Blog Post: Body Image and RunningsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago

I can remember at the age of about 14 I was friendly with a group of my older brother’s friends. They were all a couple of years older than me and I always felt super cool when I hung out with them.
I became especially close with one of the girls and enjoyed spending time with her. We used to go shopping together and spend time getting ready for and going out to parties and events together. I remember her constantly having me check how she looked in the clothes she was wearing or trying on. She was especially concerned that her bottom might look fat in certain jeans or skirts. I remember eventually thinking, ‘Oh my goodness. I should be checking that too. What if I look super fat from behind and I have never realised?’ And so began over 20 years of my life being constantly worried about my body and how it looked and comparing myself to my friends who I thought always looked better and skinnier than me. Wow! What a waste of my time!
I love how running has helped me to overcome this pointless obsession. All of a sudden I began to see what my body was capable of and how important all the different parts of it were. Now my chunky thighs and rounded bottom with dimples of cellulite were machines of power propelling me forward, allowing me to charge up hills and complete impressive sprints and fartlek training. My freckly, tuckshop lady arms and bony shoulders became sources of energy for me to rely on when my body became fatigued during longer or more challenging runs.
With this new found acceptance and understanding of what my body was truly designed for it also became so much easier to take care of. I wanted to treat it kindly, to thank it for what it was able to do for me and the way it made me feel. Suddenly food became my ally rather than the enemy and exercise became a reward to treat a body that needed to feel energised and free.
I find it sad that often the first thing that women say to me when they discover that I am a runner is, “I would love to run but I will need to wait until I lose a few kilos,” or something similar. It is always in an apologetic tone, too, as if they are embarrassed about their bodies and the way they are. Please don’t be! Your body is beautiful, strong and willing, ready and able to take you on the ride of your life. Let it!

Sort:  

Congratulations @mezza556, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that awesome content will get great profits by following these simple steps, that have been worked out by experts?

Congratulations @mezza556! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @mezza556! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60453.64
ETH 2425.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48