nice post! I will follow you from now on. +UP

Congratulations @oakheartgames! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @oakheartgames! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest Meet The Stemians Contest - The mysterious rule revealed
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63220.55
ETH 2560.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80