I'm Changing Nationality [Part 2]

in #life7 years ago

Some of you might have read my desperate, but honest, post from a few  weeks ago. I wrote with dread in my words I was going to try get hold of  a permanent residence permit in Ukraine, and that that process was  going to happen through a willing "bride". Well, fellows, the journey  continues as I proceed with meeting new people, knitting ties and continue making plans.


My back is so much fucking better and I am fucking ready for adventures!

I know of no Swede that has done this. Swedes are extremely "comfortable  creatures" in the sense that they never really "do" anything outside of  their country of origin. Other than going on vacation once a year to  Thailand or Paris, they don't seem to be able to get the fact through  their heads that there is a world outside Sweden where one can create  wonders and have lives, and, by the way, a vacation implies one comes  back, because there is a warm, yet conformist, home and place waiting  them there, so there is no real "substance" to the Swedes' vacations  anyway.

3 months every 6 months just isn't enough — I need to  feel the sensation in my body that this can be home for as long as I  want it to be, and that's the goal this journey entails — a permanent solution.

This is  more than just signing a bunch of documents. Since it will take two  years of marriage to receive the permit, this is more than a pen and  paper, but mostly about building trust and friendship, and it is about  finding "the right one" not for love, but finding them and allowing them  to help me achieve a personal goal, and this takes patience and  resilience. Rushing into something like this with a stranger might lead  to the breaking of said deal simply because they don't care about you  enough to honor the agreement. The search has begun! I will be careful and thorough.


I will document my journey.

Sort:  

Hi!

Having lived in Sweden for 2 years, I find your story interesting. Yes, the weather sucks but what is worse is that most Swedes are colder!

When I was in Italy for a week during my first year (and after not being able to see the sun for straight six months) I told to my self "I'm not living in this country." So I can understand your journey.

I'm wondering if you've been to Asia? Say, Philippines? It's much cheaper to live there (you mentioned that you're living off BTC) and people are much more friendlier. - not to mention the weather.

Peace & Cheers!

Can you help? I have a new post now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57151.22
ETH 3067.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32