Flower Water

in #life7 years ago

IMG-PHOTO-ART--2043270286.jpg

18 Days before the dawning of the new son. We went to the hospital for the final scan. Upon arrival, we met The Doula and all trooped in together. The waiting room was busy. The good lady and The Doula discussed tactics like it was a wrestling match against a particularly devious foe.

151su_20170908172613975_20170909195714258_20170911194855121_20170912175601750_20170914182308481_20170915170248465.jpg

As is my wont, I listened and nodded my head at random times and made my patented reassuring noises.

It was going well.

The doula began to talk about Flower remedies and my ears perked up at this. She discussed how these distillations from flowers could help with a lot of the symptoms the good lady was suffering as a side effect of carrying a child the size of a large dog in her tummy.

151su_20170908172613975_20170909195714258_20170911194855121_20170912175601750_20170914182308481_20170915170510458.jpg

I couldn't help it. Flower remedies? I asked how they worked.

Flower remedies are a very old medicine. Flowers and the distillation of them can help with 38 different maladies.

The Doula said this earnestly whilst fixing me with her big honest eyes in her big honest face.

Is it like, just flowers in water?

Oh no, the flowers and water solution is exposed to sunlight to accelerate the energy transfer from the flowers.

The Doula said this earnestly whilst fixing me with her big staring eyes in her big staring face.

I snorted like a horse that's stood on a cactus but so as not to appear rude quickly pretended I had sneezed.

So, it's flowers in water exposed to sunlight?

Oh yes.

The Doula breathed in deeply and closed her eyes.

The solution is then mixed with brandy to make the Mother Tincture

151su_20170908172613975_20170909195714258_20170911194855121_20170912175601750_20170914182308481_20170915171940335.jpg

What the fuck? For real? I looked around me, everyone was acting normally and there was no sign of hidden cameras. I dug out my dormant skill of diplomacy.

What a load of pish!
note - pish is Glasgow talk for piss, as in urine. It is often used like "bullshit" as in - No way, you're talking pish!

The Doula opened her eyes with a start. She fixed me with a hurt look from her big hurt face. Then she recovered her serene calm.

I guess it's all about belief and a willingness to try alternative medicine.

She smiled endearingly.

I narrowed my eyes.

She smiled even more endearingly.

I looked at the good lady. Who was looking on in amusement.

No, that's pure pish.

The Doula nodded her head wisely. She could obviously tell when bested but she was a fighter and wasn't done yet. She turned to my good lady. Gently, with her big reassuring face, she spoke.

It's not for everyone that is true. However, you are more than welcome to try it. Shall I get some for you?

The good lady smiled manically like the hormone-laden loon she has become.

No thank you, it does sound a bit like pish.

Mentally I leapt up and high fived the missus. That's my girl!

Sort:  

I dont know how to express how I feel when I read your posts. To me I feel like a fly on the wall watching you as you describe exactly what you feel and it feels as though I am there as well. Buy her some flowers and let her look at them. That will do her a lot better, only an old ladies opinion.

Yeah I think flowers are a good thing but not in solution to drink :0)

And I am half that my writing has that effect, means it's working!

Flower remedies for labour. I know where just to shove those. Hard drugs.

Exactly!! Drugs! Lots of them, none of this namby pamby flowery water nonsense!!!

I have the t-shirt. Flowers might get you killed.

They very might. Steer clear. Do things properly!!

chico hahahaha
i hate to admit but its trueeeeee :D
peace !

btw what does a horse standing on a cactus' snort sound like? Taylor swift? hihihi

Hahahah! Yes! It does sound exactly like Tayor Swift when she does one of her "rap" bits! lolz

It aint true! :op

ha ha ha This is too funny! You did well showing how you felt by this pish! I love and respect alternative medicine, but this is definitely NOT alternative medicine. This is tree hugging stuff. Don't get me wrong, I love trees too, just know it's not gonna help a woman 'push' through labour. So many people would just stay quiet for fear of 'offending' the 'professional' or simply feeling pressured to believe whatever someone in uniform tells them. So high five to you and the missus ✋

Oh definitely, I am quite the advocate of some alternative medicine but pushing a many limbed writhing thing out under the influence of some diluted flower water aint gonna cut it!

Aw not long to go!

Yeah, if someone had offered me some flowers in water (and sunlight) while I was in labour they would have got a swift karate kick in the unmentionables!

I even googled it afterward to make sure it wasn't done kind of prank and it really is a thing. Madness!!

Imagine if the doula had indeed been pranking you!!

Heh heh heh... I'll show that Meester Boom... I'll sell him on flowers in water and I'll take pictures so the whole doula clan can laugh... heh heh heh

Naughty doula. :)

Haha, it was exactly what was going on in my head. I thought, she things she can make a mock of me!! I was almost taking the belt off!!

Ha! She'll never know how close she came to a spanking hee hee!

Absolutely true!

Normally I don't curse, but pish isn't a curse word is it? Stop teaching me bad words!

No, it's almost a pleasantry!!

"I snorted like a horse that's stood on a cactus"
I wonder how that sounds :D

Snorty!!! :0D

Yes! Tag team smack down with the knock out blow delivered by the Good Lady Wife.

I have been in exactly that situation where pish-in-a-bottle was being seriously sold as a natural cure for everything from tardiness to foot-rot to flat tires on your motorcycle. Simply stunning powers given what I was offered was only a collection of sugar pills!

There were horses stepping on cacti that day too I think, the snort was warranted!

I know, in my head I was thinking, wtf, is this homeopathy!?! But it was worse!! Sunlight, flowers, water... I mean whit!!? :0)

I like the sound of this kinda medicine ;D

Lol, might be worth doing in shots!

Surely, one drop of flower water in a bottle of brandy does no harm?

If that were the dose I might become quite the fan myself!

Oh God I love you, hahahahaa!! I have this image of the Doula (which is a very new name/term to me, courtesy of you) with braids and a head band, long flowing dress, erm, yeah just imagine an old hippie and you've got it LOL!

You wouldnt be far off!! She is a lovely person but some of the stuff is right waaaay out there!

Hahaha!! There is a whole community of them. They network, they will be coming for you!! ;0)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64258.81
ETH 2772.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65