OpenSource? Developer Diary #1 The Beginning

in #life5 years ago (edited)

Hello to everyone...

This is my Diary, It is the place where I want to tell you about what happens in my life and the developments in the projects in which I am working as a Software Engineer...

Pixabay

Maybe it's fun for some to know what I think as a developer about some current technology issues or just know what I think about my life in general. This post is not going to have a specific editorial line so one day I will talk about a very current topic and the next day I will talk about history.


Pixabay

Today I want to talk about operating systems, on technology anyone knows it is an operating system, we are practically surrounded by facts so much that when I was in college I was given a class called "Operating Systems" and as if it was not obvious by the name... they taught us how the operating systems worked inside, their process placement algorithms for memory management, calculating the process speeds and the different operating systems that were more popular... A class that became tedious by the great amount of theory, what I liked most were the practices since we worked with GNU/Linux, by far a sample of the power that the communities have, their discovery a while ago when I was in high school and the computers that they bought for our technology classes had a strange logo indicating that it had Ubuntu, at first I did not pay almost attention... puff how bad was I in this moment... simply start with windows and did not give more importance, until I see that nowhere in the computer was the license that computers have when you buy with Windows from the beginning, I asked the great teacher we had, What is Ubuntu ?, He told me that is a free operating system (Free? inside me) and that it was cheaper to buy them like that and then the Windows license.


Pixabay

Without wanting it that professor caused me a great curiosity, I did not understand how someone could give something for free and less something that is essential to operate a computer.
GNU / Linux is one of the most underrated cultural movements of the '90s, it is the most hippie technological movement that I have ever heard. The freedom of the code! The freedom of technology! I believe that without this revolution the globalization of the world would not be what it is now, what would be of the cloud without Linux? What would be Google without Linux? What would be the smartphones without Linux?.

Link The refund day of Windows 98

It is logical to see that in the common Linux people is a simple unknown name, perhaps a new brand of online shopping or a new clothing brand for millennials, but, should be a responsibility of all of us as members of the technological community to provide the use of products with the ideology of Linux, the free product should not worry when we have around us ways to finance projects nowadays as Patreon, Kickstarter, among others. Our fundamental development as engineers should be dedicated to the community creation of the developments we do, develop for the community and that the community develops the community equally if we are able to maintain for so long a free operating system as is Linux, why not create more tool.

DD_1.JPG

Of course, I know that for almost a payment tool there are several free alternatives, the problem is that if I want for example "PhotoShop" I have just a few clicks portable version 100% real Megaupload hehe :) and the free alternative is relegated by piracy. In my humble opinion I think we should create a centralization in the case of open source tools, Ubuntu, Mint, RedHat have something in common, they use GNU/Linux architecture, but if I see OpenOffice or LibreOffice I see a software that had to be built from scratch, what I mean with all this is that as developers we should gather strength and create powerful enough architecture specialized in the most common payment tools, so that anyone can start with a solid enough bases for their concern to be the one of improving in technological levels the software that has constructed.

Do not forget to show my Patreon page and if you can support I would be very thankful
https://www.patreon.com/MikeWrite

Sort:  

Congratulations @mikewrite! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.
You made your First Comment

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 62877.62
ETH 3140.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89