The Mother and The Dead Baby

in #life7 years ago

Over the years of meditation, learning from great teachers and also a life time of servitude, my Master develop tremendous wisdom, so much so that some would proclaim that he has to ability to perform miracles. My Master, of course, would deny that to the end, and he has not displayed any acts of magic and mystic before.

Still, that did not stop the rumours from spreading.

So one day, he was sitting on his favourite bench outside his quarters, he noticed a lady, carrying a package close to her chest, running towards him. Even from afar, she looked desperate, and my Master wondered what could have happened that caused the haste in her steps.

She she knelt down at my Master’s feet, paid her respects, and started begging my Master.

“Oh wise one, I have come from a far, to seek your magical powers!”

Before my Master could raise his hand to protest and deny anything, she continued,

“It’s my baby, Master. She is only but a few weeks old. She has contracted a strange and deadly decease, one that has taken her life this morning.”

She sobbed hard, her body shaking, while holding her dead baby tighter. My Master sighed and felt sad for her, and offered her a prayer.

“No, Master!” She shouted. “I do not want your prayers! I want you to bring my baby back to life! Use your magical powers, and bring her back to life!”

My Master tried to calm her down, and explained to her that he has no magical powers, let alone bringing someone back from death. The mother refused to listen and starting shouting, crying, and wailing in agony.

“Oh! My poor child! She has yet to even see the world, to taste the flavours, to speak her words! She has yet to sing a song, or even hear one! Why is she taken at such a young age! How can it be so cruel for her? For me?!”

At this point, she was near hysterical, and my Master knew she was relentless. Finally, with a sigh, he asked the young mother to calm down, and gave her these instructions,

“Listen, good mother. I can perform that miracle, but first, you need to help me with something.”

The mother stopped crying, and with her body still shaken from sadness, she forced a smile, and brushed her tears aside.

“Yes, Master. What can I do for you to perform this miracle?”

My Master then explained,

“For me to do this, you will need to go to the village, to the oldest part of it, and find me a house where no one has died before. No one. It must not be a new home either, but one that has sheltered families over the generations.

“Find me one, and come back to me.”

The woman quickly thanked my Master, held her baby close to her chest, and ran to the village. She was gone for a few hours, while my Master continued to sit on the bench, praying for her lost child.

Finally, it was dark, and the moon was out, when she finally returned. There was no haste in her step. Instead, it was heavy. There was no desperation on her face, only deep sorrow. When she finally came close to my Master, again she knelt down and said,

“I’m sorry, Master, for my previous behaviour. Despite my anxious state, despite my yelling at you, you were calm and placed my learning before anything else. I thank you for your patience.

“I want to also let you know, that I understood your lesson. When I was running from door to door, at the oldest part of the village, each of the villagers shook their heads. Some lost their parents, others their partners, a few even their children. Death is certain, a certain as I couldn’t find a home where there had been no death.”

My Master patted her lightly on her shoulders, and under the dark of the night, the mother could see the kindness in my Master eyes, and his reassuring smile.

After a while she paid her final respects to my Master, stood up, and was about to leave, when she said,

“Would you help me say a prayer, Master, for my little girl. And if it is not too much to ask, would you help me lay her in the ground?”

My Master nodded, please that the mother, despite her overwhelming emotions, could learn the lesson and strive to move on.


Wait, why's Mav posting on Steemit nowadays?

Well, unlike other blogging and social media platform, Steemit is the only platform that allows me to earn cryptocurrency when I engage with it. Yup, one Steem is about USD1, and you, too, can earn Steem Dollars every time you:

  • Create content (articles, blog posts, podcasts, videos, photos)
  • Upvote (like) other people contents
  • Comment on other people's posts
  • Have discussions, share opinions etc!

Yup, basically it's the very same thing you're doing on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram etc all along!

The only difference? For once you can earn a nice income on the side!

Sign up for a free Steemit account, and you can thank me by coming back and upvoting this article. And guess what, you will earn Steem too for doing that! #awesome

follow_maverickfoo.gif

Sort:  

A great story and a great lesson.
I loved the way you are sharing life lessons through your stories.

Thanks for the encouragement, chief!

Awesome post @maverickfoo
Puts life in perspective.

It certainly does, doesn't it. Death is certain, and the faster we can get a grip of that fact, the faster we can start living. :)

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Qurator's exclusive support bot is now live. For more info click HERE or send some SBD and your link to @qustodian to get even more support.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @maverickfoo to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Congratulations @maverickfoo! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61291.28
ETH 2671.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52