The greatest man you've never heard of

in #life6 years ago (edited)
It was many years ago when I found videos about Daryl Davis, but since the first time I heard this man talk, and saw his self imposed mission, he has truly inspired me. I can't say I can think of someone as brave and as crazy as Daryl alive today.



img src

His life story is amazing on its own, but honestly I would not do it justice, as he is a better story teller than me. However, I will say that I do believe that it had to be the way it was, that it had to be unique in order for him to even have the desire to embark on such a crazy but powerful mission.

What is even more crazy about this whole thing for me, is that he is technically just a musician. Well, maybe that's not fair, because he has written books, but what he has done for a living professionally is play the piano and at that, he is a true master.



You think you believe in free speech?


How about supporting vehemently the right of your enemies, the people who are supposed to hate you, to speak their mind. Would you do that? Would you like him, be friends with Grand Wizards of the KKK, help them even get to their rallies?

Honestly, I wish there was a thousand Daryls in the world, this whole racial divide would have gone extinct long ago. He has a quote that I absolutely love, and I'll repeat it until the day I have to kick the bucket as they say.



He fights ignorance brilliantly


He does so by having dialogues, by asking questions, by finding commonalities in his enemies. I find nothing but things to praise him for in his views and his actions, and honestly I can't help but to admire his courage.

Would you meet with a man that wants you dead? That believes you and your kind should die? Would you shake his hand?

Watch this. You will thank me later


If you are not inspired my friend


Consult a Physician. This is exactly what this world needs more of, not more ANTIFAS, more wars, more political parties, divisions, insults. We need more understanding, more dialogue, and this man is not just talking pretty, he's been doing it his whole adult life.

A tip of the hat to you Daryl...

Sort:  

I don't think I've stumbled upon that ted talk but I have heard this story and was quite amazed about it. I'd say he's a master level mind ninja, wouldn't you? Wow... Truly an inspiring story.

epitome of mind ninjistics right there... no one comes even close.

To emphasize is the strongest tool we can have. When we stop judging and start to understand one and another amazing things happens. No matter if it is KKK, Isis or even just relationship. But it's hard to do sometimes.

I am not saying we should accept certain ideologies. But when there's conflict doing like this man did can change the world:)

Great post! Thank you for taking the time. I believe that we all have natural and learned prejudice. The natural prejudice comes at birth in that we tend to trust people who look similar to our parents. We see this in the animal kingdom with "birds of a feather flock together". Baby birds see their parents feeding them and sheltering them so that is who they trust. The rest of our prejudice gathers on us like barnacles on sea creatures. My concern is the censorship trend we see to avoid discussing issues. There is also incredible arrogance to believe that your opinion is the only opinion anyone of value should have. One thing I know is that wisdom and arrogance cannot occupy the same mind at the same time.

shivers, meno, shivers. i have seen this story floating around for a while but never took the time to read it or watch it. many times my stomach twisted hearing that previous klan leader speak and many times i thought how how... daryl is a man to be respected and to learn from. that it all boils down to respect makes a lot of sense, but i must say that daryl is certainly doing a lot for humanity through his CURIOSITY and sheer question-asking.... his recounting of that meeting in the hotel room... wow, just wow. i agree with him that we fear that which we don't know or understand. that base understanding mixed with curiosity toward the OTHER and starting off on the foot of respect.... i believe could change the world. thanks.

everytime i think of this story i get shivers... is just amazing, and he's not slowing down either...

truly amazing. it prompted a post from me... i mentioned you and your post <3 thanks for sharing, it really cemented something further for me...

A story worth telling and well told.

I admire folks that walk their talk. He does it. I also have, by eschewing banks, and this increased my opportunity costs, as few others do so, and opportunity thus is limited to bank mediated transactions, except for situations where others also eschew banks.

When you created opportunity to gain one of your guitars absent bank mediated payment, you also walked your talk. This is why my post about it is about good company. Folks that walk their talk are good folks, and when one can associate with them, one is in good company.

Thanks!

Querido @meno, no conocía a este hombre.
A pesar de que soy músico profesional y tengo toda mi vida dedicada a ésto, no conocía ni había oído hablar de él.
Es admirable su misión de aportar esperanza y es motivador lo que tu hacer para que mejoremos cada día con estos ejemplos.
Eres inspirador, mil gracias.

Again...
THANK YOU!

I seen this guy on Ted talks. He’s amazing because Ted talk isn’t something I would watch, he grabbed my attention.
He deserves a nobel peace prize.

he is something else... unique among us sapiens!

He seems like a very interesting person. Thanks for informing us about him, @meno.

You got a 42.27% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @meno!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63852.87
ETH 3135.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83