Five minute free write - Yesterday

in #freewrite6 years ago

me.jpg

Gonna be way up front and say this has not been a good morning.

I struggle with a lot of things and a lot of stuff is flaring up right now. But, despite that, I decided to move forward with life and do my daily warmup with the Daily 5 minute free write hosted by @mariannewest. It was a challenge, for sure, and there were a great number of frustrations along the way. A big one being Youtube throwing up a commercial in the middle of my set of songs I use to get focused as I write. Three minutes into an amazing write and suddenly the magic that was that moment, popped like a soap bubble on a kids finger for a product I will never buy and could care less about.

But I was able to regain at least a bit of my composure and, after resetting the time on The worlds most dangerous writing app I wrote this. It's not cheerful, nor I think hopeful, and I leave the ending up to you.


Yesterday.

The past. The who I was. The things that happened and are now set in stone on the track that is my life.

What is Yesterday? Wasn't it the today of that time? Why does yesterday hold so much sway over today? It is a question that plagues me. Like a stone in my shoe. What choices have been made, what actions have been taken, what events occured.

My mind dwells, a worm in the fertile soil of possibilities. Yesterday seems to dictate today, which in turn moves the pieces that make up tomorrow.

Why do I think so much about Yesterday?

A pox upon my today. An ever-present hum as I go about my day. For some Yesterday is another stone in the foundation of their castle. For others, it weighs down the bag that they feel trapped in, sliding deeper and deeper into the fast flowing river that people call life.

Yesterday to me, happened. Today, is happening. Tomorrow is what may happen. But, because the way my Yesterday was, I don't feel like today will be any different, and, in turn my tomorrow will be the same.

How does one turn Yesterday into a memory, and not a daily companion

That sits beside you whispering those awful words into your ear. How does one slay history and look to the future? How does one take the Y out of Yesterday and turn it into yesterday.

The emphasis in my life is sharp. And I fight to change it. David against Goliath. Who am I?


Thank you for stopping by to read this.

I'd love to hear what you think. Even on the bad days I'm trying to get better at what I do in hopes that it will lead somewhere, anywhere. The little engine I could, I hope to someday reach a pass so that I can move onwards.

Similar Posts
Five minute free write: the smell from within
Five minute free write: Elephant
My first 5 minute free write.

Sort:  

Nice words bro good write expressing this subject, be well and steem on

Doing my best :) Thanks for dropping by and reading!

Hugs to you and rooting for you that the rest of today and tomorrow will be better 🙏

Thanks :) I hope it will be. Eventually something has to break.

Truth. I felt the yesterdays weighing me down when my first marriage ended. What I had lost out on? Were all those yesterdays wasted days now that it was over? It was a huge a burden of regret. When friends go through the experience now, I always tell them, "it feels like the end of the world, but it really is the beginning." Our tomorrows are like fresh snow in the morning. Sure, we'll take our first steps from where we ended the night before, but the path forward is clean and new, ready for us to make our mark.

Thank you for those words. For me it's really hard because I've been trying to set out on a new road for 9 years but no matter how hard I try, I can't get traction on anything with anyone anywhere. Yes, things are moving, just not in my direction. I feel like a robot trapped in a box just trying to make it to the next day, most of the time. My friends seem to be mostly passive observers of all this offering advice, but no help. I'm hoping here will be different :)

Stay strong and when everything else fails... Just breathe...
Nice post by the way.

I'm trying. It's hard to go off of panic mode when you look at your bank account, then look at your upcoming work schedule, and realize both are empty.

And, thanks :) I try and put my all into stuff I publish. Even when they're brief.

Yesterday is always with us...I call her lessons. She is to be befriended as teacher, not leader. Her lessons to be reviewed only as a measure for what I've accomplished, not where I've failed. She can never be removed completely, but her influence is invaluable. <3 hugs

Amazing words. Thank you for them. I woke up this morning and they were some of the first to come to me. It's hard to keep the past in check and use what happened as a lesson vs a guide. Be well! :)

I like that my words greeted you in the morning! I hope you took them only as a promise that tomorrow is always can to be better than yesterday <3.
Take care.

I am :) Working towards a better tomorrow.

Have you chosen your weapons with which to fight? I wonder if yesterdays worry that they'll be forgotten? That they'll not have made a difference? Perhaps that's why they keep whispering in the ear? Or, maybe it's meant to push one on? To learn a lesson, perhaps change and rebuiled some things, and advance your story?
Wow, all I'm doing is asking you a bunch of questions, sorry. I hope that you are able to take a breath and conquer today. That when you look back at tomorrow's yesterday, there is something that makes you smile and want to build on from.

Hehe, lot's of questions. Writing has become my greatest weapon, I think. With it I've found a lot of people that are helping me with my daily battles through words of support. Every day I'm trying to change the theme of my story into something a little more cheerful, but it's a long, dark, path fraught with many side roads. I will hopefully be able to take that breath today, and do a bit of conquering :)

While snacking on a tasty piece of Snook Fruit, I came across a delicious little platter of prompts left by the Goddess Marianne. As tempted as I was to keep them to myself, they looked too scrumptious not to share.

Freewrite Prompt Day 108

Lol, was that a teaser to check out todays free write?

Ha! Yes it was. I have way too much fun when I deliver these prompts! 😂

Just finished writing mine for the morning :) ...palimpsest...interesting word.

Very cool! I like to hear your thought process. My thoughts are that yesterday only dictates today and tomorrow in the way that you let it...

Ie sadness experienced yesterday is expected to continue into today and tomorrow

OR - Sadness from yesterday can be used as a tool for growth today, leading to excitement or happiness about what is possible for tomorrow after having processed, reflected upon and learnt from the sadness that was experienced

Just a random rough 2 cents from me about yesterday. I say learn from it but do not be enslaved by it!

Great read and look forward to reading more from you. Thanks for sharing!

Remember - We are the creators of tomorrow!

With love
Hart Floe
<3

Thank you for your beautiful words. :) And for taking the time to read through my work.

It is very hard for me to forget yesterdays sadness and look for happiness in today or tomorrow. I've painted myself into a corner in so many ways. But that's why I'm here, I think, to get out of that corner.

There's been so many awesome people (like you) that have dropped by with words of encouragement and advice, stuff that you'd normally get from the people around you, but strangely has been largely lacking in my life. Your $0.02 is another addition to my bank that will help me see tomorrow for the potential that it is :)

We're all here to create a better tomorrow. And together we will do it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61917.78
ETH 3393.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51