Mad Stout Beers!

in #life6 years ago

151655sh_20180512105404503_20180908100004515.jpg

My feed is empty but my glass is full.
- meesterboom 2018

Raar!! Heed the words of the wise man!!! Sometimes, on a Saturday I will dwell on the great problems we encounter in life. Then I think.

Fuck it, it's Saturday. Bring on the beer.

And as if by magic the beer comes!!

I won't lie to you, this week I was totally taken in by some funky labels. They are just extraordinary! Let's get a look at the first one.

Datdud_2018_20180825103536647_20180901125107181_20180908101203044.jpg

First thing to notice is the name. I mean, what the hickory dickory dock!? It is quite the long one. Still. I do like it. As well as their funky can design.

Let me show you.

20180908_101735.gif

She looks to be a plucky lass eh!

Anyway, enough of the snash. I am no bug-eyed fool, easily taken in by a drawing of a pretty blonde fighting a dragon. Honest. So how does it taste?

20180908_193507.jpg

Cor, I didn't expect this little lady to be so black, so deep looking. Looks tasty. Go video man, go!!

Ah, that's lovely. Sometime you get a really pleasant beer that does what it is meant to do splendidly well. This is a good toasty, malty stout. A lively caramel finish with a hint of sweet bitterness.

A fine job! 8/10 booms!

And next we have this big American menace!!

Datdud_2018_20180825103536647_20180901125107181_20180908101405281.jpg

Another jazzy can as can be seen below by my sexy giffage!

20180908_193229.gif

This has all the hallmarks of being a big boys drink. It has a cool design, with skulls no less and some boastful blurb about being worth 35K on the side.

Can it live up to its own hype?

20180908_195020.jpg

It's another denizen of the deep. Almost no head just sheer ink as if a squid pissed in my glass.

Get you in my mouth you sleek panther of a beer!!

It's a good beer. Not as characterful as the last I feel. A pleasing fizz in the mouth but not much toast for all that blackness. A little malty. A little hint of toffee but I was hoping for a touch more sweetness from the milk part of the stout. Still it's very drinkable! 7.5 booms!

Well, a fine tasting. Nothing completely outstanding but some pleasantry to be had. Would I get either of these again? The first most certainly, the second, most likely not but I did enjoy it.

Now, forgive me. I must shuck my clothing and run with the wild things!

20180908_195302.jpg

Cheers everyone!

Sort:  

Since I think that is the longest name of a beer I've ever heard, I feel it would be well complemented by the longest title of a song I've ever heard:

Elderly woman behind the counter in a small town

That looks so delicious that I feel I must run to the store and find something similar. And a perfect song for the send off into beer oblivion if I do say so ;)

Bahahaaaha!! That is the longest song titlei have seen! I will have to listen, I don't think I know that one!!! Hurrah for the beer!!

Oh, most definitely listen, that's one of my favorites. Not just of Pearl Jam's, but songs in general.

Most definitely Hurrah!! Who said "Beer is how we know God loves us?" LOL

Haha, oh man. I like that line!! That's a keeper!

The longest song title I've heard was Lying is the Most Fun a Girl Can Have Without Taking Her Clothes Off by Panic! At the Disco haha!

If you don't mind a stout with a difference, I highly recommend having a crack at this little beauty

20180909_194632.jpg

It's brewed in Tasmania, Australia but they will ship internationally.

20180909_194641.jpg

Oh aye, that looks right up my street! I will defo keep an eye out for it. It has the kind of name that would catch my eye right away!

Looks like my atrocious photography skills have cut off the website on the bottom of the label in that second picture. It's www.2mt.com.au. The brewer actually studied and trained as a winemaker so he applies some interesting techniques to his products.

OH aye, very good. I have had a few interesting beers from brewers who do some funky aging in wine barrels etc so it will be cool to try it!

The last lot of strange beers I bought didn't go down very well. I'm not talking about problems with my gullet, but in the fact of keeping me up all night with acid reflux. I'm getting too old for this shit.. hmm.

However I do keep drinking the stuff and was surprised to find that https://wildweatherales.com/the-brewery/ are in the south and not from where your accent indicates.

Just for future ref... you should probably avoid these.. unless you have a pure alkaline constitution.

IMG_3549.JPG

I think I have seen that Pitchfork one before. I will keep that in mind to avoid! I hate beers that do that.

Yeah, wild weather, all the way down at the bottom of this fair isle! I would defo try one of theirs again!!

And you are never too old for this shit :OD

Every beer in such a cool cans deserves a tasting! This Saturday I will make a wine night, ya cant always have it all right!

Wine is perfectly acceptable, I love a good wine night! Wine and tv, mmm mm!!

Im sticking to wine and Foo Fighters tonight :D

Aw man, that's even better!

8.3% on the clock! 6 of those and you'll be more than just running with the wild things sir!

Comedy text, a gif, and a short sampling video - It doesn't get any better than that with regards to post production Cheers @meesterboom!

Lol, I like to throw a bit of everything in there! I was a bit the sheets to the wind as well later, lol.

Cheers mate!

It's Alice fighting the Jabberwocky! XD Glad you got some good beers this weekend :)

I was quite glad too, nothing outrageous but fine solid beers all the same. It was an enjoyable night!!

That last line sounds dangerous, if the wild things shuck their clothing as well we will be congratulating a new, repeat, daddy on 9 months time.
Keep it in your pants lad, there is far less risk and the washing machine can remove the damage.

No, No more!! The children pipe is getting sabotaged! Well, not literally but you never know!

Ah, a quick snip, walk bandy legs for a week, then you have a good toy to offer.

Lol, not yet!

You can easily make those beers in a coffee cup. So you can start the day at work easier without people annoying you with miserable questions about why you drink beer in the morning!

Also, the longer the name the darker the bear?

I think that might be an un-before known rule, darker the longer!

I am half tempted at times. Wouldnt that make the work day fly!

What is it with these beer cans looking like cartoons. I know the market is competitive and they need an edge but that is nuts. Well at least you picked some decent ones this week and what a shame as we didn't get to see that face of disgust and horror.

I was half hoping I could wheel out the face of horror but it wasn't to be! Dammit, there is always next week. Perhaps I should just give in and review Heineken!

No thanks. The interesting ones are far better as it is like Christmas , you just never know what you might get.

Yeah the very idea of drinkng it is giving me the boak!!

What is your favorite beer?

I have several but my three top favourites at the moment are all Tempest beers. Mexicake (chipotle beer) Mango Berliner and the fine Dios Mios (jalapeno beer)

Ah, that brewery just keeps getting it right!!

Then just a thought do a stonking beer taste extraordinaire. Do all 3 and try and pick a winner. At least you will enjoy that experience.

I would more than enjoy it! The good lady did suggest something similar. I can't get Dios Mios just now though, damn things are seasonal for some bastard reason!

gotta love the can designs I dont drink much but I bet you have quite the collection of fancy beer cans...I also bet some of them could be worth a pretty penny in years to come...lol...if you dont have one you should start a collection!

upvoted and resteemed

I never thought of that, it's shame that each and every one has been papped in the bin!! Maybe I should start, lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60268.51
ETH 3201.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43