The Fisher Folk

in #life7 years ago

IMG-PHOTO-ART--2097120543_20170607170836879.jpg

Today is a momentous day. Due to the election being held tomorrow we have had to call on family from far-flung shores to assist in that most important of tasks. Babysitting.

Oh yes. Elections here commandeer all local spaces for us to cast our precious vote. I could write long and large on the vagaries of our voting system. I shall however refrain. Because I have other concerns. We have invited family from the East Coast of Scotland to watch our precious child.

Watching.gif

You might ask...

14961g67909-picsay_20170604203547032_20170605205032948_20170607171339036.jpg

Well my friends. Perhaps you have visions of Scotland in your head. Visions of purple clad mountains with a lone bagpiper at the bottom squeezing out a jarring, screeching noise from an animal trapped under their arm?

This noise goes a long way to explaining why Scottish People are so demented.

Or perhaps you had a vision of deer on the moor and a tartan clad shepherd with a long crook watching his flock singing Flower of Scotland

14961g67909-picsay_20170604203547032_20170605205032948_20170607171339036_20170607172123482.jpg

Well, it aint all like that. No. There is another side to Scotland and that, is the rural fisher folk from the villages on the coasts.

I stole my good lady from such a village and the price? A mere bag of marbles and some glittery twists of string.

Now and then I have to entertain her kin and my oh my, what a delightful experience that is.

It involves much

14961g67909-picsay_20170604203547032_20170605205032948_20170607171339036_20170607172807176.jpg

I have to cover all the reflective surfaces in the house with coarse hessian. These humble folk believe that kelpies lurk beneath the silvered panes of mirrors, waiting to pull unfortunate self gazers into their watery clutches.

14961g6790.jpg

Then I have to remove all sharp objects. Despite these humble folk living by their wits on the edge of the cruel north sea they have an aversion to steel. Instead preferring sharpened stones and implements edged with obsidian.

Feeding them is no easy task. Not for them the exotica of pasta or the ease of root vegetables. No.

Only quivering flesh, fresh killed, suits their calloused fingers and mouths.

Before each meal we are made to stand and spit on our food before yelling:

My Salty Offering is Thine!

I am afraid I have made a faux-pas on the odd occasion by issuing a different kind of salty fluid.

And then, of course there is the worst part. The communication. I have attempted to show what an East Coaster sounds like below.

And that is just how you say Good morning, what lovely day.

So there you have it, my friends. I shall report on my progress and hope that I can make it through the next 36 hours without being challenged to a rassling match on my dewy morning lawn for insulting the fish in the sea.

I do hope they use the toilet this time.

(They think that these modern flushing devices are porcelain demons with gaping mouths ready to eat them)

Sort:  

Hahaha. That video made me laugh. Reminded me of the time I spoke to my online friend from Cardiff for the first time. I had no clue what he was saying either! All the best!

And can you believe I mastered it in one take :0D Cheers man! I have had a similar problem with the Cardiff accent myself!!

ahahahahaha
that sounds like cookie monster
hahahahaha - have they got the very same expressions on your face when they speak?
ahahhaha.. what if they see this ahahaha

They do!! I am sure they will never see it as they don't trust technology ;0)

Hehe!! I don't think I have ever spoken with my genuine accent in a steemit video yet

hahahahah I was wondering about that
they'd probably laugh too hahaha
you haven't ?
when would you then?

Well truth be told I showed the missus and she laughed so I am sure they would be fine!

I don't know! I always put on a fake accent by habit. I often do when being filmed. It's silly!!

I get you - but then we must have the same reason hahaa
it's not silly - its funny

Hehe, that's exactly what I aim for :0)

Your voice is awesome in your videos. So cheery!!

A mere bag of marbles and some glittery twists of string.

As per usual, you crack me up! I'm hoping to come to Scotland this summer to hear some of these sounds in person haha

In that case make sure you bring plenty of said marbles and bits of string. You will be a celebrity!!! ;0)

Where you visiting?

Nothing booked yet, but my mom is finally coming to visit me here in Norway and wanted to take a trip in your direction, so I think we are going to fly in (Glasgow or Edinburgh presumably), rent a car, and eventually take the ferry across to Ireland as well. Suggestions are welcome. I will be sure to bring the marbles and string haha :)

Where abouts do you hail from?

That sounds fab. I be from Glasgow!! The heart of it all ;0) if you do let me know and I will rack my brains for anything half decent to see!!

Right on! You'll for sure hear from me once I have something planned :)

One of my favorite bloggers on Steemit. Always good for a smile. You need to get your own traveling show and go on tour. I used to own a set of bagpipes...never could get those things to work. I guess you need a REAL Scot to show you how. Every Scot plays the pipes, right??

Aha! I expected a follow-up to your wonderful adventure in Dundee when I read the title, and I have to say that I wasn't disappointed! It was a shorter tale for sure, but I didn't feel shortchanged at all. Perhaps because of your demonstration of their native tongue. By God, even a Babel fish might prefer being served during dinner time than translate that! Haha!

And whaaaaaattttt?? You haven't been wearing a kilt or blowing through a bagpipe when you stroll down the rolling hills on your way to the office?? It's as if my whole world has been shattered and I'm forced to question everything!

Fun fact: Kelpies are the inspiration for selfies. I mean, have you seen all of those deaths by way of selfie?? Oy vey...

Hehe, deaths by kelpie selfie!

It's hard to put the pipes down and change our if the kilt before heading to work that's for sure. :0)

The video lends a lot to it. I felt a demonstration was far better than paragraph describing trolls chewing rocks :0)

Yeah, I guess... It's a hard commute too, what with all the sheep running around, all the fighting, and don't get me started about Nessie!

When the video buffered, I totally didn't know what to expect, but after watching it, it was everything I could've ever hoped for! Haha Made me laugh out loud for sure yesterday.

Hehe, I am glad the video went down well!!

Yeah the commute, ooft. Don't get me started! The errant haggis running under your feet as you march through the heather to the station. The endless rain! Ah, Scotland!!

At least you have a great view of the ocean and mountains everywhere you turn, right? If you ever get bored, there's always the Highland Games to participate in haha!

That's right, exegete we look there are missions and fish and seas and free folk crying freedom :0)

hahah that was just so funny!!! you are a great guy!!

Here, thank you very much! :0)

Lawdy, calling that video funny is the understatement of the year. Thanks for some riotous guffaws, throughout. Have fun this weekend, and enjoy the fish with the relatives from the seaside.

Cheers mate and the very same to you!!

I enjoyed that video myself :0D

Very funny. I've never been to Scotland but you do paint a picture of what to expect. Lol!

From tiny villagers of fishermen to angry city dwellers lol!! Come on over!! :0)

Once again, what a great post! I like it! :)

Cheers man, I am very happy you liked it! :0)

The sound of bagpipe always makes me think parade.

Me too, in a painful Scottish way lol

Good luck meester! Sounds like you'll need it!

Lol, I do indeed! Cheers for the support!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66598.01
ETH 3236.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.66