Achievement

in #life5 years ago

IMG-PHOTO-ART-15095297.jpg

I just can't believe she is six.

I said wonderingly to the good lady.

We were watching our daughter tear at a bundle of presents on the floor. It was her sixth birthday and I was struggling to process the passing of time.

Time does fly.

Said the good lady happily.

I nodded.

Deep down though I was terrified. The last six years had passed in the blink of an eye.

gfdsf_20190212175733601_20190213174742352_20190217180744843_20190218160748234.jpg

I had been a relative youngster at the grand old age of forty when our daughter had clawed her way out of her Mummy-Bear's torn up old vadge.

Where had time gone?

She will be eighteen before we know it, eh?

Said the good lady happily.

My heart started dropping beats like a rubbish high-school DJ.

Eighteen?

My eyes bulged and my naughty Carmella clenched unbearably.

gfdsf_20190212175733601_20190213174742352_20190217180744843_20190218160912434.jpg

I felt an overwhelming urge to run away. Or buy cocaine and hire several hooker's for a sexy party.

Eighteen. That was twelve years away. What if it passed in the blink of an eye too, I would be nigh on sixty!? I felt a tad faint.

Isn't she the best thing we have ever done?

Asked the good lady, a soppy smile threatening to wrap itself the whole way around her head.

Um, yeah.

I agreed.

My mind was in turmoil though. Was she the best thing we had ever done?

gfdsf_20190212175733601_20190213174742352_20190217180744843_20190218161126063.jpg

My mind wandered back over my past achievements.

I had been in a band and released some real music...

But that seemed so long ago. That probably didn't count anymore.

I had won a Kung Fu competition once. That too seemed so long ago.

Fucking hell, were my children the only thing that I had achieved recently? Do they really count as an achievement? I mean all I did really was ejaculate profusely up the good lady's pork mitten.

True, I did it with a fair bit of style and panache but when all is said and done that hardly counts as an achievement.

Does it?

Lordy ho, my head was a whirl. Was I heading for a midlife crisis?

Surely I had achieved something of note recently beyond spegging my fertile sperms all over the shop?

Wait... There was!

I felt an overwhelming sense of relief. I had. I had achieved something of note recently!!

I had an excellent shit last Thursday. Even thinking about it now bought me out in a big smile.

All was not lost.

Sort:  

The older you get the quicker time flies and I don't know why, but it does. My kids just grew up in front of me and pooof they are old and grown up. Enjoy these years as they go far too quickly. I can recall my daughters first day of school like it was yesterday,but that was over 20 years ago. I just don't know where the time has gone.

It does fly fast. It's bloody ridiculous!! I demands a pause button!

Sometimes the time seems to fly very fast, especially when we think about the age of our children and that age make us think about our achievements and other things. Wait... my daughter is 30 years old! 30 years old!!! Argh... I feel (again) in a midlife crisis!
Well, doesn't matter, the next step for me it will be to think (maybe, in the future) about the age of a grand-daughter or a grand-son and I'm pretty sure it will be really a great midlife crisis :P

30 years old!!! A frightening and a fine thing!! You must be very proud though. The grandchildren will be midlife crisis time and no mistake!!

oyyyyy…….

Are you counting on dieing before your daughter gets around to reading this? Most writers want to wait until their parents die before writing their true feelings :-)

Hehe, I am counting on that devilish sense of humour she has kicking in!! :0D

Funnily enough it is an achievement, I have 3 and one is 12, she has just started an interest in boys, lucky for me there the ones one the TV, this gives me a little more time to buy a gun a shovel and sort myself out with an alibi.
haha. nice one @meesterboom

It is really, I just sometimes panic!

Yeah, you will need that alibi ;0)

I panic all the time, kids bring these emotions to the surface that I only felt when growing up.
When they tell me that they are been bullied my wife has to deal with it otherwise the school would be up side down and I would be in the nick.
I have an alibi, I was on steemit. at the time of the offence officer, check my blog posts and you can see. ( using steem creator tool) haha

Lol, I have all that to come. I am not looking forward to any bullying or such. Damn live and it's complications

Last year we had to move house, due to bullying, this wasn't just kids at school but the women (bitches) in the school yard doing it to my wife.
However my wife is a fighter, and is not afraid to throw a few punches if needed (ex door lady) We decided for the best of our kids to pack up and move.

They grow up fast.
Happy Belated Birthday to the little lady.

Cheers mate! She had a very happy day!

and more merry and happy days for her. :-)

Enjoy them while you can. All too soon a pimple faced youth will be taking her for a date, and you KNOW what is on his mind.
Then in a couple of years, you will have the reverse feeling, when your young youth wants to go dating.
Ah, the joys of fatherhood,

Then, hopefully, much later, you have the grandkids taking you out to lunch,
Something about surviving 56 years of strife aka married life.
Set the ground rules NOW, stick with them, kids do need rules, no matter what the so-called experts say.
Put some starch up your back and stick with those rules, if you bend all the time you are wasting your time, and failing the kids.
Most of all, have fun, they don't stay small long.

I am quite the rules man, it had made a fair difference I would say. There are moments that it is all going Pete Tong but the rules are still the rules!

I quite like the idea of being taken out to lunch by them!

I remember thinking recently that when you're 6 Christmas seems like it go on forever, and when you are 40 it seems like it goes by in the drop of a bucket. Six is such a wonderful age.

It is!! Truly magical actually. Holidays stretch forever and everything is possible!!

Hahaha o welcome to the world where children rule. I look at my child turning 26 and think No ways you cannot be mine, since I am still 35:)
And then I would like to know the name of the band and where I can find some videos....

Hehe, thats the funny thing. We were a pre-internet band. There are some videos but it was before the days of eveything being on youtube. I felt a bit sad because we missed out on all that web stuff. It is quite hard to find a mention of us now sob We still have the recordings though!

Then you will just have to load a clip of it. On one hand it is good we did some things before the web stuff - I may have ended up on youtube a few times. and not for music...

HAHAHA!! Yes, for other reasons makes us glad it wasn't about!

The making part is easy. You’ll know she’s the best thing you’ve ever done when you’re ancient and she has grown from an amazing child into an amazing adult 😆

If it’s any consolation my youngest is 10 this year. No more single digit babies 😱

Posted using Partiko iOS

Oh no, thats another milestone to be wary of, the double digits, yikes!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70130.51
ETH 3786.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78