Own Thoughts #1 | Internship Insecurities

in #life7 years ago (edited)

I'm 21, currently in my Year 3 studies in University. In this semester break, my plan is to search and prepare myself for my upcoming internship. I want to do my internship internationally. Specifically, in China. This is because all the best Supply Chain and Logistics Systems are great there. I want to see it and be a part of it.

DSC08960.JPG
Stress-free smile before I had this insecurities.

During this search and sending resumes to companies, I constantly felt like..
I started too early to send CVs and Letters to the companies that I've applied.
I am not capable to be selected by great companies.
I am still too young for this fast moving experience working world.
I don't have any values to offer (internationally).

These led me to have high insecurities.

None of my classmates want to do it internationally --- Because it's safer to do it locally.
My grades CGPA weren't good enough --- Good grades open more doors for opportunities.
Zero experience in my field of study --- I could only imagine the scenario of the theories.
Old in age, young in real life experience --- Family were too loving to set me free.
Not just low in knowledge based values, monetary values too.
OMG!.jpg

Common Stuff you search in Google,

  1. There are many websites provides opportunities to go internship overseas, but it requires expensive advance payment (in USD), and it caters more for Westerners to go Asia. I'm already an Asian.

  2. There are many websites provides informative guides to prepare yourself for the next phase, but it does not have a perfect manual to follow.

Right now,

I still haven't got any answers from my email. No replies from Whatsapp. Feeling lost and not sure what to do next. The only thing I can continue is to be caught in small amount of anxiety. Of course, best way to reduce these anxiety is to share it to people. I seek out few close people and tell them my anxieties and hopefully they calm me down by sharing their experience and tell me that I was doing fine. These was their reply :-

First person said (Rephrased),

Well the most common procedure is to send it to the HR department. Sometimes it takes very long to reply, Or HR don't reply at all. That's why people usually blasts out resume to multiple companies instead of waiting for one. If both get back to me, I got choice to choose which one I wanna go.

Second person said (Rephrased),

The more you send, the more you feel numb with it. I've waited for 5 weeks for for them to process 2000 over applications, and 3 weeks to process after my interview. So, it's normal to have the waiting period. I'm proud of you that you did it early.

bear.jpg

What can I do now?

1. Go get your resume and cover letter being checked.

I had a subject in my university where students are required to prepare one (fake) resume and mock interview. I actually used this chance to make a real perfect one for my future internship and make my tutor go through and guide me what amendments should I make. She said: "There is no right or wrong in a resume, as long it's easy enough for the manager to know you more".

I've also seek help from friends. One helped me to design my resume, it was a REAL confidence booster. Another one pointed my language error and modify my Cover Letter into a nicer version. it was general enough to be sent to all kinds of industry, instead of just focusing on one small industry. I felt more secured, dumb errors are reduced.

2. Just send them

It only take few minutes to do so. "Copy Paste Insert Attachment Send Button. "
The Send button is always the worse one. Go get something to eat once you've pressed the send button. Chocolate will do.

3. Knowing there is nothing called "too Early"
No one knows when is the right time to do anything. By logic, the ones who is always early are the one who receives most respect. So, just do it whenever you think you should.

DSC08961.JPG

Anyone is caught in this similar experience? Please share with me in the comment below so I could breathe!!
And anyone is in Logistics Field, I would love to listen what should I prepare before heading my next phase in life :D?

I am fluent in English and capable to read and speak in Chinese, so I have language values to offer !!!
China companies please notice me. 我真心想在中国当物流供应链行生,想了解我必须做些什么来实现这个梦想。

Sort:  

I wish you luck in your plans. I hope all goes well with you and your internship.

Hi, it's great to know that you're looking to expand your experience overseas. It's definitely a plus when you graduate later.

Although I'm a dropout, as a B2B marketer, I may be able to help you a little to spice up your CV/Resume.

  1. Tell them what you can do for them, not just your character (hardworking, honest, trustworthy etc). Instead, tell them things like, "with my writing skills, I can help you proof read articles and produce marketing materials" or "with my multi-lingual capabilities, I can help you translate messages."

  2. Researching the company will cost you time but when they do receive your CV, they will appreciate you took the time to understand their business and cater to their needs.

  3. Traditional, CVs/Resumes are written in Third Voice, i.e. Kelly founded a business when she was still in her university. Change to First Voice, i.e. I founded a business when I was still in my university and grew it to $100,000 in sales.

  4. If you're using a gmail account to send out your emails, track their open rates with tools like Bananatag, Vocus.io or Rebump. Most of the tools are free.

Hope these can give you some pointers.

Wish you all the best.

This is a super useful guide ! Im so glad and thankful that you came to this post and commented something new to me. Thank you so much @maverickfoo !

Pleasure's all mine. Hope all works out well for you.

Congratulations @notimetospace! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

If u can sing that will be a bonus too

AHAHAH @SOONMUSIC IM BAD IN SINGING.LIKE SO BAD

Every can sing...surely u can...try.

Congratulations @notimetospace! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I can't say I have similar experiences. But may I add one more thing that you can do now. I think it would be good to just try out as many freelancing and jobs outside or inside your field. Think that's the best way to get noticed.

I'm a uni lecturer specializing in education. There was a year where none of my students got jobs due to the lack of vacancies. We brainstormed and they all started working different jobs getting exposure. Some got noticed, some did not. But at least they went down fighting.

I hope that helps and I wish you all the best! May you land an awesome job soon.

Ahh, that is really a good tip :D More exposure plus extra job experience . Thank you so much @alvinauh !

THANK YOU :)

Hope you do well. Its a big market there.

Sure, I'll need to equipped myself with self confidence first .

Go for it girl...then u can cover that steemit market.

hahahha Okayy !

Love your endurance ... "fighting" (most korean movie said this) Jia you!!!

Thank you !! Fightinggg :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29