The Tree Of Life

in #life7 years ago

IMG-PHOTO-ART-621062692.jpg

Today the Doula came to visit. The good lady had me up early scrubbing the toilet because obviously, women can be a bit odd about visitors and clean toilets, Perhaps she wanted to show that we could have the baby in there if push came to shove.

The allotted time came and the Doula bustled in. My head was slightly tender from last nights beer so I had my strategy all laid out for getting through the next couple of hours. A simple strategy, but none the less one which I am sure would make this visit relatively painless. The strategy was threefold.

Firstly: Smile a lot.

Secondly: Make reassuring noises at the right times.

Thirdly: Nod thoughtfully, perhaps even stroking my chin with forefinger and thumb. Maybe throw in a narrowing of the eyes once or twice.

I served up coffees for us all.

IMG_20170826_193448477_1_1_20170827195911760.jpg

At first it all seemed pretty harmless. She talked about organising childcare for when the main event kicked off.

I nodded thoughtfully.

The talk turned to the birth itself. Calming music and water baths were discussed. My good lady and the Doula agreed with each other on their joint thinking.

I made a reassuring noise and nodded.

IMG_20170826_193448477_1_1_20170827200154908.jpg

The Doula asked if we wanted to keep the placenta.

I choked on my coffee and made a loud spluttering sound. They both looked at me with some concern.

Are you alright Daddy?

Asked the Doula. Never mind how incongruous that seemed. The only people who called me Daddy were my daughter and the good lady and even then she reigned it in when our daughter wasn't present.

I coughed again.

Something went down the wrong way.

I smiled. Then nodded, like one of those ornamental dogs in cars. The placenta?! Why the fuck would we want that purple ham shoulder of terror?

You know the placenta is actually quite beautiful in a very natural way?

I stared at her with a mounting sense of terror and the urge to *boak.
*Boak being a quaint Scottish term for vomiting profusely.

In some cultures they call it the Tree of Life, all the arteries that lead to it are like branches with the organ itself like the beautiful tree canopy. Some people like to take it home. You can use it in smoothies.

Right, that was it. I was all set to get the broom from the cupboard and chase her with it the way I would an errant fox that strayed into my kitchen. Instead, I sputtered,

IMG_20170826_193448477_1_1_20170827200454659.jpg

Yes, although I understand that's not everyone's cup of tea, other people like to bury it in their garden. It having nursed their child through all of its life in the womb. It's very respectful.

Why?! Why the fuck would I want that thing buried in my garden? I have watched far too many zombie films to have that lump of twisted meat lurking there under the soil plotting my fucking doom. What if I woke up one night and it had forced it's way in and crawled up and tried to force it's muddy way into my mouth?

That was it. I was going to tell this Doula straight. There was no fucking way we were taking that thing home with us. No way!

Urgh no. Thats bloody disgusting.

The good lady butted in, thankfully saving me from full on melting like that dude at the end of Raiders of The Lost Ark.

Ok, if you are both sure.

I narrowed my eyes and nodded thoughtfully. Slowly stroking my chin with forefinger and thumb.

Yes, we're sure.

Sort:  

push comes to shove??? 😂😂😂 And I'm a woman, mom of 3, this placenta thing...eeeeuw. People have shit for brains.

It has always freaked me out but even taking it and burying it was a total new one on me!!

clean the toilet - is very important :)
it's a woman's thing :P
keep the placenta? hmm.. well, actually ... some cosmetics use that :D
can you imagine kissing a woman smeared with it camouflaged on a white cream though :D

No no no!!! OMGZ!! I can't. I am scarred!! Yeeks!!!

ahahha
but but but .. it smells good
they've covered and processed it all up already
they even eat that in a certain country in Asia
I just can't mention it cause i dont want to offend the peeps

The idea is just nasty to me!! It's foosty!! :0D

I swear by it... I still have my placenta and use it when I'm overly sick, and stressed. it makes since ... we are the only mammal that stopped eating ours. it hold all of the hormones of your body for almost a year. I think personally eating horse urine thats in most birth controls is odd.

encapsulation is common. it just looks like a vitamin

The tree of life thing I've heard of plenty before, and I can somehow understand it in a way, but SMOOTHIES?! No way, nuh-uh. The point in having a child is not to leave him as an orphan because his parents boaked to death O.o
Hey look at me, I'm starting to learn some Scottish slang following your blogs ;)

Hey hey! You got it exactly right too. Honorary Scot alert!! :0D

Yeah, I think the idea is fecking foul!!

I'm still laughing, you can really tell a story descriptively! I hear that it can be used medically if the child develops problems later in life, but smoothies!!!???🤢
Now you made me follow you 🤣

I shall follow ya back ;0)

And thank you!

No, thank you, I needed a good belly laugh today.

BASTARD! now I'm going to need to see a psychiatrist before I can drink another strawberry smoothie.
I believe you can also cook and eat them... perhaps even throw a little placenta on the BBQ?

Double bastard!! Now I won't be able to look at one the same way either!!!!

No chance, my barbecue is remaining placenta free!!! :0D

if the world, or Scotland, will be plagued by an horde of dead walking, ravenous, Placentipedes, it will be YOUR FAULT! ;D

Oh noes... What have I done!!!! :0D

Being a mother and a grandmother I can respond to this: NO WAY! I carried that thing around inside me long enough. I don't need that to remind me! And Definitely NO Smoothies! OMG!

I had heard of that whole eating it nonsense before. I was fine with dismissing that out of hand even though it is foul but even taking it away. Yikes. I mean what would they give you it in, a fecking carrier bag?!?! NOOOOO!

No. Ziplock freezer bag so you can keep in the freezer right next to your ice cream! LOL

Mmmmmm!! You are almost selling it!! ;O)

Never!

HAHAHA I laughed out loud!! My response to this situation would have equally memorable. I am with you on this.

The part about the placenta-zombie crawling from your back yard was top-drawer.

Cheers,
bucky

It was all I could think of!!! Seething placenta zombie horror!! :0D

Haha Very David Lynch-ian. The scene in Twin Peaks.....

Lol, the mouth crawling!!

It's hard to get used to that image...cold shivers...

It does give the shivers, yeek!

I had my reaction when I read about the placenta, read it again, I thought it was a mistake, but it was true, I was offering to get the placenta, hoo, nooo! How awful! I try to imagine his face and think that I would do in that situation, laverad I left with the thumb and the index taken the chin.
Excellent work dear friend, it was a very fun afternoon, thank you very much for sharing this experience.
I wish you a beautiful Sunday

I wish you a beautiful placenta free Sunday too @jlufer!!

My face was quite the picture!!

That was priceless! Thanks for the visual of the horror story, lmao!!

Straight out of the walking dead! hehe!

Oh. My. Goodness. I have NEVER heard of this before! Well, I guess you can always learn something new every day. Very glad you didn't keep it for smoothies! Would that be extra protein or...??? What an interesting day :-).

I have no idea what class placenta sits in. The thought of slurping it down give me the heebers!!! :0)

I can't even! I'm all for "to each their own" but this is way far out there.

It is beyond the pail!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64916.21
ETH 3483.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45