Life Update

in #life5 years ago

I've been absent for a while due to some life changes.

Last month I was fired. Apparently, there were cutbacks at my old job and it was decided that I was superfluous. They were as nice about it as could be expected and I did get another full month of salary without having to actually come to work.

yesterday was my last official day at my old job.

2.jpg

luckily, I've been taking a course for Full Stack programming to enhance my skills so I beefed up my CV and started looking. I have an offer that is a bit big in terms of the job description. I'll be in charge of several things I have never been in charge of before. It'll mean I'll be working from home as a freelancer but the money isn't bad so I'll probably take it. It'll help me avoid getting unemployment checks - at 75% of the average paycheck, it isn't enough for our monthly expenses.

So far I've been putting most of my energy into trying to finish my App's POC for the presentation early next month (April 7th). I've been writing it in React using Node JS and Mongo DB to create a progressive web app. The course involves creating two apps - one for ourselves and one for an entrepreneur that we'll be meeting at the presentations. It's like an audition of sorts to show what we can do.

My POC is mostly done apart from push notifications and advanced authentication that we'll be studying later. in the meantime, we've started covering Angular since that is the framework we'll be using for our second App.

Other than that I've been helping my prospective employer with some logo design, one-pagers, websites etc' with the promise I'll be compensated for my work next month. Since I know her I have chosen to trust her even though we still haven't signed a contract.

I have been working more this past month than in my usual full-time job previously :)

I'll leave you with the login screen to the App I'm building that I hope will become commercially viable someday:

1.jpg

I hope everything will work out and that I'll have the time and motivation to post more on steem.

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

May you find the path that will take you closer to your ultimate goal.

Best regards!

Posted using Partiko Android

Good to see ya around :) Glad you found something new and hope your app is up and running soon!

Thanks :) having a POC is different than a fully functional app but I'm working on it.

Congratulations @mrlightning! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 3000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 4000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Here are the winners
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97