Keeping Our Lives In Perspective

in #life6 years ago

I had a powerful dream last night in which my father was killed. My relationship with my father has had it's ups and downs but this dream was a big eye opener for me. I responded to his death with such emotion that I am surprised that I did not wake up! It showed me clearly how much I actually love him.

I woke up this morning with his metaphorical death still on my mind. I recalled a Tim Ferris podcast where he mentioned that when we have graduated High School we will have spent 90% of the time that we will ever have with our parents.

I found the article referenced and wanted to share it with you.

The Tail End: A Visualization Of Our Lives

c12a1f2ea87deb1f38fd73cdb84febfb.jpg

source

Some of the big points are: (assuming you are 30 years old)

  • Approximately 60 super bowls left to celebrate
  • ~ 10 more presidents in the White House
  • Only 700 times left to enjoy Pizza
  • And less than 300 days to spend with your parents

Here's one I thought should be added

  • 15 World Cups left to cheer for your home country

Looking at life like this can be rather sobering. When we see the hard facts, a lifetime begins to look a lot shorter.

The things I took from this are:

  • Share your love often and with passion
  • Don't wait to go after your dreams
  • Appreciate every day as it might be the last.

How did this article make you feel?

Check Out Some Of My Other Posts Here

IF YOU LIKE TEH STUFF, CLICK FOLLOW.png

Leave us a comment if you want to learn about a specific topic.

Sort:  

Wow. Yeah. Life does seem really short when you look at it that way.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60205.00
ETH 2994.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90