Too Old?

in #life7 years ago

I-1091028952-picsay.jpg

Age, it's a terrible thing. It catches up with you in all manner of ways that you don't expect. You go down the stairs in the morning and your knees ache slightly. You think, WTF man, I used to zoom down flights of stairs like this in one mighty leap?

Being a cheery sort of soul I usually bat away feelings of decrepitude in the same way I wave lazily at a bothersome fly.

After all, it is only a number right? However today I was presented with a genuine first world problem.

14961g679icsay_20170714134145988.jpg

That fantastical activity of youth. Getting jiggy to the beats in a darkened cavern. Preferably having imbibed lots of beer and tequila shots before hand.

14961g679icsay_20170714134438747.jpg

The thing is though...

When are you too old to go clubbing?

Today I was on my lunch break, happily minding my own business. I was sitting outside by the river near my workplace admiring my finely muscled arms as they dipped into a packet of crisps and transported them to my mouth. A fine activity which I have taken up with relish instead of smoking.

I might lament this new hobby in a month or two but heck, one problem at a time.

One of my work mates popped up like a zit before a wedding.

Alright dude, enjoying the sun?

Aye, its magic.

He opened his cigarettes, lit one and breathed out a satisfied cloud of smoke.

Want one?

14961g679icsay_20170714140743868.jpg

His offer was genuine but the rabid dog inside my head that passes for my brain on a Friday snarled with indignation.

Nah, it's cool mate. I've chucked it.

Really?

He looked at me in that slightly disappointed fatherly way that smokers do to ex smokers who have decided to leave the club and forge their own path.

I changed the subject rapidly so as not to spend my whole lunch break talking about cigarettes and asked him what he was up to at the weekend.

14961g679icsay_20170714145153657.jpg

Cannae wait man, got Praia the night. Mad after party in SWG3. It's gonna be mental.

That sentence above might not make much sense if you don't live in Glasgow. Essentially though, he was going on a mad dancey boat ride on the river (Praia) followed by an even madder after cruise club night. The very kind that I used to quite enjoy.

Hey, av goat a spare ticket. Ye up for it? We're gonnae tear the roof aff the place!

Errm, too short notice mate. Fatherhood and all that jazz. Sorry.

Of course man, of course. Hey, wait... Its the Optimo's 20th birthday party in a couple of weeks. You up for that?

The world stopped turning, his smokey smoke hung still before us both. This is exactly the kind of night I used to be a huge fan of. These nights are rarer now, what with being a dad and all. It's not as much fun to go out and come home at five in the morning half deaf and smelling of pizza. Then having to deal with a demanding toddler one hour later. I thought fast and furiously.

Should I go? Should I not go?

Was I too old at forty odd to go clubbing? My heart said no but an insidious voice in my head sneered at me.

Old bastart, you are too fucking old. Behave yourself. Dick.

The silence stretched out, my work mate took a big enthusiastic drag on his cigarette and blew out a massive cloud of smoke. Bollocks, some of it seemed to be getting in my eye.

Err, I will check with the missus dude. Should be cool

No worries, tap me up if you are goin and we will go as a squad, rip the arse right oot it!

He wandered off. My eye watered slightly. Was it the smoke? Or was it a tear for my erstwhile clubbing career? It had been so long.

Then I thought, Fuck it. I am gonna go. After all, who could resist the temptation to...

Rip the arse right oot it!

But still, that little voice mocks me. Old basturt. It says.

Sort:  

Same here mate! Gonna have two toddlers soon and that is hard to handle when you are hung over after a lot of pizza. ))

I will have two in October, it will be impossible to handle then!!!

You must go. And you are not only going for you. You are going for all of the guys our age who used to be cool. You are going for all the people who are still cool in their hearts... but super lame in their... well everything else. You must go. And you must have fun. then you need to post about this fun so we can live vicariously through you!

Well if that isn't the kind of endorsement that will give me the super boost I needed to go then I don;t know what is!

Tis done! I will go. I suspect the post I make on it may be more along the lines of the abject misery the day after lol!! Cheers dude!

Hahaha! Not if you Rip the arse right oot it with the right strain instead of beer or Mexican worm hooch.
It's the best thing for 40-something joint capsules too...keeps them un-inflammed and well lubed.
Do I need to explain the benefits of well-placed lube when your 40+?
I think not. Nice post. :)

Well said, mate!

ahahahaha being to old for clubbing and getting drunk is a GOOD THING!
I just hope ur not to old to run around and play with ur younglings!
Love You Brudda!

Cheers man!! I will make sure to keep enough energy for both! The clubbing is a rare event these days thankfully!

hahahahahaahaha yea, its kinda fun but I find it much more rewarding to focus in on the true life importances and build around that.
Priorities~*~

I agree! The madness of my life lies largely in the past. I think it must be the prospect of second fatherhood I am getting one more night out of my system! :O)

hhahahahaaha live it up buddy!

Apparently a scientific study was recently conducted (I heard it on the radio so it's got to be ligit) that established 27 was the cut-off age for going clubbing.

That definer sounds like a legit study!! In that case I had better be careful I don't get caught by the club polees!

Yes seriously, better be careful!

To old, nah... Just everybody else getting younger right!

They are!! Every time I go out I notice this :0p

ah well, you are to old when you accually feel to old, otherwise you are not :)

I will go with that, the secret then will be in the beer which will make me feel like a young buck!!

I hope you went, you are never too old!! Although you might wish that you had listened to your sensible side when your hangover and toddler collide ;-)

Its in two weeks. I am determined to go. The next day will be awful. MAy as well get these things out the way before the baby arrives! Hows all things fathery with you?

HolySmoke! ... Once you start drinking you'll likely go for a cigarette... best to let your inclination lead you away from clubbing, and closer towards your Family !!

The cigarettes will be a challenge! I have a couple of weeks to get the temptation under control. I can do it! :O)

More Power to You !!!

Oh damnnnn, that I find myself relating to this dilemma if it were presented to me is alarming, of course I'm not too old to go clubbing...right? The only reason I haven't been clubbing in some time is that...well it's quite a drive to a proper club, which means I'd have to have somewhere to crash or a DD. Yes, that is a perfectly acceptable reason!

That we feel so much less inspired to do it, well that's because it's old news not because we're old. We've been there and done that, many, many times, and what we long for is new experiences by god, like me hying my arse to Scotland to have a beer at a rowdy pub with one of my favorite people 'round the globe!

Actually...the fact that it's on a boat, I can quite confidently say that did I have the opportunity to club out on a boat, I most definitely would. If they had such a thing around here, and really they should with all of these enormous lakes.

I sincerely look forward to that post ;)

If its a proper drive then fuck that I wouldnt go either! It is true though there is an aspect of ld news to it all. Thats why I only consider going to the finest of nights :O)

Hehe, the boat was a fantastic thing in the past. If I did a post it would be largely gibberish!!

IF you make it over it will be a fantastic experience!!!!

@meesterboom,

Congratulations! You have been chosen to appear on another amazing edition of "Who to Follow Daily". Thank you for adding so much value to the Steemit community. Steem on!

WTF! Hehe, I like the name! Cheers mate :O)

I first didn't even dare to use that abbreviation but eventually I thought "WTF, just use it" :P And now almost everyody seems to like it haha

It is cool, it works!!

Oh, and some point I will make it there, even if not this fall ;)

It will be waiting, brooding and silent until you come!

Aw, I am feeling the love!! Hurry up and reach the moon steemit, so by this time next year I can buy a little cottage in the Scottish country (by which I mean not the city ;)

Doing a short post this morning, some photos of a local coffee shop and a question. One that I am really interested in the answer to if anyone knows.

Are you quaking with curiosity? Haha!

I am quaking!!! I am also thinking WTF man, isnt it like four in the morning there!! You keep my kind of hours!!

If steem moons like that I will buy a place alongside neebur!

Yeah, it was that late, ugh, I sometimes have a bit of insomnia ;

Here's to hoping it moons!

hahahaha well said @dreemit !

Hahaha, think that is a great account name too... @oalbasturt

Yep man, it is a burden, I feel the pain. That day when you take a leak and notice you have to stand way closer to the pot. While back in them glory days, you'd clean the whole damn thing with your beam. Leaning blootered with your back against the opposite wall, which was at two meters (approx. 6 feet) distance, while talking with the troops and a pint in the other hand.

And now, almost leaning against the rim. Waiting for it to start and knowing ye just cannot walk away after you think you're done... Because there is the last drop and then some. But still refuse to sit down, because, well you know, that looks silly on a urinoir, while between young clubbling dudes. They already called you gramps and were asking if ye were here to pick up yer daughter or somethin'.

Anyhoo, with that little puf pattern thing, I see you went to stage two: "Hmm, what to eat next..." At one part, good sign, good. And you already understood the next level, but it will work out fine mate!

There are great things to do for men that have reached a certain mature age. At least that I was told when I was supposed to have reached the age of the wise Abraham. Well, never mind that last bit...

Cheers mate, it aint half bad getting older.

It's worse. ;-)

Its worse!! ROFL!!

You hit a very true point. All this close to the bowl nonsense! WTF, I mean I was used to extinguishing burning buildings in my heyday. Now I would have to be inside scatterring a few drops around, hehe

Yes indeed, crisps are a very good way of keeping myself occupied when I have a bad moment. Of course soon there will be posts entitled with such nonsense as Losing all that beef or Look at the state of me!

Hahaha, yes, wherever there was a fire, they'd find the help of a young dude with a full beered up bladder to put it out. While still be holding a pint in the other hand, keeping it going, while smiling at the new girlfriend.

Glory days, passing by... :-)

With those future post, you will absolutely get a lot of replies on those!
But first enjoy the taste and smell returning.

I have noticed the taste. The smell is probably doomed thanks to a rubbish noise to begin with!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57824.98
ETH 3133.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42