Thoughts on Boxology

in #life6 years ago (edited)
I wish this was a full blown joke, but in actually it's partly true. If you've ever tried to run an online business selling merch there is a good chance you've dabbled in the dark art of boxology. I call it dark art, because honestly, if you don't become good at it, you will pay with the wallet, and there is nothing darker than that.



img src

Now, I would not dare to put myself to the level of the true masters, they play in a different planet. For example: I never tried making a desk out of boxes, or a dinning set, but I've made some intricate things before, for fun or for some sort of weird necessity.

Why am I talking about boxes, today of all days, monday? Well because, I'm packing a bunch of stuff, im sending out some guitars today (the ones I gave away, will do more later) and boxology had to make a triumphant entrance. I'm sincerely laughing at the fact that I've actually learned how to make this chimera boxes that can contain just about everything, and do so safely.

You may not know this but...

Cardboard is an amazing material


I know what you are going to say, "what about the trees?". I know, but that is a separate conversation all together. This post is about boxology and the powers of cardboarding your life. Which of course is something that even me, a pseudo hippy, has to admire.



Believe it or not, as amazing as it is for you to see someone riding a bike made out of cardboard on this picture, this is not the most incredible thing I've seen in muh life, not even close. Of course, understanding how a cardboard can be constructed, how interchanging the direction of the grooves and stacking them at specific air gaps can make it strong enough to hold a man's weight, complete makes the next little cardboard toy explainable.

This...




Takes the cake....

You wanna call bovine excrement?

I would not blame you, not in the slightest. As a matter of fact when someone sent me this video I watched with the attention of a starving hawk to see if at some point in time I had been bamboozled. You might now know this, but I build guitars from scratch, I buy the lumber, put in hundreds of hours of work and make them into instruments, so this, this crazy idea was precisely up my alley.

Just because I'm sure someone will still think this is some photoshop ninjism... check out the video of its construction for yourself. If you are a guitar player, you will not believe your eyes/ears.

Anyways my friends, I hope that you leave this blog today with a new found respect for the boxologists and the tape connoisseurs. They deserve it, right?


• Openmic Week 99 Top 5 and Honorable Mentions
• Its just an act of rebellion
• Against your own defense - Dust Sweeper
• All those broken cell phones..
• Shhh... don't tell em

Sort:  


With plastic cardboard, you can really make some interesting stuff. Plastic cardboard is waterproof so it can be used outdoors for a lot of things.

I suddenly feel less insane for all the makeshift cardboard things I have around my office. Thanks for this!

cardboard boxes..am I right...

hahahah that episode was epic

I have never seen anything this crazy before and I think it is bloody brilliant.

Oh man, it's good to see Chester Bennington, having a good day, in that video.

Seeing him perform the Numb-Encore Remix, live in Milton Keynes, with Jay Z is one of my most treasured musical memories.

If you can get from cardboard to Chester, it was worth reading about cardboard, and pretty amazing to see that guitar. I do still feel bad for the folks standing in assembly lines being forced by Amazon to box one item every second, or else they're fired.

Maybe next time, you can do bubble wrap. Bubble wrap is even more fun than cardboard. Ask any kid. :)

hahahah yes, i gotta a bunch of that around here too!

I have a cheap chair that the cushion sagged in the center to much. So I put some cardboard and plastic bags inside the cushion and voila! It isnt even noisy from the plastic and is comfortable again. Lol

there you go, a fellow boxology enthusiast!

Hi @meno! We are @steem-ua, a new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation! Your post is eligible for our upvote! Thanks for your contribution, keep up the good work, and feel free to join our Discord server!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58647.58
ETH 2550.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50