Twitter's Exodus - Mastodon to the rescue?

in #life6 years ago
There are plenty of people still using twitter, so this might sound like I'm exaggerating a bit, and maybe I am a little bit. But, the point is very valid nonetheless. More and more people are getting shadow banned, or censored really, and for a company who has never actually made any money, this seems like a very dumb move in my opinion.



I remember vividly that prior to twitter becoming the preferred method of communication for the White House, it was always underperforming in the stock market. Since I did dip my toes int he stock market for a while before landing in the world of cryptos, I remember looking at their financials, their performance and thinking to myself - "Why are they still around?" with shocked sincerity.

You may think that I'm being hypocritical and I would not blame you for it. I do have a twitter account, and I do use it. (mainly to troll alex jones, but still) - However, it seems to me more and more that loud voices are looking outside of twitter, and this might be a signal for the big change that is already happening.




Of course, my biases tell me that all these ex twitterinos should be exploring blockchain, but then again I think that is only a matter of time before they naturally land on here or comparable networks. Nonetheless I think this is nothing but a bullish sign my friends.

Have you heard of Mastodon?


It seems to be a bit of a hybrid, combining communities with instances, different front ends, somewhat like reddit, but with a more twitter like interface for micro blogging and such. Now, I can't say I see it like the perfect model, because it seems that the echo chambers might just get even more insulated, but I'm happy to know that people are actively looking for alternatives.



Am I going to go on mastodon and toot (yeah, a spin off tweeting)? Probably not, but I can see this succeeding, specially for the fringiest of the fringe on the extremes. Kind of like bitchute but with short hateful texts instead of videos, right?

In any case... What do you think? Are you gonna go try some tooting yourself?

• Partiko First Impressions
• The greatest man you've never heard of
• Meno is now crazy Series - Guitar for Lilly Wilton
• So it's been 365 days already... WHAAA
• My trick to keep on making content
Sort:  

Mastadon toots just sounds like big’ ole, elephant-sized farts. 🤣

hahahhaah it truly does!

I was going to make a fart joke too. Was not let down. Now I don't have to.

Posted using Partiko Android

never saw the sense in twitter. i have too much to say and hate having words limited. to me if seems like a way for famous people to push their agenda, which to me is a bit boring. do like the word mastodon tho. big fan of wooly mammoths.

Hi meno. For once luck was on my side finding Steemit early enough before mass adoption. it surely will happen at some point and I can be the one to say to others I have been on here for years lol.

this might be the first time im an early adopter of anything myself!

Well you are 6 months ahead of me and it looks as though I was early enough as well. The stars must have been aligned or something. as it never happens to me.

I am going to check out Mastodon. Looks interesting.

I feel overwhelmed to engage on more networks when my oen twitter is pretty deserted. I really never broke through it, fended better in other formats. Still noted, will have a lool

dont forget to follow me on facebook, youtube, twitter, bandcamp, amazon, etsy and bitchute for more updates.. ooh and yes.. dont forget my alt accounts on snapchat, tumblr, linkedin and my newest one on mastodon!!!

<3

Haha sense the irony... But still... Lol too many. I use them as windows and i am jus active on a few from where I share, like a pod or I would glued to a computer. I love 3d life tooo.
They are all tools, dome will be useful some wont eork depending on our needs

Anything to get away from "mainstream" establishment bullshit is a really good thing!

I say, go for it - move toward anything and everything that shuns the malevolent deceptions that are routinely cast upon the already flawed indoctrination narratives that sadly, most of us have become all too accustomed.

Anything to get away from "mainstream" establishment bullshit is a really good thing!

could not agree more!! hahahah

well, I am one of those persons who have left twitter, not for good though. Maybe I will try out mastodon... (but I am heavily invested in steemit now)

Everyone is moving to Steemit and Minds

Posted using Partiko iOS

i opened a minds account, but i dont understand the value proposish just yet..

Me neither.... but I have accumulated 200 Minds tokens that I will try to convert to Ethereum ... I just remind and comment posts so far.

Posted using Partiko iOS

On blockchain there's not enough audience for now, no matter what platform. Things are changing though for the better and I am here waiting to hola Alex Jones.

Dood, join me in trolling Alex... it's the best! I'm always requesting he add features to his app.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69618.00
ETH 3376.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76