Munchy Box

in #life6 years ago

IMG-PHOTO-ART--1029799831.jpg

Son, I need to talk to you.

The text popped up on my phone from my mum.

I stared down at it. A sense of unease prickling up and down my back. I wasn't a teenager masturbating in the bathroom anymore so messages like this tended to fill me with a sense of foreboding.

A million and one things filled my head. Both my Mum and my Dad were getting on a bit and to be honest, their health is not the best.

I quickly dialled her number.

kgzrdt8_20180907132542251_20180909145226214_20180910141453854.jpg

Hello son.

She said cheerily.

What is it you need to talk about Mum? Everything ok?

Oh son. I will tell you when you come down for a visit.

Tell me now, mum.

No no. Don't be daft. You know I don't like the phone.

This is true. My parents come from an era where people hold phones like they are vicious serpents ready to bite. I tried to convince her to talk but she was having none of it.

kgzrdt8_20180907132542251_20180909145226214_20180910141640063.jpg

My imagination was going into overdrive. I knew my brother had been in Hospital lately. Was that it? My Dad had a new hobby of falling over randomly and bashing his head. Was that it? Oh dear. Too many things to consider.

My family are an odd bunch at times. They never want to make a fuss. Which is why I get concerned when they act a bit mysterious. I am half worried that I will pop up for a visit one day and they will tell me I missed my dad's funeral earlier in the week.

kgzrdt8_20180907132542251_20180909145226214_20180910145310300.jpg

Well, I'm missing nothing. I hopped in the car and decided to pay a surprise visit.

In no time at all, I was at their door.

My Dad answered and ushered me in.

You working the day?

He asked merrily.

No, you know I don't work Mondays.

I said it every time but it never stuck. He ushered me into the front room.

I am glad you are here, your Mum's got something to tell you.

My insides turned to ice. This must be bad. I steeled myself for some horrible news. My mum was sitting on the couch looking a little frail when I went in. I could almost see the grim reaper standing in a corner of the room.

kgzrdt8_20180907132542251_20180909145226214_20180910145536276.jpg

Oh hello son, this is a nice surprise!

Yes indeed, I was passing and I thought, what is it Mum wanted to tell me? So I thought I would pop in.

She shook her head and chuckled.

There was no need but... You are here now. Take a seat. I have something to tell you.

I felt a sob bubble up from deep down. Oh man, please don't be terrible news, I thought desperately, despite having that awful sense that it was going to be.

My Mum reached under the table and pulled out a slightly grease-stained 16-inch pizza box. She turned to me, her eyes alight with pleasure and amazement.

See that new Pizza shop that opened at the bottom of the street? They do a "Munchy Box" for 10 pounds. Look at it. Look!

kgzrdt8_20180907132542251_20180909145226214_20180910145703351.jpg

She opened the box and showed me cold greasy leftovers lurking about within.

She pointed at something that looked like a battered goat's penis, then moved her finger over the rest of the box.

Chicken pakora, mushroom pakora, kebab meat, battered sausage, black pudding and chips!

She shook her head in wonderment.

Is that not amazing?!

She said.

I looked at the Munchy Box and then at her in astonishment. My Dad came in at that moment with a cup of tea.

What do you make of it, son? Look at all that meat. For a tenner! Bloody amazing.

I shook my head in slight disbelief.

Aye, that is truly amazing.

Old Bastards.

Sort:  

Sometimes, they just need to see you personally. Maybe you need to get them use video call on the phone or something like skype.

Oh how I wish they could. That's the thing though they are too old and resistant to change to adopt any tech. They don't have WiFi!

That is amazing!!
I wish I had parents like yours, mine just bore me with a truckton of catastrophies. Boring!

Did you get a photo of you with the munchie box?

Hehe, no, I was scared to touch the horrible thing. It was literally sodden with animal fat!!

Was quite a bargain for a tenner though I must admit, lol!!

My family are an odd bunch at times

Shocking! You don't say! I certainly could not have guessed that from you...lool

Well at least it isn't death. I will simply stand up and leave while laughing at myself

I was rather relieved it wasn't death myself. I do wish they would just fess up on the phone though to prevent my brain going into overdrive!!

It is amazing that parents now worry you when you used to worry them. The tables have turned. I missed my dad's funeral by the way and my father in laws. That was an odd mistake though. We were told a time and it changed and no one told us. All worked out well but I took the blame for the family's cock up. No one told me honest lol.

Kings, that's a horror and no mistake. It's my far that they will genuinely tell me something like that after the fact. They have never gotten to grips with me going off to work in an office instead of in a bin. So now they hesitate to trouble me withtrifling things!

Trifling things to you but that is what rocks their world now. Pizza from down the road.

Yeek, I didn't mean trifling to me. I meant they think they are trifling to me, lol.

Every day above sod is a good day!!!


But, to leave a son in suspense like that might accelerate their journey below the sod.

I agree. If above, all well!!

Parents and their things se dice que de tal arbol esta la astilla @meesterboom
You are very similar to your parents, it would be amazing to talk to them, I would not stop laughing.
I like the part where you say that the phones are like a snake for them hehehe.
my grandmother is like that

It's so true! They hold it like it is their most bitter enemy!

Yes, oh nooooooooo! it's as if they thought the phone was going to eat them
my good grandmother finds it hard to use it, how do you use that?
this does not work! Well, ellos y sus cosas

HAHAHAHAHAHAHA OMG I can't believe this! You were mentalizando to receive the worst news in the world and just wanted to talk about pizza HAHAHAHA no doubt you have a fantastic parents

They did take me quite by surprise!!

Wow!!! The “We need to talk” or “I have something to tell you” imply a topic way more pressing than the great food deal down the road. The funniest part is the required visit in order to share this monumental news. After all that how can you be frustrated? Just go with the flow. I hope you bought the special on the way home.

I would have called ahead and they could have bought a hot one for me to sample!!

Priorities shift when you grow older, I suppose.

They do! Oh they do! You're back, sort of! Are you back?

Still can't be bothered to post here, what with the state of curating and other goings-on, but it feels weird to read things and not comment.

So I commented.

I did make some test posts on this Steemit clone called Weku, just to see what's what. It seems somebody, probably Noganoo, already registered your name there. You can use this referral link if you want to register there and call him a prick: https://deals.weku.io/pick_account?referral=ocrdu . It will also give me many Wekus, whatever those may be.

I thank you for your comment. It's good to know you are still here in that respect! Have you contemplated steem-ua or read up on that?

Read up, yes. Anything is better than the rep thing we have now, but I don't like it much they stuck a voting bot onto it.

PS. I edited the comment above.

I saw the edit, I read a post in which it said that many names had been claimed by someone or someone's.

Fortunately they have to be fast to claim mine! Although it might just be that I ain't important enough for a spammer to get in first.

The voting bot and the big delegators payouts isn't ideal. I wonder if it's something we will look back on and shake our heads. On saying that I did delegate so I have a cheek

Is this you then, or were they indeed fast? https://deals.weku.io/@meesterboom

I have a son that does that. Teases you along before he drops the shoe! Must have learned that from his grandparents...🤨🤔🙄 But I think if he ever called me over for a munchy box ...🔫🤯💢

Hehe, yeah, it's just not right!!!!! I will be having a word with them!

I went into a one on one meeting with a former boss one day while i was at my job. The person that was over my boss was also there "To lend emotional support." I thought I was being fired. Turns out, they just wanted me to try and handle my time better at work so I could get more tasks done. Yeah. Thanks for the chat. Thought I was being fired. :-P

Lol, I dunno, that would still have sent chills down my spine thinking. They're watching me!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61040.35
ETH 2922.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31