Simple Pleasures

in #life8 years ago

Inspired by posts and comments from @aprilangel, @karenb54, @johnjgeddes, @richq11, and @runridefly I wanted to take a moment to share some of my simple pleasures.

Sunset 2008 by John M. Buley
Photograph taken by John M. Buley (my dad)

In my youth, simple pleasures were

  • an ice cream cone with rainbow sprinkles from Weir's
  • biking with friends
  • swimming and camping
  • torching marshmallows over the fire
  • watching dad grill a steak to hockey pucks or shoe leather
  • jump rope at recess

While I've repressed so many of my teenage years I still had simple pleasures like

  • singing from the rooftop with my best friend, Geri
  • listening to the ocean waves and gulls above when visiting the Jersey Shore
  • wood shop, metal shop, and art class in junior high
  • cooking gourmet-ish meals for my family
  • driving

In my early 20s the simple pleasures included

  • smoking
  • booze
  • men

What can I say? I was scoping the scene looking for a mate. LOL

When I became a mother my simple pleasures changed dramatically to

  • the smell of babies fresh out of a bath
  • their cooing noises as they slept
  • nap time (for me)
  • a hot meal
  • a quiet moment in the morning before everyone woke up

But as the kids got older my simple pleasures morphed into

  • snuggle time
  • sleeping in
  • a quiet house
  • a clean kitchen
  • finding alone time
  • grocery shopping

And now that my kids are grown my simple pleasures have become... simple

Meredith Loughran and son at Weir's, Salisbury Mills, NY
Getting ice cream at Weir's with my baby boy, Josh, after his high school graduation - June, 2016

  • an ice cream cone with rainbow sprinkles from Weir's
  • that first cup of morning coffee
  • listening to the rain fall on a metal roof
  • feeling the rumble of a good thunderstorm
  • a beautiful sunset
  • back scratchies after a day at work
  • hugs from my grown boys
  • painting my toenails whacky colors
  • strangely, I still consider grocery shopping a simple pleasure. lol

The messages that inspired this post

@aprilangel shared her thoughts on Healing Perfectionism through Art
"A couple of months ago, I was trying to declutter my basement and found myself going through old storage bins. I discovered the unfinished painting and with fresh, far less judgmental eyes I saw how well I'd done..."


@karenb54 said
"Now if something goes wrong I think its not the end of the world, it will get sorted and no one was hurt, when life gives me a bad time, I start to think well its giving someone else a break and its not going to kill me. I am becoming more positive..."
-post


In my post about Choices and Healthy Decisions, @johnjgeddes responded:
"Life is an occasional episode of happiness in a general drama of pain. I accept that. What makes me happy are free things like rain and wind and stars and of course, children and animals but I worked hard all my life sometimes working three jobs at a time to raise three kids so I could go on enjoying the free things..."


@richq11 responded to my comment on Karen's post with this:
"I wouldn't worry about any "longevity gene" and live for today and tomorrow will take care of itself!"


But the icing on the cake was @runridefly sharing a post of Steeming with a sleeping baby on his chest
-his post is here

There are life lessons here

  • Don't be so judgmental or hard on yourself.
  • If it doesn't kill you then hopefully you've learned a lesson and are stronger and wiser for it.
  • Find the free things to appreciate because they'll always be there when everything else disappears.
  • Live in the present. The past is behind you and the future has untold, immeasurable potential.
  • Keep Steeming On.

Public Service Announcement

Educate yourself on what Steemit Witnesses do.

Have a Steemit day!

100% Steem Power by Meredith Loughran Steemit verified merej99, Meredith Loughran

Follow me on Twitter
Join my curation trail on Streemian

Sort:  

This is a post!

Thank you for sharing your simple pleasures...and inspiring a new post coming soon!

Very cool @simplysara! I just hit the follow button and looking forward to reading it :)

Awesome post!

Thank you, Tim! XOXOX

simple pleasures.. I love that phrase. Thanks mere :)

Thank YOU, John.
Oh - Another simple pleasure! Hugging clothes straight out of the dryer. Ahhh.....
I get my kicks where I can. LOL

yeah, my wife won't even let me help her with laundry - she has the same response when folding warm clothes from the dryer and I have a ton of memories of us in different houses quietly talking while she's busy folding...and the scent of clean linen

Great post. I loved it!

Thank you @chessmonster
I love when inspiration hits. It makes writing so much easier. :)

I hear that! 👍🏽

You all are so comfy cozy❤

Would you believe my little snuggle buddy and the tall kid holding a hot fudge sundae are one and the same...with about 10 years between the pics. sigh when did my kids get old? lol

My oldest grandson is turning 13 soon, I'm 5'6 and he is almost as tall as me....kids grow up and become your best friends! ❤

Oh man that ice cream cone makes me want nice weather NOW. Soft serve vanilla with rainbow sprinkles is my favorite by far, yum!
I especially love your laughing face in that picture ;)

That boy of mine was teasing me so bad about wanting to take a selfie...and being so short. My arms were almost not long enough! LOL

Um yeah, that would be me too, actually that would be me and my thirteen year old who is a monster at almost 5ft 10 LOL

One of the best posts I have read since being on SteemIT. Thank you....sincerely

Thank you @themagus - that is a huge compliment. I'm beaming right now! :D

That's a great post. I can relate to many of those simple pleasures. Especially having some quiet time alone in the morning and my first cup of coffee.

Very good job dear friend @ merej99, I was missing these wonderful words of yours, thank you very much for the recommendations

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58994.66
ETH 2596.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43