[Blog #30] Wishing You a Great Weekend | Community | Gift From a Steemian Friend

in #life6 years ago

Hooray Readers! Steemit may be slow on traffic, but we are not slow on working - Absolutely happy Friday.



Photo by Ian Schneider on Unsplash

So many great things can happen when you remain positive and enthusiastic on wathever you propose to do, I always tell that on the blogs. Afterall, why would you do something if it's not to be 100% driven by your heart and soul, right?

What moves you on Steemit?

I'd love to hear your reasons, what really keeps you on Steemit? There are so many factors here that we could list; from being able to generate income to hobby, every single user has its own strategy and objectives.

For me, and I'll repeat it every single time, the sense of community here is just amazing! As the dictionary beautifully describes - A community is a group of people living in the same place or having a particular characteristic in common. It's a feeling of fellowship with others, as a result of sharing common attitudes, interests, and goals. Isn't it clearly represented inside the Steem platform?

That being said, this quick blog came along while I'm editing the next video; I received a call from the school I used to work telling that the mail had delivered a package for me. I kinda knew that I was going to receive a gift from my Steemit friend @veckinon, as he had asked for my address a couple weeks ago. I didn't know what it would be thought.

I immediately grabbed my bicycle to go check what he had sent me. Is it a bomb? Or some prank? I was kinda worried to open it.  

I received Shackleton's Incredible Voyage book!!!!

I've been bragging about not being able to find this book, I've also talked about this book and annoyed so many friends with it - and now here it is. The best gift ever, the first gift I receive from a fellow Steemian. You are a legend @veckinon, thank you so much for this epic gift and dedicatory and sorry for exposing your act of kindness.

About the book.


The book recounts the failure of the Imperial Trans-Antarctic Expedition led by Sir Ernest Shackleton in his attempt to cross the Antarctic continent in 1914 and the subsequent struggle for survival endured by the twenty-eight man crew for almost two years.


The best gift ever!.

The book's title refers to the ship Shackleton used for the expedition, the Endurance.  On that journey the ship was beset and eventually crushed by ice floes in the Weddell Sea leaving the men stranded on the pack ice. All in all the crew drifted on the ice for just over a year. They were able to launch their boats and somehow managed to land them safely on Elephant Island. Shackleton then led a crew of five aboard the James Caird through the Drake Passage and miraculously reached South Georgia Island 650 nautical miles away. He then took two of those men on the first successful overland crossing of the island. Three months later he was finally able to rescue the remaining crew members they had left behind on Elephant Island. Source: Wikipedia contributors. "Endurance: Shackleton's Incredible Voyage." Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia. Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia, 26 Mar. 2018. Web. 10 Aug. 2018.

I haven't read it yet, since I received it Today, but I've been told that this is one of the greatest books on leadership. I should just end this post, forget about editing the video and dive into the pages of Shackleton's adventure. Exciting!

Expanding my Gratitude to ALL of you!



I'd also like to expand my gratitude on this awesome Friday to all my friends, be you an online friend or not. It'll be absolutely impossible to link all the names here, but if you ever interacted with me you can pretty much assume that you are part of my list.

It's absolutely amazing the amount of support I'm receiving from you everyday, this is what grants the survivability of this channel. My mantra is.

"If there's at least one person interacting, then I have at least one dang good reason to keep on working,"

Let's keep the positivity and enthusiasm, and hopefully I'll be able to retribute everything back to you soon. Maybe we'll meet on  SteemFest later this year?


Loads of positivity for you and a superb Weekend. If you excuse me I have a book to read xD

If you liked this post, please, consider leaving your upvote for a hot coffee.

~Love ya all,


Disclaimer:  The author of this post is a convict broke backpacker, who has travelled more than 10.000 km hitchhiking. Following him may cause severe problems of wanderlust and inquietud. You've been warned.


I'm Arthur. I blog about Adventure Stories, Brazil, Travel, Camping & Life Experiences.

Follow me to stay tuned for more craziness and tips.

You may also want to read:

Travel Story: Hitchhiking Chiloé island in Chile (Final Part)

[vlog #1] A New Format | Forest Cycling | Introducing Vlogs

Travel Story: Hitchhiking Chiloé island in Chile (Part III)

Monday Morning Quote: "Worse than not finishing a trip is never starting"

[Blog #29] Happy Sunday | 40 km | MTB Back On Track

CO-FOUNDER AND CURATOR ON:

A PROUD MEMBER OF:

Sort:  

Reading your post I can feel your positive energy and enthusiasm for life and all the amazing things it has to offer. I enjoy reading encouraging and life changing books and Endurance sounds like a good read. I'll have to add that to my list. Enjoy your Friday!

Hey @loveself, than you for the comment! Yes Shackleton's book is a great example of leadership as well.

Parabéns, seu post foi selecionado pelo projeto Brazilian Power, cuja meta é incentivar a criação de mais conteúdo de qualidade, conectando a comunidade brasileira e melhorando as recompensas no Steemit. Obrigado!

footer-comentarios-2.jpg

I am so glad the book made it to you safely! Sorry I didn't get it out sooner. Things have been a bit hectic lately. I'm sure you will enjoy it.

It was the best gift ever @veckinon, I'll sure appreciate every single line of it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63595.77
ETH 3415.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49